Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 bizarre issue, please read

This is a discussion on Windows 7 bizarre issue, please read within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I've recently built a new machine for gaming and work etc and I was having some issues which I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2012, 09:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 SP1



So I've recently built a new machine for gaming and work etc and I was having some issues which I thought I'd nailed down to being related to my SSD which I was running the OS off of. I wiped the ssd and the HDD I was using for storage and reinstalled the OS on the HDD, leaving the SSD out of the box entirely. It was working fine for a day until this morning. When I turned it on it gave me the "Select OS" prompt as if I had multiple OSs installed on different drives. Both options were Win 7 but the second option gave me a "device cannot be found" error as if it was looking for the original win 7 install that was on the SSD. I'm at a loss for what to do.
Cyborg771 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2012, 02:43 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



Hello, are you saying the OS is crashing and you can't get back on or do you need the other options gone so it can just auto boot without the prompt?

If it's crashing, it sounds like a driver issue. On your motherboard do you have two different SATA ports? Like one is Intel and the other Gigabyte (just making this up)? But the solution is to make sure you install the drivers for them from the CD that came with your motherboard. You can try switching to the other and see what happens.

Try swapping cables too just a to be sure. Follow your motherboard recommendation for the proper BIOS setting for SATA if you haven't.
Phou is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 03:10 PM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, yes we need the answers to Phou's questions, if you can access a cmd prompt type:

bcdedit> 0 & notepad 0 (press enter)

Post the notepad outcome here.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2012, 06:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 SP1



The first option was booting into the OS just fine, the second was just giving me an error. I decided to wipe the HDD again and reinstall though so at the moment it doesn't appear to be a problem. If it happens again I'll come back I guess.
Cyborg771 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please check my post for honeybe [Resolved]
https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/virus-blocking-internet-access-621713.html After removing XP Antispyware 2012,I can no longer connect to the internet.It just says "acquiring network address". When I do ipconfig it says "RPC server is unavailable".There's nothing wrong with the...
woosh Resolved Back Me Up Threads 28 01-10-2012 04:05 AM
"System Fix" virus hijacked computer
Hello, I’ve got a computer infected with the “System Fix” Virus. I believe the OS is Windows XP Professional. Searching the Tech Support Forum lead me to this thread: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/im-in-trouble-614906.html Since that thread is getting quite long, I figured...
SilentJim Resolved HJT Threads 48 12-02-2011 08:10 AM
Please check my post for Mundy84 [Resolved]
Thread Ok, last week I got a virus that disabled my internet and most programs. I was able to get to mbam in safe mode and change the extension to get it to run. That gave me control of the machine again, but there are lingering issues. The machine runs slower. I have the google re-direct virus....
Skiingguru1611 Resolved Back Me Up Threads 43 07-01-2011 08:10 PM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 11:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts