Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 Drop Down list

This is a discussion on Windows 7 Drop Down list within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey Tech Forum, Im running Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit, and i have attatched below a screen shot of the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2011, 08:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
jim516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


Hey Tech Forum,

Im running Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit, and i have attatched below a screen shot of the drop down list. Back on windows xp, it used to keep a history of all your passed folders you were into, almost like a shortcut. Example: C:\program files\pirform\etc.

I cant seem to find a way for Windows 7 to do that for me. Instead of having to go to My Computer>C:\>Program Files> etc.

Any help or suggestions would be helpful

Thanks guys
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	122
Size:	427.7 KB
ID:	90214  
jim516 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2011, 10:46 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
jim516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


Side Note: By the way, i did not run CCleaner or any other program that gets rid of Temp files.

I just want the drop down menu to remember what folders i went into so i dont have to navigate to that same folder over and over
jim516 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:14 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


How much have you surfed since you ran CCleaner? CCleaner will clean out that history.
Daifne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2011, 11:55 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
jim516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


I surfed a lot of files and directories to certain locations and it never keeps track of it.
jim516 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:20 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


If you look in Recent Places (on left of explorer window) you will see your explorer History, among other things.
It seems that exploring with the mouse does not update the pull down menu, however if you type in a location in the address windows it will appear in the menu.
Lead3 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:33 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Oops, I meant did file navigation rather than surfed. Sorry. CCleaner does clean out both.
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
jim516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


Your right. I guess i can do that. But my main concern is having the file directory saved already without any typing or going through the explorer menu
jim516 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 12:47 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


I would suggest that, then next time you use CCleaner, clear the box for Recent Places and look of other things to see if you want them cleared or not. For Firefox, it's recommended that you don't let CCleaner touch it at all. It's been causing quite a few problems in FF.
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 01:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
jim516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System


I gotcha, I will keep that in mind. I never ran ccleaner on this pc yet though. It is brand new...
jim516 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 02:27 PM   #10
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


CCleaner is good for the cleaning in general, if you look over the settings, but we don't recommend the registry cleaner part of it. Registry cleaners aren't really a good idea. They can cause much more harm than good.
Daifne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Malware/popup/redirects
Hi Recently my machines been running very slow (Win XP, SP 4), then recently on Mozilla 4.0 new tabs started appearing. I found a folder in Documents and Settings/Network Service/Local Settings which was 'temp' which had lots of jpgs/html/javascript, like these were the dodgy HTML pages...
psj3809 Resolved HJT Threads 48 04-14-2011 01:45 PM
Start menu programs gone, Icons, files and folders hidden, random audio, IE redirect
Last night, I was surfing the net. Suddenly audio started playing on my speakers, and desktop icons started disappearing. Then I got a notice like "your IDE/SATA drive has failed....." i hit control+alt+delete, and it said task manager has been disabled by the administrator, which, or course is me...
ynpguy Resolved HJT Threads 16 04-02-2011 09:23 PM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM
Antivira Av - fake AV software, completely hijacked everything
One of my family members has somehow ended up with this on their computer. I wasn't able to follow the instructions in the sticky as it wont let me run anything. DSS amd GMER just got closed as soon as I open them. I can't even open the taskmanager or add/remove programmes. There are a few removal...
parabola50 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 9 02-22-2011 10:10 AM
Bad Image error
Please help me to remove the problem that is causing the 'Bad Image' error. It appears multiple times when I start my computer and then everytime I open a program. I hope I have correctly run the logs you require. Details below. DDS (Ver_10-12-12.02) - NTFSx86 Run by Administrator at ...
lchiv Resolved HJT Threads 11 02-13-2011 06:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts