Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Internet not working for games

This is a discussion on Internet not working for games within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My net works fine for browsing normal webpages, but when it comes to trying to play games online it gets


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2014, 03:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 114
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



My net works fine for browsing normal webpages, but when it comes to trying to play games online it gets all rubber band-y and laggy. My ping is fine, but it's still not working.


I did a speedtest, and the speeds are at there advertised, but its obviously not working that well, 'cause the download speed is fluctuating so much and is really low most of the time in the picture (and every other time i take the speedtest)

https://i.imgur.com/y2TyD3I.jpg

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results
Kinetix7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2014, 08:42 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Your internet speeds are not powerful enough for fast online gaming. A minimum of modern games require around 10mb/s download and 2mb/s upload.

Have you contacted your ISP about getting faster speeds?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 08:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 114
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



I have the fastest speed available, and i'm sorry but that's just not true. With these same speeds (with the internet working optimally and without its current problems) I can play FPS games smoothly online from 20-80 ping depending on the server, no problems whatsoever.

Also, "ONLINE CONNECTION REQUIREMENTS: 512kbps down and 384kbps up or faster Internet connection" that's from the Titanfall website.
Kinetix7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2014, 07:20 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You just stated that you have having lag while playing online. Yet now you say there are no issues?

If you believe its internet contact your ISP and ask them to reset your connection.

IMO your speeds are not high enough for fast online gaming. If that is the maximum speeds offered you may want to look at other providers who offer much more for less.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 10:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 114
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
You just stated that you have having lag while playing online. Yet now you say there are no issues?

If you believe its internet contact your ISP and ask them to reset your connection.

IMO your speeds are not high enough for fast online gaming. If that is the maximum speeds offered you may want to look at other providers who offer much more for less.
No, I meant there's no issues with the speed when the internet is actually working. And I know my speeds are high enough, I've played Battlefield 4 online with my internet before and it ran perfectly. It's just that right now, it's not working.
Kinetix7 is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:45 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

Actually, the bandwidth required by many online games can be met with a solid dial-up connections. In this I'm thinking it may be an intermittent latency issue. Visit Pingtest.net - The Global Broadband Quality Test and run a line check there.
ebackhus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selection Links
Hi, I've ended up with Selection Links attached to Google Chrome. I've tried to remove it in the usual, low-tech savvie ways and it's not worked. It is not listed in the Programs and Features/Uninstall a Program section of the Control Tab. Under Chrome Extensions, it is listed but...
mthwrd Resolved HJT Threads 42 04-05-2013 06:36 PM
DDS Report. How Long?
Following advise from a forum mod i am following the steps to run the DDS & GMER reports so i can post them with details of my system problems. I have ran the GMER report with no issues but when i ran the DDS yesterday it ran for over 5 hours without producing anything? It was also at this...
cDubya Resolved HJT Threads 44 08-28-2012 06:27 AM
Permission Changes in Wins 7
Not sure what happened, but it appears I can't make changes like delete files or run programs I am logged in as an administrator, and have been through the Security section of right clicking a file or folder to allow me to make changes to no avail Tried something called Subinacl to change...
leachim Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 18 10-18-2011 07:34 PM
pix firewall 515E internet problem
Hello this is my pix firewall 515E configuration. Password: Type help or '?' for a list of available commands. pixfirewall> en Password: pixfirewall# show runn : Saved :
uzairsiddiqui Security and Firewalls 0 04-27-2011 05:16 AM
I think I have a rootkit
Hello Techs. There is something wrong with my computer. It doesn't boot with a usb connection plugged in such as storage device etc. etc. It only goes to error page where I have 30 seconds or whatever to select how I would like to boot windows and which operating system etc. It will do this until I...
delaney14 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 14 04-24-2011 09:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts