Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Guild wars 2 and new laptop

This is a discussion on Guild wars 2 and new laptop within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently bought a Dell Alienware 14x R2 with everything maxed out for gaming. I have an old Dell Alienware


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
OS: win7



I recently bought a Dell Alienware 14x R2 with everything maxed out for gaming. I have an old Dell Alienware that is a 17 inch I think and have no problems playing GW2 on that. My new computer constantly runs the fan while I'm playing GW2 on it and it gets warm. I have it on a cooling pad and the game plays fine and all but I don't understand why this brand new computer has a harder time running GW2 than my older one. Any ideas?
brechsgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2013, 04:11 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

My guess would be the fact that the newer parts do produce more heat and your playing on max settings.

Have you tried cleaning the fans with an air compressor?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-14-2013, 04:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
OS: win7



I can try to clean them. Its just that the computer is literally 2 weeks old and the fans did this straight out of the box, so I wasn't thinking it would work. I'll give it a shot anyways. Is there a way I can change my gaming settings so the fan doesn't have to work as hard? Recommendations?
brechsgirl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2013, 04:33 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Download and install HWMonitor from here: HWMonitor - CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

Once up and running post a screenshot of the software.

You would have to change your gaming settings within the game itself.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts