Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Toshiba Satellite won't turn on

This is a discussion on Toshiba Satellite won't turn on within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have had a Toshiba Satellite A665 for a few years now and have had no major problems up


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2012, 06:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Hi, I have had a Toshiba Satellite A665 for a few years now and have had no major problems up until now.

The first thing that happened is it would shut down randomly while I was using it. I turned it back on a few times and it worked for a while (maybe a few hours) before I noticed its next symptom. I had it plugged into the AC adapter and I started noticing it would only charge for 36 seconds at a time (yes I timed it) and then stop. If I unplugged it and plugged it back in it would work for another 36 seconds.

I then noticed that even though it was plugged in the battery indicator said 0% and not charging. Then it shut off again and I haven't been able to start it since. Now when I plug it in a white light just blinks repeatedly but nothing happens when I press power.

I have removed the battery, drained the power, replaced it, nothing. I have removed and reinserted the RAM, hard drive, and dvd drive, nothing.

Even worse, I put my hard drive in my other Toshiba Satellite, it booted once and now that one has THE SAME PROBLEM and won't start either. I am beyond frustrated and don't know what the hell's going on.

Thanks to anyone who tries to help...
Statst00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2012, 07:13 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Not sure why your other Tosh wouldn't fire up but read on line about one guy who removed the battery for a short while with the AC cord plugged in and then put it back in.

This apparently resets the circuitry as it severs the memory from that battery and the computer "thinks" it's getting a new battery.

If your Tosh is modern enough to have a recovery partition, will it boot up into recovery mode by tapping F8 on boot up or clearing the BIOS may help (?)
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 07:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


I tried removing the battery for a while with the ac cord plugged in and then replacing it, nothing.

And no, it doesn't even make it to BIOS. It won't even power on now. I hope it's not the motherboard...
Statst00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Do you want to try clearing the BIOS to see if that helps - it's a doddle

Toshiba Satellite A665-S5170 Bios Password | digitalbart
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 09:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Yeah I'll try that in the morning, thanks for your replies
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:57 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Statst00 View Post
Yeah I'll try that in the morning, thanks for your replies
Let us know how you get on.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 11:46 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15

Let us know how you get on.
Still nothing unfortunately. I followed the instructions to reset the CMOS but nothing changed. Still no lights, no fan, no anything. Could my battery have fried somehow all of a sudden?

Actually in that case seems like it would still run off the ac adapter...
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 12:41 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Just to recap, it seems to revolve around the HDD if that knacked your other laptop.

If you refit the other laptop with its original HDD and perhaps clearing its BIOS, can you get into its recovery mode or boot up with a recovery or install disk ?

It could well be the motherboard on the first one but don't know how/why that should affect the HDD, perhaps the hardware guys on here would have a better answer on that for you.

Other than that, I'm at a loss as to what else to suggest as a self fix.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 12:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15
Just to recap, it seems to revolve around the HDD if that knacked your other laptop.

If you refit the other laptop with its original HDD and perhaps clearing its BIOS, can you get into its recovery mode or boot up with a recovery or install disk ?

It could well be the motherboard on the first one but don't know how/why that should affect the HDD, perhaps the hardware guys on here would have a better answer on that for you.

Other than that, I'm at a loss as to what else to suggest as a self fix.
I removed the battery with the ac plugged in the second one and put it back in, now it will boot but it doesn't recognize the ac adapter. I think there's something wrong with that too, there is a very faint beeping coming from the box part.

As for the first one, any idea what could be linking the problems with the hdd and motherboard?? I'm pretty good with software issues but this is the first time I've had to deal with something hardware related.

Maybe post a thread in the hardware section?

Again thanks for your responses.
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 04:43 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



I'd already said that I didn't know how/why the motherboard would affect the HDD, but have you tried using the other AC adapter, as you would need AC power to factory reset the laptop or perhaps clearing the BIOS on that one as well may resolve that.

As for the bleeping AC adapter, came across this article (good old Google ) Can some one tell me how to fix my ac adapter VGPAC19V19 - FixYa where some others had similar musical AC adapters, albeit Sony.

I think you need greater technical advice on the first one, so opening a thread in the Hardware section would be a good idea and you could link this thread so you wouldn't have to explain all of the details again.
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:12 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15
I'd already said that I didn't know how/why the motherboard would affect the HDD, but have you tried using the other AC adapter, as you would need AC power to factory reset the laptop or perhaps clearing the BIOS on that one as well may resolve that.

As for the bleeping AC adapter, came across this article (good old Google ) Can some one tell me how to fix my ac adapter VGPAC19V19 - FixYa where some others had similar musical AC adapters, albeit Sony.

I think you need greater technical advice on the first one, so opening a thread in the Hardware section would be a good idea and you could link this thread so you wouldn't have to explain all of the details again.
Ahh you did already mention that I see. I'll try another ac adapter on the second one and see if it recognizes it.

If you don't mind me asking, what exactly would resetting the bios and/or a factory reset do?

Thanks again for your time and effort, I really appreciate it.
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:41 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Factory resetting the laptop takes it back to an out of the box condition where the computer has a built in recovery partition instead of supplied install disks, so prior to doing this, you would need to back up your files and then reinstall any programs that you had prior to the reset.

Clearing the BIOS also takes that back to factory conditions so the laptop should then recognize the bits and pieces.

BIOS > BASIC INPUT OUTPUT OPERATING SYSTEM provides the CPU (processor) with the info required to boot the system from a non-volatile storage unit (such as the hard disk ( HDD)) and provides the system with the settings and resources that are available on the system (roughly)
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:04 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Statst00
Hi, I have had a Toshiba Satellite A665 for a few years now and have had no major problems up until now.

The first thing that happened is it would shut down randomly while I was using it. I turned it back on a few times and it worked for a while (maybe a few hours) before I noticed its next symptom. I had it plugged into the AC adapter and I started noticing it would only charge for 36 seconds at a time (yes I timed it) and then stop. If I unplugged it and plugged it back in it would work for another 36 seconds.

I then noticed that even though it was plugged in the battery indicator said 0% and not charging. Then it shut off again and I haven't been able to start it since. Now when I plug it in a white light just blinks repeatedly but nothing happens when I press power.

I have removed the battery, drained the power, replaced it, nothing. I have removed and reinserted the RAM, hard drive, and dvd drive, nothing.

Even worse, I put my hard drive in my other Toshiba Satellite, it booted once and now that one has THE SAME PROBLEM and won't start either. I am beyond frustrated and don't know what the hell's going on.

Thanks to anyone who tries to help...
And the link to the original thread:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...on-659441.html

Now when I plug it in, the dc in light blinks white, which according to the manual indicates a problem with heat dispersal.

I got it to power on just for a few minutes, got into setup and then it shut off. My hard drive still shows but that's about all I could see.

I want to have it serviced, but don't trust them with all my files. And I can't just bring it in without the hard drive as that seems to be part of the problem... I'm at a loss of what to do :(
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:09 PM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,930
OS: win 10 Home



Hi have you cleaned the air vents and fan with a can of compressed air to remove any dirt and debris,if you have or can borrow or buy a usb enclosure you can put the drive in it and try to save your data by hooking it up to another computer https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=2....ient=firefox-a
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:12 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Are my files at risk of being tampered with if I leave my hard drive in to get it serviced? I have a password on my user account but I'm still wary since I have "sensitive" material I don't want people messing with.

Sorry if this is the wrong section I wasn't sure where it would go.
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:16 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten
Hi have you cleaned the air vents and fan with a can of compressed air to remove any dirt and debris,if you have or can borrow or buy a usb enclosure you can put the drive in it and try to save your data by hooking it up to another computer https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=2....ient=firefox-a
Hi Joe, thanks for your answer. I haven't tried that yet, but do you think that could be causing all this? I don't see any real visible dirt or debris but it's definitely worth a shot.

I have considered the enclosure to get my files off it, but could that somehow just transfer the problem? Since when I put it in the second laptop, it's now having the same issues.
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:17 PM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,930
OS: win 10 Home



Hi is your hard drive healthy ie no problems if it is they won't need to do anything with it the other option is to transfer your data to a external drive or usb stick and delete it from the hdd you can put it back when you have had it serviced
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:20 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 7 64 bit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten
Hi is your hard drive healthy ie no problems if it is they won't need to do anything with it the other option is to transfer your data to a external drive or usb stick and delete it from the hdd you can put it back when you have had it serviced
As far as I know it's healthy but when that computer started having power problems and I put the hdd in a second computer it started having the same issues as the first. So I'm not sure unfortunately
Statst00 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:25 PM   #19
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,680
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, I suppose we should ask what do you need it serviced for? It might be that the HDD is needed for the service. We have serviced millions of computers over the years, and as a general rule the tech does not have time to bother with your data, also they have seen it all, if you are really concerned ask if you can be present during the service we never minded, you might learn something as well. One thing I would defiantly do is have an external backup of your data.

EDIT: Joe beat me to it (that's why he has 24000 posts and me 4000... sigh)
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 04:25 PM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,930
OS: win 10 Home



Hi with the second laptop remove all power including the battery and hold down the power button for 45 seconds and then boot with just the ac adapter if all goes well reinstall the battery,as to the enclosure the drive will only be recognised as a mass storage device so it should not cause any issue,and please since your issue is basically the same one as your other thread keep your questions here,I will close the other thread or if you prefer I can merge them
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite refuses to turn off.
Hi, first post, and all. So I have a Toshiba laptop that doesn't want to turn off. I already did a system restore, and nothing has changed. I hit start, then shut down, and it freezes on the desktop, with the hourglass just hanging there. I would appreciate ANY kind of advice you guys can give me....
Yun Laptop Support 9 12-18-2011 01:41 PM
Toshiba Satellite A500-027 Packet loss problem
Ok so I just found out I was having packet loss with my toshiba satellite. I have a NetGear WNR3500L freshly installed because the old router (d-ling dir 615) was dropping the connection all the time so we changed it But now I'm still having problems of lag so I'm well ill do some tests, find...
rayfloyd Laptop Support 4 06-11-2011 12:27 PM
Can't start in recovery console-Can't run chkdsk or autochk
Hi, My problems began a couple weeks ago with a virus and I have been working on solving those problems in the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forums. We were making some progress however, when one of the methods failed to complete we began checking my disk for errors. We attempted to run autochk by...
gregluck Windows XP Support 7 06-07-2011 09:59 AM
Mom wants a laptop. How 'bout a Toshiba Satellite?
So my 67 year old mother is looking to purchase a laptop so she can get on the internet, do some e-mail, and so forth. Nothing CPU or memory intensive by any stretch. She's not into pictures, music, etc. so she doesn't need a lot of HD space either. Just a very basic laptop with a 15" or 17"...
bmorese Laptop Support 0 06-04-2011 10:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts