Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Half life dedicated server not working?

This is a discussion on Half life dedicated server not working? within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I reinstalled counter-strike because hlds (half life dedicated server) was not working but this still hasn't solved the issue. When


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2014, 04:32 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


I reinstalled counter-strike because hlds (half life dedicated server) was not working but this still hasn't solved the issue. When I double click hlds.exe, nothing happens. No error message and nothing opens up either. Please help me out.

I have 2 PCs - one is Win 7 32-bit and one is Win 8 x64 and hlds doesn't work in either of them... When I double click it, nothing happens...
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2014, 01:41 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Try these instructions: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...dicated_Server
Quote:
Connectivity

No matter which type of server you are using, your computer must be able to receive unsolicited incoming connections. This is exactly what routers and software firewalls exist to prevent, so if you are using either you will have to reconfigure. Refer to the manufacturer instructions for how to do this.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 11-28-2014, 05:46 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Those instructions are for once you've got hlds running, if I'm not mistaken. The problem with mine is that it won't launch/start.

I borrowed by friend's non-steam copy of CS and his hlds is running fine. It's the Steam one that has an issue.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2014, 01:43 PM   #4
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Have you tried verifying the game files on the Steam one?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 12-01-2014, 06:15 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Yes, I have verified, deleted local files as well as redownloaded HLDS but no luck.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD 0x1A running Viber 3.1.1.60 on W7x64
Hello. I've installed Viber for Windows onto my stable system. Now I'm getting occasionally a BSOD 0x1A during first running hour. Now I killed the Viber app after Windows start and work ok for 3 hours. The Viber log.log file says: Product version 3.0.0.133634 The viber.exe file version is...
pieceofbrain BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 09-28-2013 08:43 AM
Windows Defender Issues
Hi there, Just last night I took the bull by the horns, and uninstalled Norton Internet Security - FINALLY! However I ran into a problem after this. After using the Norton Removal Tool, I restarted my computer as requested by the wizard, and then proceeded to try and re-activate Windows...
HomicidalBunny Windows 8, 8.1 Support 85 08-23-2013 09:27 AM
Weird Connection Problem
Current Situation: I have 3 Computers on 1 Network. 2/3 of the computer work flawlessly. This is about the third computer. I've reformed, and installed windows vista home, and now I have the weirdest connection problem. Currently using a Lynksys Wireless G Wi-Fi adapter WUSB54GC. (I have tested...
medalmonkey Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 14 04-21-2012 01:23 AM
Half Life 2 Windows 7 64 bit crash on load
First I would like to apologise about this question as I know that it has been asked and solved many many times! Also I will say that i read the page where you said to check before posting. Basically, I managed to install the game Half Life 2 and i start to load it, as soon as it gets past the...
heavyrockerbass PC Gaming Support 3 03-04-2011 09:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts