Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 not detecting hard drive, floppy and dvd drive

This is a discussion on Windows 7 not detecting hard drive, floppy and dvd drive within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The bios is detecting all of them but Windows 7 is not. The floppy's power is on all the time


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2009, 01:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit



The bios is detecting all of them but Windows 7 is not. The floppy's power is on all the time and it is enabled in the bios. My 3rd hard drive is not being detected, however I did delete some windows 7 files and it was working before that. And I have no idea about my dvd drive. My other drive is working though.
HighTechBox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2009, 02:53 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,865
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


You are going to need to clear some things up.

Do you have an operational system?
"however I did delete some windows 7 files and it was working before that"

By this sentence I would think not.
Insert the W7 disk and press F8 while it is booting and select restore to the last known good configuration and you should be all set.
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit



Sorry, let me clear things up. I have 3 hard drives. My main hard drive has Windows 7 installed. 2nd drive is used as storage. I'm also using my third as storage, however I originally had windows 7 installed on there and I formatted but there was about 100mb that was still on there. So far my Windows 7 can read all 3 drives. But wanted to get rid of that 100mb of what I think was a win 7 installation. So I put in my Windows 7 cd and I used the delete option on that third drive so it was 100% clean of anything on there. I got back on Windows 7 and the drive was no longer there.
HighTechBox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2009, 03:59 PM   #4
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,865
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Inside of windows what does disk managment show?
Can you post a screen shot please?
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit



Disk 2 is the one I can't see or access. I was able to fix my dvd drive with a driver update but the floppy is still not available.

HighTechBox is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:11 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
MhzManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 86
OS: Win 7 32 Home Premium



Sound like you lost the formatting of the drive. Just use Maxblast 5 or similar program to format the drive again and the OS will detect it normally. I had this happen in both XP and Vista.
MhzManiac is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:56 PM   #7
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,865
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


If you point to disk 2 and right click does it offer anything?
With mine I can use that to format it.
I think it may not be showing in the top list because it isnt formatted.
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 02:10 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit



HighTechBox is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 04:59 PM   #9
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,865
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


New simple volume should do it.
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:21 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit



Thanks it worked. But what could I do to get Windows 7 to see the floppy?
HighTechBox is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 05:49 AM   #11
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,865
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Have you checked the cable and power to it?
Possibly something has come loose.

Is it showing up in device manager?
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:03 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
MhzManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 86
OS: Win 7 32 Home Premium



Quote:
The bios is detecting all of them but Windows 7 is not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat mcgroin View Post
Have you checked the cable and power to it?
Possibly something has come loose.

Is it showing up in device manager?

Pat is correct, a bad ribbon cable could still allow the floppy to be detectable in the bios, but not Windows. If it was all working before, and the floppy quit when you removed the Win 7 files, I think you are back to doing a system restore.
MhzManiac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts