Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows Explorer Doesn't Load

This is a discussion on Windows Explorer Doesn't Load within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. First off, sorry if someone has already posted with this issue. I am a strong believer of "if you can't


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-22-2012, 08:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



First off, sorry if someone has already posted with this issue. I am a strong believer of "if you can't find it on Google, you'll never find it", but this is really starting to get on my nerves a bit as I've spent hours of my time trying to get to the bottom of it!

9 times out of 10, when i open an explorer window, (whether it be 'My Computer' from both desktop shortcut and start menu shortcut or control panel, devices and printers etc) I get a blank window. The green loading bar at the top slowly progresses through and then hangs towards the end. I once left it for 3 hours to no effect.

I was wondering if you guys had any idea on what the issue could be and how i could fix it.

If i restart my machine, it fixes the issue briefly, then starts again.

I have found a work around however. If i open my computer, then right click the 'My Computer' shortcut on the right hand tool bar and click 'Open in new window', explorer opens perfectly and then works for about half an hour before breaking again!

Hopefully you all have enough information and some genius out there will solve what i could not.


Thanks guys
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2012, 08:51 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



As a side note. I tried to replicate the issue in safe mode and as far as i'm aware, there wasn't one... But obviously the screen res was making my eyes implode, so i couldn't stay like that for too long.

Thanks
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 10:26 AM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Run eventvwr.msc and see if it shows something.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2012, 01:55 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Run eventvwr.msc and see if it shows something.
Good shout!

I ran event viewer and got a DNS error.

"Name resolution for the name isatap.!domain!.ad timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded."

So from this i disabled IPv6 through the registry permanently and BOOM, no more problems for explorer!

I'm assuming it was something to do with one of the network drives mapped on my machine.

Thanks for the help
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 02:19 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



OK, turns out that didn't work. It just seemed like at the time it did. The only other thing that seemed to consistently coming up in the event viewer was 'Bonjour', but I've totally got rid of that.

Any ideas?


Thanks
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 02:25 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


I will re mark this thread as unsolved.
Go to Control Panel/Users and create a new user with Admin rights. Log out of the user you are in and log in as the new user. Does that work?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 05-29-2012, 03:36 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



Ok, I seemed to have solved the issue.

I forgot to mention in my earlier post that i was logging on to my machine via a domain account.

When I logged into the local admin account, there was no problem with explorer and everything was working 'hunky dory'.

So from here i backed up my account files, and deleted the user from my machine via control panel>user accounts>manage user accounts.

When i logged in however, i kept getting logged in to a tempory account "as my account could not be found".

Turns out there is a key in the registry (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) that corresponds to each account thats accessed the machine (the sub keys have obscure names, but if you click through each one, youll see a mention of the username of each account).

from here i deleted the corresponding key and volia... everything seems to be sorted. Explorer loads fine, all my network drives are mapped and i can log into my account fine.


Cheers for the help guys. All though i kind of know what im doing, i just need a push in the right direction to make the gears turn in my mind :)


Thanks again
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:53 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



Ok,

I seem to have gotten ahead of myself. Again.

Its seems that after i copied all my old files back to thier respective places on my new desktop, that the issue has re-occured. I assume it was this, as it was working fine till i did, but it may have just been delayed as i didnt have time to use the machine long before restoring the files back on to my machine.

Apart from repeating the previous step and testing it for a set amount of time, does anyone have any other ideas?

I am using Trend Micro office scan, did a sweep of my machine and no luck. No nasties showed themselves...

Cheers guys
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 01:59 PM   #9
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I'm not sure how Bonjour got in a Windows machine, but if it did, make sure to delete it in your Control Panel or with CCleaner. It's an Apple program used to find a printer or something (I'm not a Mac guy).
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:04 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Bonjour comes bundled with iTunes, if you installed iTunes or use an iPhone, you installed Bonjour.
This could be a Domain policy set by the Domain Controller in AD. Are you logging in on the Domain?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 05-30-2012, 12:50 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



Yes I am logging into the Domain and I also have access to the Domain controller via mstsc with full admin rights.

Thanks
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:29 AM   #12
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If the Domain Controller affects DHCP (it does,controls DNS) then Bonjour still could be involved. See: The Default Gateway may have been set to 0.0.0.0 on a Windows Vista-based or later OS running Apple.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:08 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8
OS: windows 7 (Service Pack 1) 64bit



Followed those steps and restarted my machine to no effect
toonarmybarmy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Being Redirected to other sites when Searching on Google
Hello, My problem is that I am being redirected to other sites when searching using Google. I searched around and was told it is a redirection malware/virus that cannot be detected with my normal virus scanner. I was also told I could use "Combofix", but not to use it unless directed to...
cheriserandle Resolved HJT Threads 24 07-31-2011 08:11 PM
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 06:36 PM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts