Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Gaming/Internet issue.

This is a discussion on Gaming/Internet issue. within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I really don't know much about why this issue is occurring, since I've never really been that tech savvy, (despite


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2014, 12:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 8


Confused

I really don't know much about why this issue is occurring, since I've never really been that tech savvy, (despite growing up on computers and video games my entire life) but I'll try to fill you in the best I can.

My computer had been shutting off at random times, usually while I was playing games. Luckily, I had experienced this same problem before, and I knew that a good dusting of the inside of my computer would fix this. (Well, the first time I dusted it, I used a vacuum, but this time I used compressed air. I'm not sure if the compressed air had anything to do with my issue.) Well, dusting it worked. My computer hasn't shut off at random since then. However, now I'm dealing with an issue much greater.

Now, it seems like I either can't play a game that requires connection to the Internet, or it just lags a boatload. It isn't just games, it's videos, too. Videos (Youtube, etc.) are often pretty slow to load now.

Also, I had recently acquired a new router, since my old one was giving me a lot of trouble. Until now, I was at a cool five bars. Now I'm always at four.

I really don't know what's up. Help would be greatly appreciated.
Butticus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2014, 01:14 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Hi please follow the instructions here and upload all the info https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...es-573730.html
this will give us more to work with
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 01:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 8



-This is a wireless connection problem

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jake>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JakesPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.md.comcast.net

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-3A-35-CC-D5-83
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.md.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-3A-35-CC-D5-81
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7978:b8c:9e0f:3620%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.149(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 1, 2014 1:35:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 9, 2014 2:47:59 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 331889205
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-DB-09-B2-54-04-A6-F2-5D-9C

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-04-A6-F2-5D-9C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:3ca0:1717:ba73:9281(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3ca0:1717:ba73:9281%16(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.md.comcast.net:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.md.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Jake>

-I have Cable

-The make and model is Cisco DPC3939

-I don't have any anti-virus/security/firewall software besides Windows Defender

Click image for larger version

Name:	xirrus.png
Views:	130
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	178250
Butticus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2014, 02:05 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You are playing games using Windows Server operating system??

The signal is a little weak . . how far are you from the router?

We can try some troubleshooting steps . .

First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then:

Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found here's how.

Then seer if it is any better
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 03:22 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 8



I live in a 2-story house. My computer is on the 2nd floor, while my router is located in the basement.

I have Windows 8, by the way.

Also, I believe I have a router/modem combo, because after the guy from Comcast came over to replace my old router with the new one, the modem was nowhere to be found. I could just not be looking hard enough or I'm just stupid.

As for unplugging my router and modem and turning off all PCs, that would be a little rude with my circumstances. There are other people in my house who are on devices connected to the Internet. If you know of anything else that could help me, that would be nice. If not, I could try it tomorrow.

Thanks for trying to help me, though.
Butticus is offline  
Old 06-02-2014, 03:26 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you do the other steps . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-03-2014, 11:27 AM   #7
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System


Moved to Online/Network Gaming Support.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 11:49 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 8



Hey, I'm back. I went on a bit of a vacation.

But anyways, I tried all of that stuff you told me to do, and it didn't work. In fact, I feel like my Internet got worse.
Butticus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with video lag issue on Secondary monitor while gaming on Primary
Hi everyone, first off I'm new to this forum and I'm coming here as a last resort to try to figure out this issue. I have a custom PC I built in May 2013 that has all the bells and whistles. One disconcerting and rather annoying thing that happens is that while I'm gaming on my Primary monitor and...
whitejamesbr0wn PC Gaming Support 3 02-07-2014 12:12 PM
Looking to get better quality on my scans
I have HP C4180 All-in-one (print, scan, copy) Right now I'm trying to scan a yearbook that I never got myself, back when I was in middle school. I want to scan the whole thing and return it to the owner, who has not had it in months. Only thing is, I don't want the quality to be bad as I probably...
PC person Printer Support 4 06-15-2011 06:02 PM
XP Internet Connectivity Issue... Please help!
Okay... so, I've had this cheap laptop for a year and a half. It's actually been great so far, and I've never had any issues with it. Unfortunately, I am now posting from my desktop, in the hopes that one of you fantastic tech support gurus can help me. :pray: I'm having an issue connecting...
MCBeef Windows XP Support 1 03-14-2011 04:56 PM
Xbox Live Connection Issue (still works but odd issue)
I've had this issue for quite some time now, and I think it may be due to recovering my gamertag on a different console, switching harddrive and doing a recovery, or just switching my Xbox in general. So here is my issue: everytime I turn on my Xbox it will automatically sign me into Xbox live...
KingMiedus Online/Network Gaming Support 5 01-30-2011 01:51 PM
[SOLVED] HEADSET ISSUE: I hear my voice in my headphones.
I have XP 32-bit. The headset i am having problems with is called the Razer Carcharias. (yes, i have installed the appropriate drivers, please dont go there, i know you mean well but trust me.) HERES MY PROBLEM: Somehow, the sound going into my mic is being transmitted through my headset. As a...
Pez Dex Other Hardware Support 9 01-26-2011 02:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts