Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Need help with router configurations for Xbox Live

This is a discussion on Need help with router configurations for Xbox Live within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone! I've been having some problems with my Xbox connection. For the past few months I've been experiencing some


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2015, 02:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



Hello everyone!

I've been having some problems with my Xbox connection. For the past few months I've been experiencing some nasty lag and I don't know why. I've talked with Xbox Support and with my ISP (Telus) and they both think there's a problem with my router configuration, but neither of them know how to fix it.

Before I go into more detail, is there anyone here that thinks they might be able to help? I'd be very grateful. I'm not sure where else to go to find help with this.
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2015, 03:03 PM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



hows the xbox connected to the router ?
what download speed are you getting
do you have a pc - if so use Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test
and also Pingtest.net - The Global Broadband Quality Test
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 05-28-2015, 03:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



It's connected with a wire (I've also tried a wireless connection).

My download is 6, upload is 0.83, ping is 47ms.
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2015, 08:09 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



By the way, I'm willing to reward anyone who solves this problem for me. It's been happening for several months now and I'm desperate for a solution. So if you spend your time helping me with this, I'll try to make it worth your while.
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Old 05-28-2015, 10:19 PM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



and the other questions
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 05-28-2015, 11:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



Yes, I have a PC.

My stats from those websites:

Speedtest - 6.09d, 0.87u, ping 28ms

Pingtest - ping 45ms, jitter 4ms
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:20 AM   #7
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



I have moved to the "Online/Network Gaming Support" forum
specs for xbox are less that 150ms

45ms +- 4ms
41-49ms
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 02:28 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



"Specs for Xbox are less than 150ms"

What does that mean?
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 03:06 AM   #9
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, West Sussex
Posts: 8,370
OS: W7 & W10 & OSX



here minimum requirements
Xbox Live Lag Problem and Solutions | Xbox Performance Slow
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 10:56 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



It looks to me like my connection meets the minimum standards for Live. Besides, I've always had this speed, but I haven't always experienced this horrible lag. I think it might have started when I got my modem/router replaced last September, which is one reason why I think it's a configuration problem. Do you know what the proper configurations are for Xbox Live? I'm also getting an error code when I test my connection. I can give the code to you if you want to see it.
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 05:06 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



Here's the error code:

W: 0000-000B
X: 0000-F0001
Z: 20A8-4860
ID: FFFF-FFFF
L: 0015-10F0
Q: 8007-0435
T: Wired (or wireless depending on my type of connection at that moment)
A: 192.168.1.64/255.255.255.0
G: 192.168.1.354
D: 192.168.1.354/75.153.176.9


I get this when I test my Xbox Live connection. I've checked around the internet and found other people that have gotten the same code, but it doesn't seem like any of them got it resolved (or if they did, they never posted the resolution). Xbox Support told me I have a router configuration problem but didn't know exactly what the problem was, and telus tech support told me that the problem was out of their depth (lol?).
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Old 05-29-2015, 09:05 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7



UPDATE:

Just spoke with Telus Tech Support Plus. The guy took a look at my router and forwarded the needed ports for Xbox Live and made sure everything was properly configured. And yet, I'm still getting that same error report and this ungodly lag.

I've concluded from all this that there isn't a single person alive that knows what the problem is. Or maybe it's all in my head.
Kellen Thomson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Local Area Connection, doesn't have a valid IP configuration
A little preface before I get into my problem. Last night my friend and I were looking to play a game together. After some research and so forth, we determined that Hamachi was the way to play. So we installed and began to play. Fast forward to this morning, and suddenly my ethernet cable no longer...
TTunnell Networking Support 26 05-22-2014 12:04 AM
Trojan:JS/Seedabutor.B
For the last few days I had problems with scripts for my site, that were messed about daily. I scanned the computer with Kaspersky that found: HEUR:Exploit.Java.CVE-2013-0431.gen I ran another scan on the folder indicated with Security Essentials which found the same file. It is supposed to...
qimqim Resolved HJT Threads 13 04-29-2013 04:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts