Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Is my internet speed too slow for deathmatches without lag? GTA Online PS3

This is a discussion on Is my internet speed too slow for deathmatches without lag? GTA Online PS3 within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Was just wondering this because I do lag from time to time online, but the obvious times I'm lagging are


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Was just wondering this because I do lag from time to time online, but the obvious times I'm lagging are only once in a while and I can live with that. But in deathmatches with the game Grand Theft Auto V Online, there are times I don't know if it is lag or if I am missing the shot, since it seems I should have killed the opposing player and yet I end up dying. My internet speed is 7.66 Mbps Download and .96 Mbps Upload and a ping of 31ms. Is this sufficient to avoid lagging regularly in deathmatches where it affects your shot? Or do I need a better speed in order to avoid lagging?

It works wonderfully most of the time in other game settings, such as racing, etc. But it still may lag once in a while, but its pretty rare so I'm not worried about those game modes. But in something like deathmatches, where bullets come at you and are delivered in split seconds, lagging may not be so obvious yet it still greatly affects me.

So do you think my above speed is sufficient to play without it disturbing me during deathmatches?
amodoko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


Your Internet speed should be sufficient enough. Are there certain times of the day in particular that you notice this lag? Also, are there other devices on your network that are being used for Internet activity at the same time?
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 10:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Hey, thanks for the reply, much appreciated. I haven't noticed it during specific times of the day, so I will have to note that from now on. And there aren't any other devices using the internet. My laptop is always connected to the internet, but it is never downloading or loading anything while I'm gaming. I am the only one in my house, so unless I'm missing something technical here, I don't think anything else is using the internet while I'm gaming.

It seems to happen more when multiple people are in the same game room. Especially if they are all physically close to each other within that game room. I've even had it happen once late at night when I was in a deathmatch with just 2 other people, so a total of 3 people including myself. But usually it will be okay with that many people. It happens more when more people are in a room.

I have ATT Uverse and it has the fiber optic cables I believe, but I also have the slowest speed package. I am using the wireless router that I rent from them, so I don't have my own wireless router.

I was wondering if I just go out and buy myself my own router if that will help me get better speeds?
amodoko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2013, 06:59 PM   #4
Games Team | Tech
Networking Team-Tech
 
Jason09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,752
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System


If possible, one thing I would suggest is hard wiring your computer to the router. Wireless connections are much more susceptible to interference, and that could possibly be a contributing factor.
__________________



Gaming troubleshooting steps.

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. -Jim Elliot
Jason09 is offline  
Old 11-14-2013, 07:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
OS: Windows XP



Okay, thanks so much for the information, I will try hard wiring eventually to see if it improves. I appreciate it:)
amodoko is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help removing Rootkit.zaccess.trojan
Can anyone help me remove the Rootkit.Zaccess.trojan or do I need to reformat my hard drive like other sites have suggested? I read that this is a backdoor virus that allows hackers to enter your computer and steal identity info, and that it can never really be guaranteed to be removed.
eghostrider Resolved HJT Threads 41 10-10-2013 08:42 AM
Luhe.Sire.A infection
I tried to download both programs you advice to download and run, but each time I tried the pc wouldn't allow the download or even to run them direct...A pop up window said 'Item cannot be downloaded as it contained a virus'. when clicking on a tab within the message which said "Learn More" a...
Aw-Naw Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-06-2013 01:37 AM
internet download speed slow only on one computer
Hi, first time using this site so apologies in advance if I botch up on etiquette! I have a problem with my download speed. We have a 60Mbps download speed package from our ISP however my PC is getting nowhere near that. My PC download speed is averaging at only 3Mbps - checked on...
ismiseluke Cabling and Network Cards 9 01-31-2013 07:03 PM
Viruses/Malware...google redirect/ad background/etc
Got a few problems on my hands and hope it is not beyond repairable, reformat. I have the google redirect that is happening, also have a talking ad background that I do not know where it comes from. All browsers are closed and it still comes up. Also, I get a bubble pop sound all the time,...
uofmx12 Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-10-2011 10:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts