Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

cant connect to any online game for more than 1-5 mins at most

This is a discussion on cant connect to any online game for more than 1-5 mins at most within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi this is my first post here since my problem only happends when i play online games i figured id


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2013, 05:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



Hi this is my first post here since my problem only happends when i play online games i figured id post it here.
The problem began when my old laptop broke and i had to get a new one i had no connection issues with my old lappy but since i got a new one i cant connect to any multiplayer games ive tried moving around the house to see if it was a signal problem but im still getting disconnected so i suspect it might be my laptop. there are currently 3 devices connected to the router 1 desktop connected via Ethernet cable and 2 laptops connected wirelessly
Im not exactly tech/computer savvy at all :/ Ive read numerous sites and forums but the one that keeps coming up is port forwarding which ive read is a way for hackers to get through. At this point im not that sure what to do the router is a ARIS TG852G and my ping is at 23 atm while download speed is 23.54 and upload is 4.91 im assuming that my ping lvl is pretty low but ive moved to places where my ping was at least 50 and id still get dc'd.

If you need anymore info please let me know and ill get right on it.
dragonhawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

The lower the ping number, the better the connection. Yours is actually very good so that's not your problem. I'm going to assume that you can connect to the internet and surf just fine since you can connect to online games. Have you updated your drivers?
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



Yes, I can connect to the internet just fine and all that but which drivers do i need to update? Because now that i think about it Im not sure if their all up to date and if so how do i check if they are?
dragonhawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2013, 06:25 PM   #4
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

What Operating System (OS) do you have? If it's Windows 7 then type update in the start menu and click on Automatic Update (it should be the top item). It should detect any that need updated. Let me know if it's not 7.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 06:40 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



I have windows 7 but the first one that comes up is driver update (there is no automatic update) and the verified publisher is Seiko Epson coorporation should i go ahead and update it?

EDIT: just typed in check for updates and it says 8 optional and 2 important (which i am aware of but was waiting to see if i need to update anything else before restarting)
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 06:52 PM   #6
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

Okay, I would go ahead and update all of those except the Epson, and when I get on my PC tonight I'll look it up first. If another tech stops by who says it's safe then do it also. It should be, but I'd rather check first.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 07:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



Okay I'll get right on it. The Epson seems sketchy to me since i don't remember getting any notices about it but we'll see i guess
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-26-2013, 10:34 PM   #8
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System


Okay, the Epson driver is for a printer, so if you have an Epson printer you'll want to update it. These updates may not be the cause of your problem, but they won't hurt it.

Also, type Device Manager into the start menu, open it, and see if there are yellow triangles next to any of the boxes.
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 04-28-2013, 06:47 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



Sorry for the late reply. Ive updated the printer and everything else while it is helping with the dc's they are still frequent enough, Ive checked the device manager and there isnt any warning signs or such.
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 09:05 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then:

Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found here's how.

Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type type the following command: IPCONFIG /ALL and press enter.


Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter. Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

then please Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:18 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved

Windows IP Configuration


Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : wi.rr.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-39-0E-05
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-39-0E-05
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wi.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6235
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-39-0E-04
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::952f:1da2:b953:66c1%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 26, 2013 9:25:20 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 4:34:22 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 365200648
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-39-80-F8-E8-03-9A-BE-FD-09

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-03-9A-BE-FD-09
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-85-08-39-0E-08
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{EDFB259A-7324-448A-B456-F3534B4003E2}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.wi.rr.com:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wi.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{17F7335B-3E67-4D89-B486-8FA6F155647D}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{4ED686E2-337E-4A7A-A109-B29A74D02A66}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{38266B13-D9F9-4014-9B53-10585E04686F}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:1cc4:1d96:e72e:4b24(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cc4:1d96:e72e:4b24%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

ive done the power cycle and removed and searched for the network again checked the proxy settings which were already off I don't have the time to test the connection out now but here is most of the info you needed dont laugh at my crop job Dx
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adasd.png
Views:	81
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	124709  
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:33 PM   #12
Moderator - Games Team
Articles Team
 
Flight Sim Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.W. Colorado
Posts: 6,103
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

My System

I'll leave you in Rich's capable hands, as most of this is over my head anyway. Hope you get it resolved. :)
__________________



If I don't reply within two days PM me as I sometimes get busy and forget threads.
Flight Sim Guy is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:41 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



How far are you from the router? . . you have a very weak signal
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:42 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


The biggest problem I see is the dBm, -74

70 is a poor connection and you are beyond that.

When you go to do the tests, try moving the laptop closer to your router let us know about your results, espeically the Xirrus test again
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:52 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



this is form the room where the router is but the thing is the room im usually in is adjacent to where the router room is so im not that far away
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	signal.png
Views:	82
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	124711  
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:59 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


53 is much better but still not good if the router is in the same room. I'm thinking Router or Wireless adapter may have issues

Eitherway, run your tests as Rich stated when you can and post the results
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 04:23 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



from what i have tested now im still getting disconnected from games and regain connection as soon as I log off or exit the game i've had multiple visits from my cable company (i moved places so we had a bit of trouble connecting to internet but they fixed that and came again and each time they said the connection should be much better than before which it was until i started playing games
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 05:09 PM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Do you also get the disconnects when connected to the router via Ethernet cable?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 05:23 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7 professional 64bit



i havent tried but if you need me to then i will
dragonhawk is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 05:30 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


Yes, please do, this will eliminate the Wireless as a suspect
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM
PC freezes when watching online videos/playing online game
Hi guys, I'm a new member here and require help. I've put my specs up in profile so hopefully you should be able to see that. I'll explain the sort of problems I've been getting recently. I used to get BSOD randomly about a month or so ago. Someone told me to do memory test and hard drive...
snehshah BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 01-11-2011 07:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts