Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Troubles with connecting to some websites

This is a discussion on Troubles with connecting to some websites within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I've my Vista Ultimate (currently on 30-days trial) since yesterday, most of things seem to work fine except that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2007, 01:13 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
OS:


Cry

Hello,

I've my Vista Ultimate (currently on 30-days trial) since yesterday, most of things seem to work fine except that I cannot access to some websites, like Windows Update! also found one more site that was working fine on my XP but not on Vista. Whats wrong? Its just default instalation, no third party applications like firewall or something, I even disabled the built-in firewall but it doesnt help. Almost resigned after many hours of trying to google for any solution, the only thing that allows me to connect to those sites are via proxy which isnt the best solution as most of proxies hasnt best speed besides on my other pc where I have XP I can connext to those sites so... this is so odd..

Cannot access* to those sites:

https://update.miscrosoft.com (its a biggest pain cos cant download any updates)
https://go.microsoft.com
https://forumprawne.org
also cannot play BF2142 because its trying to get access to login server which isnt accessible on my Vista too.

I am sure there is more, just havent found them out yet.

* - no matter what I use, it can be eaither IE, Opera, Firefox or Windows Update, all I see is something like:

Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

Most likely causes:
- You are not connected to the Internet.
- The website is encountering problems.
- There might be a typing error in the address.

Of course I am connected to the internet

My PC specs are:

AMD64 X2 4200+, 2G DDR2, 400GB HDD, GF8800GTX, ADSL modem (connected to my pc's network card and using PPPoE)

Please help, I am so helpless and feels like I lost 500 bucks for nothing, seems the only thing left is roll back to XP :/
patme is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2007, 08:32 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System

I can't acces windows update either at least not by going directly to the site, try going to start>all programs and selecting windows update, bet that will work.

As far as the other 2 sites you listed I can no problem
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 10:25 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
OS:


I tried that too, it doesnt help anyway uninstalled Vista and I am back on XP, everything is working fine here.
patme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts