Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Online/Network Gaming Support

User Tag List

Black Ops 3 says NAT Type is Moderate

This is a discussion on Black Ops 3 says NAT Type is Moderate within the Online/Network Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've tried forwarding the necessary ports as well as enabling DMZ towards my PC but BO3 still says that NAT


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2016, 11:52 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


I've tried forwarding the necessary ports as well as enabling DMZ towards my PC but BO3 still says that NAT type is "Moderate". I'm connected directly to the modem. I don't have issues on other online multiplayer games like Battlefield 4 and get reasonable latencies as well.

On the BO3 settings screen, when I hover my mouse over "NAT Type: Moderate", it says that the game tried to use port 3074 UDP even though I've forwarded that port.

My router is D-Link DIR-600M.

EDIT: And yes, I have tried restarting the router, PC and game but that didn't help.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2016, 04:15 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What are these "issues" that you are experiencing with online multiplayer games?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-29-2016, 10:32 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
What are these "issues" that you are experiencing with online multiplayer games?
I don't have issues on other online multiplayer games like Battlefield 4 and get reasonable latencies as well.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2016, 09:32 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


So then what is the problem? Just because your NAT says something different then what you want it to? An OPEN NAT is not really recommended or safe.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 09:41 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
So then what is the problem? Just because your NAT says something different then what you want it to? An OPEN NAT is not really recommended or safe.
The problem is that it is recommended to have open NAT for Call of Duty for better matchmaking and improved latency and I do not have an open NAT.

Another question I have is: Why do port checking websites and programs say that ports are closed even though I've used my router's Virtual server page to forward them? Why are they said to be closed even when I've enabled DMZ to my PC's IP address?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 01:36 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
So then what is the problem? Just because your NAT says something different then what you want it to? An OPEN NAT is not really recommended or safe.
I spoke to D-Link and they're saying that the IP address shown on my router page is not the same as my public IP address. So they're saying this is a case of Double Natting and this is why none of my forwarded port are showing as open. Do I have to contact my ISP or is there some other way to overcome this issue?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 05:36 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


There is a risk of having an open NAT and I recommend you keep it where it is.

As for the ISP, you can certainly ask them to see if they are blocking any ports on your line.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 05:40 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 601
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
There is a risk of having an open NAT and I recommend you keep it where it is.

As for the ISP, you can certainly ask them to see if they are blocking any ports on your line.
Alright, I'll keep the NAT as it is.

Another thing I noticed is that I'm getting latencies of around 150+ and at times 200 on Black Ops 3. Since it's based on matchmaking and P2P connections, there's no server browser like Battlefield 4. But is there anything I can do to improve my latency? I lag on GTA which also uses a P2P connection framework.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 05:41 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


This could be due to your location. I'd ask your ISP to make sure you have a stable connection.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnostics policy service won't start
I can access wifi with all devices except my laptop. Problem started first thing this morning. I have run virus scans, reboot router and computer, also tried instructions that were given in another post on this site a to no avail. When I click start the service it says error 5 access denied. This...
kmarion Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 48 02-16-2014 04:27 PM
Internet Time Sync Not Syncing On Bootup
Clock settings say computer is set to automatically synchronize with time.windows.com and "set on a scheduled basis" but when I click change settings it tells me I don't have permission to change and contact admin. I am in my admin account. What I noticed is the clock is running like 2X it normal...
piotrowr2012 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 26 03-02-2013 06:06 PM
Windows 8 BSOD on Startup
I have being getting BSOD restarts for a while now. Frustratingly when the system restarts it runs perfectly and trouble free. It only seems to occur when the system boots from a cold start. This means that it is difficult to make hardware changes to test the system. The system ran perfectly for...
Ger.B BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 09-20-2012 01:47 PM
~*~Mixed Bag of Problems~*~
Hi, everyone! I have had a lot of problems with my computer lately and I'm hoping someone would be able to help me out. The most pressing issue right now is that my e-mail is sending out Spam links when I'm not even on my computer. The first time it happened, I changed my password, but tonight the...
TabbyCat725 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 156 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
possible trojan/hijack attempt/windows security issue
It started with windows xp security center refusing to open Firefox or IE. It popped up a window stating there was a trojan keylogger virus. I tried some online scans and only found a firewall and virus scan override registry changes. I did a system restore but on reboot I was asked what...
dell1234 Resolved HJT Threads 9 03-23-2011 12:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts