Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Network Bandwith Question

This is a discussion on Network Bandwith Question within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to stream my Xbox one to my desktop or laptop. There is a lot of lag when streaming


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2017, 05:51 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 792
OS: XP and Win 7 - Bye Bye Vista!



I'm trying to stream my Xbox one to my desktop or laptop. There is a lot of lag when streaming to the point where its unplayable. How can I increase my bandwith?

Here's my setup:
Xfinity 100mpbs plan
Netgear R6300v2 router
Baldie559 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2017, 07:20 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 792
OS: XP and Win 7 - Bye Bye Vista!



some additional info:
XBOX one is hardwired to my router
PC / Laptop is wireless
router is roughly 10-15ft away
I tested this in the AM when there was no streaming of netflix so I can only imagine how worse it'll be when netflix is streaming from my kids.
Baldie559 is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 07:40 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,820
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I'm not familiar with that process, but two thoughts.

Streaming to view wouldn't be an issue, but streaming to "play" (ie: playing from the desktop), I would expect the latency to be to high to even be playable, much less enjoyable.

I can't imagine a huge amount of bandwidth is needed just to stream (ie: view). As noted above, latency will be high. If there is a bandwidth issue, I would expect it to be a wifi issue. Test using an ethernet connection. If the problem persists over ethernet, it's likely not bandwidth related.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2017, 07:43 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System


Hi,
You seem to have an AC router, so the question is what Wi-Fi chip/adapters are in your laptop or desktop PC? If they are older computers; they might only have 802.11n or 802.11g. Depending on the computer's/laptop's setups, they might only be giving you 50-60 Mbps tops on your Wi-Fi connection. I might suggest:
(1.) Connect your PC/laptop DIRECTLY to the router with a Cat6 Ethernet cable. This will boost the speed of the signal from the router to the computer/laptop IMMEDIATELY to 100Mpbs; a significant increase from using improper or outdated Wi-Fi.
(2.) Replace the built-in Wi-Fi on the PC/Laptop by purchasing an external usb plug-in Wi-Fi adapter that also has 802.11ac, the same as your existing Netgear router, such as : https://www.cdw.com/shop/products/NE...0/3191304.aspx
For $31.45 US, it can give you Wi-Fi speeds of 150/433Mbps with your existing AC router; and being dual-band, you can connect your Wi-Fi computer/laptop on the 5Ghz band, and avoid any/all other mobile devices in your home from family members most of who are probably using the slower 2.4Ghz band-reserving bandwidth for your Xbox streaming.

Best,
<<BIGBEARJEDI>>
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 07:44 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,820
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Read through this: https://www.digitaltrends.com/comput...windows-10-pc/
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 08:32 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System

Idea

2 very good articles here. The sections on network performance enhancements using either wired Ethernet on the same router and the 5GHz versus 2.4GHz Wi-Fi networks mirrors what I said in my post. The 2nd linked article talks about Mesh-Networking using your home's existing AC power wiring or Coax-Cabling is very interesting. I haven't done anything with these as they are fairly new, but certainly interesting. Tech companies have been putting out Wi-Fi products using house AC wiring for years, not many people I know are using this. But, it might be worth investing in if ugly cabling is going to drive your spouse to evict you from your home, and Wi-Fi is the only other option, especially if you have a larger home (>3,000 sq.ft.) and possibly multi-story as well.

<<BBJ>>
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 08:52 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 792
OS: XP and Win 7 - Bye Bye Vista!



Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGBEARJEDI View Post
Hi,
You seem to have an AC router, so the question is what Wi-Fi chip/adapters are in your laptop or desktop PC? If they are older computers; they might only have 802.11n or 802.11g. Depending on the computer's/laptop's setups, they might only be giving you 50-60 Mbps tops on your Wi-Fi connection. I might suggest:
(1.) Connect your PC/laptop DIRECTLY to the router with a Cat6 Ethernet cable. This will boost the speed of the signal from the router to the computer/laptop IMMEDIATELY to 100Mpbs; a significant increase from using improper or outdated Wi-Fi.
(2.) Replace the built-in Wi-Fi on the PC/Laptop by purchasing an external usb plug-in Wi-Fi adapter that also has 802.11ac, the same as your existing Netgear router, such as : https://www.cdw.com/shop/products/NE...0/3191304.aspx
For $31.45 US, it can give you Wi-Fi speeds of 150/433Mbps with your existing AC router; and being dual-band, you can connect your Wi-Fi computer/laptop on the 5Ghz band, and avoid any/all other mobile devices in your home from family members most of who are probably using the slower 2.4Ghz band-reserving bandwidth for your Xbox streaming.

Best,
<<BIGBEARJEDI>>
1) Unfortunately hard-wiring my desktop isn't possible because of placement. I would definitely do that if it was possible.
2) This is the adapter that I'm using and looks similar in the example you provided.
EDIMAX - Wireless Adapters - AC600 Dual-Band - AC600 Wireless Dual-Band Mini USB Adapter

Anything in my home that can be connected to the 5ghz band is connected to that band (tablets, phones, laptops, TV's, etc.). Everything else is on the 2.5ghz band.
Baldie559 is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 09:14 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 792
OS: XP and Win 7 - Bye Bye Vista!



After reading that article, the powerline adapters suggestion seems like a cheaper alternative. So since my xbox one is already hardwired to my router, would I be able to hardwire the powerline adapter to my router, then hardwire my desktop to a powerline adapter in my office?
Baldie559 is offline  
Old 08-25-2017, 11:14 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System

I understand. Yes, I believe you could do that. Xbox hardwired to router, and the powerline adapter also hardwired to the router. The 2nd powerline adapter in your office will grab your Xbox signal for the contoller just as if you had it plugged into the same router with a hardwired Ethernet cable and should work. The only differences with this setup are the fact that you are using IN-THE-WALL WIRING existing AC WIRING,to transmit the Ethernet signal instead of outside-the-WALL wiring, such as Cat5/6e network cable. And you would be using a hardwired LAN connection versus a Wi-Fi radio which is subject to many kinds of radio interference issues such as heavy-pull appliances such as washing machines, dryers, microwave ovens, electric power tools such as skilsaws, circular,saws, lawn trimmers, etc.

Let us know how it works for you should you be brave enough to attempt it.

Best of luck to you,
<<BBJ>>
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preparing Formatted Windows 7 PC
A long time ago I tried to install Windows XP on my old (2012) PC for retro gaming purposes. I gave up on this endeavor, as it is virtually impossible to find working drivers for XP that will make these modern parts work. So now, I formatted it again and re-installed 7. Except... the computer is...
MentalParadox Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 31 01-03-2017 10:08 AM
[SOLVED] PC Won't Boot After Cleaning
Hello all. I have a problem with my Windows 10 PC. Please bare with me with my long explanation. Please read and help. Every three months I open it up to clean it out with a can of compressed air. Today I did this and also replaced the optical drive as it had been acting up for a while where I...
Techie19 Windows 10 Support 38 12-07-2016 02:31 AM
VPN issues CISCO
Hello all. I recently switched providers and I am having trouble accessing the internet network from VPN. Any suggestions?
mrw5641 Networking Support 146 11-20-2015 10:06 AM
[SOLVED] Wireless connection issue.
As the title states, I'm having a bit of trouble trying to connect to a wireless internet source as my netbook (Specifically the Dell Inspiron Mini 10 model) consistantly specifies that no networks can be detected within the vicinity of it's wireless range when of course there are, to my own...
ElliotTheDuck Networking Support 24 08-27-2012 08:47 AM
~*~Mixed Bag of Problems~*~
Hi, everyone! I have had a lot of problems with my computer lately and I'm hoping someone would be able to help me out. The most pressing issue right now is that my e-mail is sending out Spam links when I'm not even on my computer. The first time it happened, I changed my password, but tonight the...
TabbyCat725 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 156 07-09-2012 07:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts