Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

What do I need to do to install Windows 7 Ultimate in my Dell Inspiron 6000?

This is a discussion on What do I need to do to install Windows 7 Ultimate in my Dell Inspiron 6000? within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am new on here. I just purchased a 120GB hard drive and a DVD/DVR rom for my Dell


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2012, 10:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Jason9922's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 2hrs North of Detroit, Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 53
OS: HP Probook 4420s 2.4 GHz i3 /120GB SSD#1/500GB HDD#2/ 8GB DDR3 1333mhz/HPgraphic/ Win 7 Ultimate 64



Hello, I am new on here.
I just purchased a 120GB hard drive and a DVD/DVR rom for my Dell Inspiron 6000 so my laptop would be maxed out in every way so a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate would run smoothly. My Inspiron 6000 also has 2GB of ram and a 1.6Ghz processor. As I browse through Google with this question I get a lot of yes and no answers. Some said, no Windows 7 won't work on an Inspiron 6000 because of so and so. Then I see other people saying download a driver for a Inspiron 6400 Windows Vista and install it and this will solve the audio issue people have. This driver will allow my sound to work when I install Windows 7? What I am confused of is what do I need to do before I install Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit? If I install that driver, won't it just go away when I do a fresh install of W7U? Won't that erase everything including the drivers? I am still waiting for the DVD rom to com in the mail so I am trying to get everything ready before I make any huge changes and delete Windows XP SP3 I am currently using right now which is on the 40GB hard drive the Dell Inspiron 6000 came with. So I will be installing my new hard drive 120gb Seagate ITE with new ITE adapter in the laptopo along with the DVD/DVR rom so there will be nothing on the hard drive at all. I will have to format it. Where do I get all these drivers for Windows 7 when Dell.com only offers drivers for Windows Xp? I seen a lot people saying they had drivers for vista and they got them off Dell.com. Any advice on how I should proceed with this would be very much appreciated. Very much appreciated. Thank you,
Jason
Jason9922 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2012, 10:51 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,294
OS: win 10 Home



Hi and welcome to TSF have you run the upgrade advisor Download: Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor - Microsoft Download Center - Download Details
have you looked on the dell support site for your model for info on wether win7 will work
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:54 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

2 Gig of RAM is the bare minimum for windows 7 so you can expect less than steller performance

Installing Windows 7 on a laptop whose manufacturer does not have windows 7 drivers can result in a long tedious exercize . . Windows 7 will likely have most of the drivers, but no gurantees on that . . Windows update may or may not offer the rest.

See this for how to pick and dig for drivers:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...rs-419050.html
Old Rich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2012, 12:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Jason9922's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 2hrs North of Detroit, Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 53
OS: HP Probook 4420s 2.4 GHz i3 /120GB SSD#1/500GB HDD#2/ 8GB DDR3 1333mhz/HPgraphic/ Win 7 Ultimate 64



Yes, 2GB of ram is the bare bones, I read an article in Microsoft on how to make W7 run with the same speed as XP PRO SP3 with 2GB of ram but I will have to give up a lot of the "Visual makes it look pretty options" that Windows 7 has. Before you install Windows 7 Ultimate and Windows 7 Ultimate service pack 1 it gave a list of what to turn off while doing a custom install of W7 and after it has installed, what options to turn off that are "Makes it look pretty" options (they didn't word it like that) haha. So I emailed the person who wrote the article for Microsoft and he said my Inspiron 6000 would run at the same speed as it does with XP PRO SP3 and maybe even faster because after shutting off and or not installing the stuff I won't use or the stuff that will make my laptop run probably the same or maybe less computing speed. I don't know, I figure I'll install this whole W7 deal on my old 40gb hard drive which is plenty big enough and do what he and you have told me and see how things work. If they suck, I'll just put my current hard drive back in. I asked him about the readyboost option that W7 has with using the SD cards or flash drives as "ram" ya know and he said that on the older laptops that have slower processors that readyboost usually shows a major difference in the speed of the laptop. So I will install W7 like I said and then set up my extra 4GB Sandisk SD card as extra so called "ram" or whatever and see what happens. I'll let you know how it works!! Thank you very much also for the driver information. Showing me how to look for the drivers using the #'s was way helpful. Makes searching for a driver so much easier because you know exactly what your looking for. Thanks again and take care!![/SIZE][/FONT]
Jason9922 is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 12:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Jason9922's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 2hrs North of Detroit, Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 53
OS: HP Probook 4420s 2.4 GHz i3 /120GB SSD#1/500GB HDD#2/ 8GB DDR3 1333mhz/HPgraphic/ Win 7 Ultimate 64



I downloaded that and ran it. That was the first thing I found when I googled what to do on the web. It does show I need a few different drivers. Thank you for the help sir!!
Jason9922 is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 12:21 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


I run Win7 Ultimate on 2GB of ram and a pos Celeron 3.2Ghz 533FBS 512 L2 cache cpu it runs great.

I turn off unneeded services and do not run windows defender. Also turn off startup programs.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Restore Virus Not removed completely
I recently got a System Restore Virus and was able to remove a lot of it using Malwarebytes. My scan is now clean although my TrendMicro Software is picking up several viruses/trojans that it cannot remove and google searches are redirected. I had difficulty downloading and running dds (it runs...
tdoby724 Resolved HJT Threads 16 11-07-2011 02:04 PM
Being Redirected to other sites when Searching on Google
Hello, My problem is that I am being redirected to other sites when searching using Google. I searched around and was told it is a redirection malware/virus that cannot be detected with my normal virus scanner. I was also told I could use "Combofix", but not to use it unless directed to...
cheriserandle Resolved HJT Threads 24 07-31-2011 08:11 PM
Please check my post for Mundy84 [Resolved]
Thread Ok, last week I got a virus that disabled my internet and most programs. I was able to get to mbam in safe mode and change the extension to get it to run. That gave me control of the machine again, but there are lingering issues. The machine runs slower. I have the google re-direct virus....
Skiingguru1611 Resolved Back Me Up Threads 43 07-01-2011 08:10 PM
Lets try this one more time
Hello, Randomly after I start my computer (I'm probably connected to the internet too) windows shoots up "Generic Host for Win32 processes has encountered an error and needs to close". After that I receive svchost.exe - Application Errors (The instruction at "0x001a6f64" referenced memory at...
TheCommonUser Inactive Malware Help Topics 21 06-12-2011 10:10 AM
Sluggish Computer, possible virus
Hello, My computer has been running real sluggish lately and I am not sure what the problem is. At first I thought it was Maleware, but after running Malwarebyte's my computer has not gotten any better. So I am turning to you guys to see if anyone can help. Below is the DDS file. . DDS...
Suprk Resolved HJT Threads 10 06-07-2011 02:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts