Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 no more updates?

This is a discussion on Windows 7 no more updates? within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey peeps, https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...anuary-14-2020 Only found out a few days ago. What do you guys think if there is no more


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2020, 02:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Hey peeps,

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...anuary-14-2020

Only found out a few days ago. What do you guys think if there is no more updates? Are we vulnerable to security issues? Or is the most obvious answer here is upgrading to Windows 10?

I appreciate your input, thanks.
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2020, 03:36 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



Yes to both questions.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:28 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,541
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


As stated. Windows 7 is no longer supported and Microsoft will not be issuing any more updates, you will be more vulnerable to attack with Windows 7. Eventually web sites will no longer give you access because your OS is out of date.
You can still upgrade to Windows 10 for free. It will use your currently installed Windows 7 Product key to activate.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
Red Raspberry likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2020, 01:31 PM   #4
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Just by the way, you don't even need any product key to do an in-place upgrade from Windows 7 (or 8 or 8.1) to Windows 10. The installer takes care of converting your existing Windows key into a Windows 10 key for the corresponding edition. (And this is just meant to expand on what was stated earlier).

Windows 7 Pro or Ultimate will become Windows 10 Pro. Windows 7 Home will become Windows 10 Home.

Doing a Windows 10 Repair Install or Feature Update Using the Windows 10 ISO file . As I note in the instructions, the only difference between the steps for a Repair Install or Feature Update on a system that already has Windows 10, and an in-place upgrade from an earlier Windows, is that the steps up through and including kicking off setup.exe are going to occur under the earlier version of Windows.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 11:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
As stated. Windows 7 is no longer supported and Microsoft will not be issuing any more updates, you will be more vulnerable to attack with Windows 7. Eventually web sites will no longer give you access because your OS is out of date.
You can still upgrade to Windows 10 for free. It will use your currently installed Windows 7 Product key to activate.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
That's what I'm a little worried about. I've had my OS for years since I bought my laptop.
Quote:
Originally Posted by britechguy View Post
Just by the way, you don't even need any product key to do an in-place upgrade from Windows 7 (or 8 or 8.1) to Windows 10. The installer takes care of converting your existing Windows key into a Windows 10 key for the corresponding edition. (And this is just meant to expand on what was stated earlier).

Windows 7 Pro or Ultimate will become Windows 10 Pro. Windows 7 Home will become Windows 10 Home.

Doing a Windows 10 Repair Install or Feature Update Using the Windows 10 ISO file . As I note in the instructions, the only difference between the steps for a Repair Install or Feature Update on a system that already has Windows 10, and an in-place upgrade from an earlier Windows, is that the steps up through and including kicking off setup.exe are going to occur under the earlier version of Windows.
I've never done an upgrade in my life. I thought Windows 10 cost money? Cool I hope its free I'm gonna do it now.

Guys, I've actually going to start transferring it to my new SSD. If I upgrade now can I still do fresh install or Windows 10 iso once I'm ready to switch over? I just need to know how it works if I upgraded to my old HDD but soon I will have to put it on my new SSD.

P.S. I'm a little sceptic but I hope it erases everything on my Windows 7 except my videos and important files.
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:07 PM   #6
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


You can do your drive upgrade either pre or post Windows 10 in-place upgrade.

Windows 10 license keys are tied directly to the motherboard in a system, and stored on Microsoft's servers, which is what allows you to reinstall Windows 10 on a system that had it at any point in time, even if you've, say, installed Linux on it for a while.

Personally, and it's just a preference, I'd do the Win10 upgrade first, then do the drive upgrade.

However, all of that is really dependent on your hardware meeting the minimum specs to handle Windows 10, and you've never mentioned the specifics. Posting a Speccy Snapshot would be helpful.
-------------------------------------------
Using Piriform’s Speccy to Collect Your Computer’s Hardware & Software Specifications
1. Go to the Piriform Speccy Download Page and download the program.
2. Run the installer you’ve just downloaded.
a. Note: The Speccy free installer may now come with Avast and the Google Chrome browser bundled with it (or something else, what’s bundled has changed over time). Make sure that you UNCHECK the options to install any bundled software when you see the checkboxes during the Speccy install sequence. When you reach the end, uncheck the View Release Notes checkbox, then activate the Run Speccy button.
You will then be presented the Speccy Main Window:


3. From the File Menu, activate the “Publish Snapshot” item [or press ALT+F,B]:


4. You will now be presented with the Publish Snapshot Dialog:

You will, of course, activate the Yes button.

5. Finally, you will be presented with the Snapshot URL Dialog:

on which you will activate the Copy to Clipboard button so that you will have the snapshot web address to paste into your message.

Note: If you want to save your system specs to a text file, at step 3 choose the Save as Text File option at step 3. This can be handy if you need to e-mail your specs.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:41 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by britechguy View Post
You can do your drive upgrade either pre or post Windows 10 in-place upgrade.

Windows 10 license keys are tied directly to the motherboard in a system, and stored on Microsoft's servers, which is what allows you to reinstall Windows 10 on a system that had it at any point in time, even if you've, say, installed Linux on it for a while.

Personally, and it's just a preference, I'd do the Win10 upgrade first, then do the drive upgrade.

However, all of that is really dependent on your hardware meeting the minimum specs to handle Windows 10, and you've never mentioned the specifics. Posting a Speccy Snapshot would be helpful.
I started the upgrade and it look like its working. Yes I was thinking that too I want to upgrade to old HDD first then eventually will upgrade to new SSD. Yes it is upgrading and almost done. Wow that makes sense I never knew that's how license worked? Amazing, so you can install OS to as many SSD/HDD but it can only register to your own motherboard?
Very interesting

Here is specs: https://www.manualowl.com/m/Toshiba/.../Manual/487378

I shouldn't
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:54 PM   #8
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


If you have the option of upgrading memory to a minimum of 8GB, keep that in mind.

Win10 will function with 4GB, but it's a lot less fluid and slick at times with that little RAM. I recommend 8GB as the minimum, and it doesn't hurt to have more.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 09:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by britechguy View Post
If you have the option of upgrading memory to a minimum of 8GB, keep that in mind.

Win10 will function with 4GB, but it's a lot less fluid and slick at times with that little RAM. I recommend 8GB as the minimum, and it doesn't hurt to have more.
Yes that was the first thing I did 8gb RAM upgrade, and lastly would be my SSD.

Upgrade was successful guys! Thanks heaps I wouldn't of known about the Free upgrade I thought I had to buy the Windows 10 for $200? I only misunderstood when MS said 'If you don't have a license then you need to buy..." but I didn't know it was implying to those non MS-OS
I think I should of done a clean install and wipe everything instead of keeping files and apps.

Apart from that, I think I will get use to Windows 10 now after so long being with my wife W7. W10 a bit longer to load though compared to W7? That will be solved once I reinstall to SSD and will install W10 only so I can manually reinstall certain apps. That was a cool experience constantly learning, and less than a day out of my time with no hassles came with it
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 09:43 PM   #10
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Yes, a fresh clean install is always the best option, though not always a welcome one. If you can start fresh, by all means do it. If not, well, at least the upgrade finished and hopefully nothing got botched in the process.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 10:03 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Yes, a fresh clean install is always the best option, though not always a welcome one. If you can start fresh, by all means do it. If not, well, at least the upgrade finished and hopefully nothing got botched in the process.
Definitely. I'm regretting not doing the first time but now I have a complete knowledge on why and how to do it. Feels good when you realise something wasn't as hard as it looked

Do you guys recommend Migrate OS Cloning i.e. MiniTools? I originally was going to go that way but now I feel confident easier to start fresh.
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 11:29 PM   #12
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
Definitely. I'm regretting not doing the first time but now I have a complete knowledge on why and how to do it. Feels good when you realise something wasn't as hard as it looked

Do you guys recommend Migrate OS Cloning i.e. MiniTools? I originally was going to go that way but now I feel confident easier to start fresh.
Migrate OS Cloning is fine, if you want to retain the newly upgraded installation exactly the way it is. You, however, can simply install the SSD, install Windows 10 on it then copy your important files from the HDD back to the SSD. You will need an enclosure or USB-to-SATA adapter cable in order to attach the HDD externally. I recommend a 2.5" SATA enclosure, like this, so that you can afterwards use the HDD as an external backup drive, which is an absolute necessity for taking routine system and data backups.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 01:05 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Migrate OS Cloning is fine, if you want to retain the newly upgraded installation exactly the way it is. You, however, can simply install the SSD, install Windows 10 on it then copy your important files from the HDD back to the SSD. You will need an enclosure or USB-to-SATA adapter cable in order to attach the HDD externally. I recommend a 2.5" SATA enclosure, like this, so that you can afterwards use the HDD as an external backup drive, which is an absolute necessity for taking routine system and data backups.
I ordered parts in advance had an idea what I had to do with the old HDD and the new SSD. That's the exact one I bought 2.5 Sata enclosure. It's all coming along now and please with it. Only hurdle left is to do the fresh Windows 10 without the apps/personal files onto the SSD then I can copy reformat HDD to wipe it. Lastly will copy personal files to the HDD from my external drive easy peesy
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 01:18 AM   #14
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



It won't be a hurdle at all. See https://www.google.com/search?q=fres...ows+10+install for many easy to follow tutorials on how to go about it. There are lots of videos and static tutorials to give you a solid idea of what the process will be like, anyone can do it.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 07:49 AM   #15
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


And I'll be the contrarian here about doing in-place upgrades as opposed to completely clean installs.

If you have nothing to lose, including time and the effort of reconfiguring a machine from scratch, then a clean install is the way to go.

If you have years of data and tons of programs already in place under Windows 7, 8, or 8.1, then an in-place upgrade is the way to go, at least initially.

I've done way more in-place upgrades on existing systems than I have completely clean reinstalls, and have had zero problems afterward. This is a process that Microsoft seems to have gotten quite right. Three of the five machines in my household started out life either on Windows 7 or 8.1, and were in-place upgraded about 6 months after the initial release of Windows 10. All have worked without a hitch afterward and kept on keepin' on with Windows 10 and updates to it since then.

Between that, and the data points I have from clients, I do not find that the in-place upgrade fails often nor proves to be problematic in any way after it succeeds. And it the couple of cases where there have been issues, they've been on machines that "had issues" prior to having the in-place upgrade applied (which, of course, was revealed well after the fact). You can't build a house on a foundation of quicksand, and you shouldn't do an in-place upgrade on an unstable system and magically expect everything to work properly. You've got to fix the foundation before building on it.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 05:52 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Thanks guys! I really appreciated the help.
I watched the youtube vid and that was a lot easier than expected.

#Update:
- I went with a caddy case for the extra Hard drive, and manage to put my new 1TB firecuda by replacing my DVD drive and now it is working. Had to format it first before I could use it. I also copied back all my files to the new firecuda drive.
- My External closure was delivered today which I will now use my old HDD as a spare External HDD and once I complete the Windows iso installation to the new SSD. However, before I could that I am waiting for my USB Stick to be delivered then will put Windows 10 iso on it and make it a bootable disk drive (I should of went into the shop to buy it lol) for the new SSD.

Almost done so far so good. As for Windows 10, it is a lot better.

Guys, I was thinking about my other Apps i.e. MS Ofiice2010. Are they free upgrade as well or do I have to buy it separately? I got a notification MS Office 2010 is no longer going to have support exactly like W7?
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 07:47 AM   #17
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
I got a notification MS Office 2010 is no longer going to have support exactly like W7?
First, burning an ISO to a flash drive as bootable is dirt simple. You can use a utility called Rufus or any one of several others. Every tech seems to have their favorite, Rufus is what I've been using for years.

If Office 2010 is not already out of support, it is going out of support very, very soon. I believe it is already out of support. You do need to buy a new license to upgrade to one of the later versions, and at this juncture Office 2016 is the earliest among those that has a reasonable support period still ahead of its end of life.

There now exists a cottage industry in the EU of reselling software licenses from decommissioned hardware, and that is entirely legal. It's how I've obtained my MS Office 2016 licenses and the Windows 10 Pro license for the machine I'm typing on. When it comes to the Grey Marked, every individual has to do their homework and decide whether they want to go that route or not. My little treatise on the topic: On the Grey Market.

There are many techs who are now saying that Office 365 is the only way to go, and there are advantages, but I did not want a subscription service.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 07:48 AM   #18
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,007
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Unfortunately you'd have to buy the upgrades. I wouldn't. As an alternative there are free substitutes for Office.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 07:52 AM   #19
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 628
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
As an alternative there are free substitutes for Office.
And for anyone looking for a replacement for office, and who only needs the equivalents for Word, PowerPoint, and Excel, I can very highly recommend SoftMaker Free Office. It's the closest analog to MS-Office in look and feel I've ever encountered.

Libre Office and Open Office are good alternatives, too, but they are not nearly as similar in look and feel as SoftMaker Free Office.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:43 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
OS: wins7



Finally completed everything. Windows 10 on the new SSD, 1TB firecuda for storage using the DVD caddy, and the old HDD in the new External Enclosure. Wow, loads up heaps quicker than before, loving it :D

I will worry about MS Office later on but thanks again guys! [SOLVED]
comeatme2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts