Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 blank screen after sleep mode (unable to power off with power button)

This is a discussion on Windows 7 blank screen after sleep mode (unable to power off with power button) within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, After putting my computer into sleep mode last night, I was unable to get it to boot into windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Hello,
After putting my computer into sleep mode last night, I was unable to get it to boot into windows this morning. When i pressed the power buttong, everything turn on and working (all fans are functional, gpu power led is on, all hard drives & cd drives are functional. But the problem is, the screen to my monitor is blank. I also noticed that my usb aren't working (mouse connection light isn't on). I tried a soft power off by holding down the power button but no luck. The system does not turn off no matter how long I hold it. The only way to turn it off is by pulling the power supply cord or turning the power supply switch off.

My pc build:

AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz Socket AM3+ 6 core processor
ASUS ENGTX 560 DCII OC/2DI/1GD5 Geforce GTX 560
ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 Motherboard
COOLMAX ZU-700B 700W ATX 12V Power Supply
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2x4GB) 240-pin DDR 3 SDRAM 2133 (PC3 17000)
Prolimatech PRO Panther 120mm CPU Cooler
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001RD case


THE PROBLEM: Computer turn on with everything running as usual, but shows blank screen on monitor. Cannot soft power off by pressing power button.

Things I tried:

Clear CMOS by removing battery and switching pins
Running with 1 4GB RAM instead of 2, move the ram around the slots & alternate which Ram is used.
Check my monitor by testing it with another computer
Tried pulling the PS plug and holding the computer power button for 1 min
Test the GPU with another computer & it runs fine
I tried removing all USB and excess drive and booting up with only the essential (GPU, CPU, 1 HD, 1 Ram)
Checked all connection between Motherboard and Power supply
Checked all connection within the PC



From my research, I noticed that many people are saying that there is something to do with the ASUS motherboard bios that need to be updated. And since I cannot even get into the boot screen, I can't update the bios. Please let me know if there is anything I can do/try to troubleshoot the problem.
Thank you so much,
Kevin
Iliketurtle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2013, 05:52 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Hello,

Is it possible that you can test with another compatible PSU? I would strongly suggest doing so.

Also try the following steps:
•Make sure that the (internal) speaker is connected to the motherboard
•Remove all memory and attempt to boot the PC
•You should get the no memory beep errors

If the Power Supply is in working order and no beeps are present then it can be indicative of a faulty motherboard.

For troubleshooting purposes it may be a good idea to remove the components from the case and bench test to rule out a short.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-262998.html
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 10:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Unfortunately I don't have a spare PSU with me. I also connected the internal speaker but there is no beep code. Not even when I removed all the memory. Do you think it could be the motherboard?

Thank you,
Iliketurtle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2013, 10:06 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


It is very likely this is a problem with the motherboard.

Are you still testing with everything installed in the case?
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2013, 12:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Actually I was able to borrow a PSU (500W) from a friend. Hooked it up and it loaded up like normal, no error whatsoever, and shows 1 beep. So I then went back to the old PSU (700W) and it did not load up. At this point, I'm going RMA it and will post back with further details.

Thank you so much for your time,
Kevin
Iliketurtle is offline  
Old 01-09-2013, 12:21 AM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


It seems like you found the problem.

I would suggest using this opportunity to upgrade the PSU to a quality unit.

The Coolmax that was previously being used is a lower quality unit.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2013, 12:38 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 ultimate



Yes I was thinking about upgrading. What would you suggest? And what wattage for my system?

Thanks again,
Kevin
Iliketurtle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP PC unable to access internet or copy files
Hi - I have a Dell slimline PC running Windows XP that is slowly losing all functionality. I cannot load IE, Chrome has a message ERR 138 (Access Denied). I am unable to copy files from a USB stick and cannot remove certain programs (er McAfee) using the Add / Remove program utility. :facepalm: ...
NDWales Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 54 07-15-2012 03:19 PM
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 12:38 PM
System Restore Virus Not removed completely
I recently got a System Restore Virus and was able to remove a lot of it using Malwarebytes. My scan is now clean although my TrendMicro Software is picking up several viruses/trojans that it cannot remove and google searches are redirected. I had difficulty downloading and running dds (it runs...
tdoby724 Resolved HJT Threads 16 11-07-2011 02:04 PM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 07:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts