Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows Firewall was unable to notify the user that it blocked an application from ac

This is a discussion on Windows Firewall was unable to notify the user that it blocked an application from ac within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windows Firewall is not producing the alerts it should be. I'm getting no alerts at all (Yes, it is switched


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2008, 02:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK, London
Posts: 82
OS: Mac Snow Leopard/ Win Vista



Windows Firewall is not producing the alerts it should be. I'm getting no alerts at all
(Yes, it is switched to show alerts!)
Not that I really want them, but...

I found the audit warning in the event logs recurring many times -
"Windows Firewall was unable to notify the user that it blocked an application from accepting incoming connections on the network.
Error Code:2
"

There are other alerts saying that - Windows Firewall is "marked as an interactive service. However, the system is configured to not allow interactive services. This service may not function properly."

I got the same message about the 'TrueVector Internet Monitor' while I had Zone Alarm running (which I had to uninstall because it wouldn't work). I was not getting alerts on that either.

Weird??

I've found nothing on the KB about this, or on any of those MS forums.

Any pointers anyone?

cheers,
Ian
IanS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2008, 03:33 PM   #2
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,263
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Hi Ian,

possible answer here:
https://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/...6988&SiteID=17

Let me know if that helps or not...or if you've already seen it.
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK, London
Posts: 82
OS: Mac Snow Leopard/ Win Vista



Hi,
thanks for your reply.
Yes, I saw that one - it doesn't seem to apply here. All settings are as they should be.

Any idea what's all this about the 'system not configured to allow interactive services'?
What do you have to do to make it so?

This was interfering with ZASS as well, so its an issue I can't just leave. I'm on a ticket with ZoneLabs at the moment, maybe they will have some insight?

Can't get on the KBs at the moment for some reason.

cheers,
Ian
IanS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts