Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

hearthstone blocked from connecting

This is a discussion on hearthstone blocked from connecting within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. my brother somehow blocked hearthstone from connecting to battle.net how do solve this i tried re-installing and checked the firewall


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2014, 06:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



my brother somehow blocked hearthstone from connecting to battle.net how do solve this i tried re-installing and checked the firewall it didn't help can anyone help?
vengeful is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2014, 09:12 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

If it's not being blocked by the firewall (either the program name or the ports used by the game), check your hosts file.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 09:49 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



not there either also just in case i'm not sure how the firewall thing works but i checked the firewall entries related to hearthstone on a friend's computer and they seemed to be the same it might be from there but i'm not an expert
vengeful is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2014, 10:17 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Can you post a screenshot of the error?

Have you uninstalled both Hearthstone and Battle.Net Launcher?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Can you post a screenshot of the error?

Have you uninstalled both Hearthstone and Battle.Net Launcher?
the error message is the generic one that pops up from connection issues

i did, i even removed both of them and re-downloaded them
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hearthstone_Screenshot_7.4.2014.21.45.02.png
Views:	259
Size:	845.1 KB
ID:	184138  
vengeful is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:58 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You may want to contact Blizzard Support about this issue.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 12:18 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
You may want to contact Blizzard Support about this issue.
it's not a fault of the game, my brother did something I doubt they can help
vengeful is offline  
Old 07-04-2014, 02:48 PM   #8
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Considering that's what they're there for it may be worth a try. And it is their game.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 12:36 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



i contacted blizz support and they recommended to turn off firewall briefly and it worked!

i don't want to turn off firewall whenever i want to play so can anyone help with the fire wall rules? sorry if i'm bothering you
vengeful is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 07:34 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


These are the port numbers used by Blizzard, Battle.net and Hearthstone: https://us.battle.net/support/en/art...-configuration

Check your firewall settings to see if any of them are being blocked.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 07:58 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



in my firewall all of the ports (except a few) say any and don't show numbers how do I see the numbers?
vengeful is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 10:03 AM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Quote:
Windows 7

1. Click Start > Control Panel > System and Security > Windows Firewall.

2. On the left frame, click Advanced Settings > Select Inbound Rules.

3. On the right frame, click New Rule...

4. Select the Port radio button and click Next.

5. Select the TCP radio button.

6. In the Specific Local Port field, enter 3724. Click Next.

7. Select the Allow the connection radio button. Click Next.

8. Make sure Domain, Public, and Private boxes are all checked. Click Next.

9. Enter any name for this rule. Click Finish.

10. Repeat the steps 3-9 for TCP port numbers 1119, 1120, 4000, 6112, 6113, 6114, and 6881 - 6999. If you wish to use Voice Chat, also repeat steps 7-13 for UDP port numbers 1119 and 3724.

You can now close all the windows you opened. Your firewall should now allow traffic on the necessary ports for proper Blizzard Downloader operation.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 02:26 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



before i did that i found the entries that were blocking hearthstone as a program i deleted them and it didn't work then i added those tcp numbers and it still didn't work so i disabled the original blizzard entries and kept those tcp numbers and it still didn't work, what now?
vengeful is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on HP Pavilion g6-1b34ca
Good day, HP Pavilion g6-1b34ca; Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz, 2399 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s); BIOS Version/Date Hewlett-Packard F.17, 13/05/2011; I've got Windows 7 Home Premium, 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601. I've been having a BSOD problem for the...
bhartenb BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 04-19-2013 12:43 PM
Having problems connecting a router
Okay so im on my laptop and it has windows xp, I was over at my moms house and i was connecting to The wireless internet just fine everywhere, WHen i finally got home i went to connect to my own wireless (Which my xbox an desktop computer connect to flawlessly) SO i Type in my network key (the same...
donnypatts Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 7 03-13-2013 12:41 PM
Buffer overflow exploit blocked from Microsoft Word, then Normal.dot error
November 3, 2012 Hi, I have a Dell Pentium D dual core CPU 3.00GHz with 2.99 GHz, 3.00 GB of RAM with Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition Version 2002, Service Pack 3. I have all my installation discs including a Windows Install disc, but no Boot CD. I do not have Java on my PC, and...
Stephe Microsoft Office support 6 11-05-2012 07:54 AM
Blocked - Defragmentation Error
Hi, I have an RV-082 which is used for establishing VPN connection to another side. today I received bulk of emails from linksys system log. the message is : Mon may 23 05:48:05 2011 RGFW-IN: BLOCK-FRAG_NO_MEM (UDP z.z.z.z-> x.x.x.x) linksys sys_log : May 23 05:48:05 2011 ...
ian_banderaz Networking Support 1 05-23-2011 07:07 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts