Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

FPS Issues with EQ2 & FFXIV

This is a discussion on FPS Issues with EQ2 & FFXIV within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Whenever I play EQ2 or FFXIV I have to turn the graphics way down for even a decent, consistent framerate,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
KoLAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 622
OS: Windows 7 32-bit



Whenever I play EQ2 or FFXIV I have to turn the graphics way down for even a decent, consistent framerate, but maxed I always have issues. Even on lower settings I definitely can notice the latency when moving or selecting things, and always have, yet games like WoW and Rift I don't have an issue with running maxed. I know WoW isn't great graphically, but Rift is superior than WoW and EQII's graphics.

We have DSL at my house (a paltry 160kb/s), but are soon going to be getting cable through Comcast (around 15MB/s). My computer is capable of running all these games maxed, and offline games with similar or better settings than even FFXIV doesn't have issues offline. Can your internet connection improve stability? Ignoring router ports and such, would 15MB/s data run a game better than 160KB/s? I don't know anything about networking at all. I know game data is saved on the HDD for these games and not online, but it's still streaming. I'd think that a faster data connection would mean the data would stream better with the games that are graphically superior, meaning less latency on the higher settings.

Bar my internet specifically, I can't think of anything else. Are there specific ports I should open on my router for EQ2 and FFXIV that would improve my connection? I don't have a firewall on my computer, but I do know that when WoW patches the patcher does say that a firewall is detected, which I know can also impede data.
KoLAddict is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2011, 12:38 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 3
OS: Vista - Service Pack 2



I play EQ2 as well, and the issues you're talking about likely have little to do with your internet connection. I played with people who used a satellite connection and aside from a few glitches here and there, it was fine for them.

EQ2 is a strange creature in terms of how it relates to other games. I don't claim to have all the knowledge, but a friend gave me a good reference point for it.

He compared it to a shooter where you load up a map, one that probably isn't hat big, and doesn't have a ton going on with it.
Versus EQ2 where a zone like The Commonlands, you don't load it all at once, and it is constantly pulling at your harddrive to render everything you come upon.

If you had an SSD I'm sure you'd see a marked improvement, or have a higher end cpu.
I'm personally buying a new computer and getting a CPU I wouldn't otherwise need to get (i7 2600) except that it will help me in regards to EQ2.

And EQ2 has better graphics than Rift, providing you can play with the settings up high enough. :)

Hope I made some sense!
Arthmael is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPS Issues
https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f59/help-ive-been-having-problems-with-my-fps-562926.html Hiya, i've got the same issue as Name Taker, exactly the same. About 6 months i have the same problem. The thing is, wether i have 5 websites,league of legends(game),world of warcraft(game), music...
Shejmso PC Gaming Support 0 08-02-2011 09:19 AM
Upgraded / fps issues
My Computer: eMachine W3503 Operating System: Windows XP Pro Processor: Intel Celeron D CPU 3.33GHz Mother Board: Memory: 2GB RAM Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1024.0 MB Sound: Integrated I upgraded the RAM and the video card as listed above. The issue is that when I game, after...
Ghames Mann Building 4 07-26-2011 08:07 AM
Rift FPS issues
Hey I recently bought rift, and my FPS rate seems fairly low. I average about 20-25 FPS in the wilderness, and I`m afraid to find out once I hit a heavy populated area. My computers specs are: -Win 7 64 bit -ATI Radeon HD 5450 (drivers updated) -Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07 GHz...
DanAction PC Gaming Support 2 05-13-2011 07:48 PM
High FPS but still seeing lag and some other issues.
Here are my system specs: Power supply: Cooler Master 650W. Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair III Formula CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor RAM: 8.0 GB Video card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 Hard drive: WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 ATA Device (931 GB, IDE) Operating system: Windows 7, 64-bit.
LtCarman PC Gaming Support 13 02-09-2011 05:57 PM
How do i capture 24 fps clips in 29.97 cs3 timeline? [moved from Hardware]
I am using Premiere Pro CS3 to edit a film where most of source footage is 16mm film transferred to Beta SP tapes at 29.97 fps, but I have 1 tape that was transferred at 24fps. My timeline is preset to a DV NTSC 29.97 fps setting and when I capture and view the 24 fps footage it looks very bad with...
measeburl Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia 1 02-06-2011 01:20 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts