User Tag List

User Name Change

This is a discussion on User Name Change within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. In my area, Goodwill sells refurbished computers, and I purchased one. The standard practice of Good Will is to create


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2013, 11:36 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Professional service pack 1



In my area, Goodwill sells refurbished computers, and I purchased one. The standard practice of Good Will is to create the default user of the computer. In that regard, there is a locked symbol on that account. And I discovered this Naming after I installed all of the Programs on the computer. I need the default user name changed to my choosing because this default name populates all the fields of nomenclature in all installed programs--some of which have to be changed each time. Is there a way to change the name of the locked default user on my computer? Thanks for any help WilbertC.
wcjenkinsjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2013, 11:42 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,713
OS: win 10 Home



Hi and welcome to TSF you should really speak to goodwill and have them fix the name issue
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 12:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Professional service pack 1



Hello Joe, and thank you for your reply. I will try your suggestion, and reply later if the case is not resolved. Again, thanks for now. Wilbert
wcjenkinsjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2013, 12:21 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,713
OS: win 10 Home



Your welcome they really should have sorted that out prior to them giving you the machine, and please do let us know how it goes
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 06:32 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Professional service pack 1



Hello Joeten, Sure will let you know. It may be a few days because I have to go over to the store. I am in a Masters class right now, and my back is to the wall with work to be submitted, that I have yet to complete. I will post back later, maybe Monday, due to the deadlines of tomorrow at 6, and Sunday midnight CST. Again, thanks. Wilbert
wcjenkinsjr is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 11:24 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 39,988
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


If the default user that you use to log into is an Administrator, then in that account you are logged in, go to Start/Control Panel/Users and create your own user account with Admin rights. Log out of the user you are in and log in as the new user.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 09:06 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Professional service pack 1



Why can't I get the valued customer off of my computer? If I can, does it mean reloading all the software again? I don't want that valued customer on the system and don't think that I should be going through any hoops. I tried that second method that you describe, but want the computer to load-up and open when the computer is turned on. Wilbert.
wcjenkinsjr is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 09:15 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,713
OS: win 10 Home



Hi you can use the hidden admin account to make changes Enable the (Hidden) Administrator Account on Windows 7 or Vista - How-To Geek
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:10 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,664
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, when you first install windows it will allocate a user name (usually of your choosing) this is known as the registered owner, you might also have a registered organisation, this name will populate user accounts etc,,, If this is what you are referring to please go to start search and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select run as administrator at the prompt copy paste:-

Code:
reg query "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion" > 0 & notepad 0
press enter

Please post the notepad outcome here, should show the registered owner and registered organisation( if relevant) you need to modify these entries to your preferred user.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:53 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 39,988
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


If you have created a new user as suggested in Post #6 and you want to automatically login as this user without typing in a password, or to remove the Goodwill user,Login as the new user, go to Start/Search and type netplwiz Right click the netplwiz icon in the search results and Run As Administrator. Uncheck Users Must enter a User name and password to use this computer. click Apply. You will be asked for your password, or leave it blank if you did not set one. Restart and you will automatically log in without prompt of a password. If you want to totally remove the account, go to C:\Users\[goddwillusername] and copy any of the files you want to keep, and paste them into your new profile.
Go back to netplwiz and highlight the account you want to remove and press the Remove button. Then go into Control Panel/Users and also delete that account there as well.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:33 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 Professional service pack 1



Hello Mr Spunk.Funk, I will try your suggestion, especially with the additional information that you provided in the post that I am now responding to. A few questions regarding the delete Goodwill Name account. Will the programs that I installed and the few programs Goodwill installed have to have any special attention to? Wilbert C.
wcjenkinsjr is offline  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:37 AM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,713
OS: win 10 Home



Hi there are a few ways to do this see here Built-in Administrator Account - Change Name - Windows 7 Forums
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generic_r.BAT - Luhe.Sirefef.A -Infection
Hi there, I have been having a problem with a laptop that I am using to post this Thread. I keep getting redirects to unknown websites I have run AVG, which gave me the info below I have also run Malwarebytes (now uninstalled), and Spybot (now uninstalled)
Dave Potter Resolved HJT Threads 30 11-12-2012 05:40 PM
windows 7 freezing like crazy
Hello I'm having trouble getting my comouter to stop freezing up. While doing one task for a long period of time. The software will freeze up to the put of not responding and windows 7 task bar and software icons become unclickable..... but I can still move the mouse but no luck opening anything...
Dev in need Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 29 07-02-2012 05:18 PM
Am not able to copy user account - The name reference is invalid.
I had 3 servers which are in one domain on separate offices. OS on the servers is WS2003 SP2,and there is no exchange installed on them. The problem is one of our employee in company left, so there will be other guy which will work on his place. So I took the laptop remove it from the domain,...
nirbod Windows Servers 6 08-02-2011 12:11 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 07:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts