Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Windows 7 32 bit to 64 bit

This is a discussion on Windows 7 32 bit to 64 bit within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently bought a copy of Windows 7 Ultimate to replace my current Vista 32 bit. I checked my system


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2015, 08:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I recently bought a copy of Windows 7 Ultimate to replace my current Vista 32 bit. I checked my system was compatable and backed up all the files etc that i needed.

I have tried running the install as both and Upgrade and a Custom install (several times now) but at no point am i asked which version, 32 or 64 bit, i want to install. It automatically installs the 32 bit version. I have even formatted my drive now to ensure it was a clean install.
John_Bar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2015, 08:40 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Was this a retail copy of Windows 7 Ultimate?

Other than the version only being 32bit, hardware could also cause this but it's highly unlikely that your hardware doesn't support 64bit software.

Upgrade wouldn't work (32bit to 64bit) but doing the custom install from booting off the disc should work fine.
JMPC is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 09:25 AM   #3
Networking Team |Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi John Bar,

May I ask, what is the brand/model number of your computer? Is your computer a desktop or laptop computer?
DBCooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2015, 12:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Its a Dell Inspiron 530 desktop computer. Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz. 4Gb RAM.
John_Bar is offline  
Old 01-31-2015, 07:44 PM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 Professional



Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Bar View Post
Its a Dell Inspiron 530 desktop computer. Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz. 4Gb RAM.
It's possible your machine never shipped with 64-bit drivers. Just because you have a 64-bit disk does not mean that the manufacturer made 64-bit drivers for it.

Product Support | Dell US

Go there, and see if you can get Dell to say whether or not there are 64-bit drivers for the machine. The service tag/serial number thing is restrictive, and there may be 64 bit drivers available, but you won't know because your service tab/serial number says it's 32-bit.

So, IF they exist is one question, and then trying to figure-out how to get them and install them is another.

Recommend that you use a 2nd hard drive to do the upgrade. Creating a 2nd partition for the upgrade install is also possible, but I'm real weak on that. Multi-boot on the same partitioned HD is a royal pain, more trouble than it is worth and hard drives are cheap. Get a 2nd HD, install it, learn to use the BIOS's "Boot Order" and try to install the 64 bit O/S on the 2nd Hard drive. You can use the 1st HD to find the drivers, and manually store them in such a way that you can find them while booting from (and possibly while doing the install on) the 2nd drive.
Shelly_Johnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check My Fix for S-100
S-100 Need help with this problem My computer takes a really long time to start up. The black Windows page with the blue bar sits there for up to a minute sometimes. The 2nd time this happened, I got a red screen with some crazy dialogue boxes, which disappeared before I could read them. I...
DrDOS Resolved Back Me Up Threads 46 10-17-2013 06:10 PM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 05:31 PM
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
Please check my post for honeybe [Resolved]
https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/virus-blocking-internet-access-621713.html After removing XP Antispyware 2012,I can no longer connect to the internet.It just says "acquiring network address". When I do ipconfig it says "RPC server is unavailable".There's nothing wrong with the...
woosh Resolved Back Me Up Threads 28 01-10-2012 04:05 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts