Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Switch user black screen

This is a discussion on Switch user black screen within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I click the "Switch user" button the screen goes black, & the only way I get it back is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2013, 09:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



When I click the "Switch user" button the screen goes black, & the only way I get it back is to restart. Any ideas? Thanks.
benro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2013, 12:48 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


I seem to love clean boot today, LOL

Try booting to windows via a Clean Boot, then try the switch user, does the problem persist? If it works fine, then you know it is a third party application or service causing the problem.

If it doesn't fix the problem, hit the manufacturer of your pc for updated drivers.

Check the event log for errors around the time you tried to switch users.
Open Event Viewer
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 11:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Problem not fixed. I'm not sure which drivers to update - I know little about operating systems, software or hardware. Any advice in that regard will be appreciated. Also, in the Event Viewer, I did find errors at the time I switched users, but I don't know what they mean... I've attached a screen shot of the error log... maybe that'll help? Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Event Viewer_5.14.13.png
Views:	209
Size:	214.0 KB
ID:	125113  
benro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-14-2013, 11:36 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,194
OS: win 10 Home



Hi do you have or have you recently uinstalled \ uninstalled Microsoft security Essentials
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-27-2013, 01:13 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi do you have or have you recently uinstalled \ uninstalled Microsoft security Essentials
Sorry for the tardy reply – been away. No I haven’t messed with MSE recently (at least not in the time proximity to the problem… to the best of my memory). I did however perform an ‘Update Drivers’ function from Lenovo, but it made no difference with regard to this problem (though I’ve noticed better performance in other areas). Is it perhaps time to run ‘Repair Disk’? Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

BR
benro is offline  
Old 05-27-2013, 02:28 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,194
OS: win 10 Home



Hi it won't hurt to try a start up repair or run sfc /scannow
SFC /SCANNOW Command - System File Checker - Windows 7 Help Forums
Startup Repair - Microsoft Windows
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:09 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Thanks. OK, I ran sfc/scannow (ss attached), and it didn’t find any problems. Should I try the repair disk now, and if so, what do I look for? Thanks again.

BR
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SFC_5.27.13.png
Views:	174
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	125500  
benro is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 01:52 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,194
OS: win 10 Home



Hi I posted the tutorial earlier for both start up repair and sfc this is probably clearer Startup Repair - Windows 7 Help Forums
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 06-09-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi I posted the tutorial earlier for both start up repair and sfc this is probably clearer Startup Repair - Windows 7 Help Forums
OK, finally got around to running disk repair:
Startup Repair - no problems
System Restore - earliest restore point available was post problem.
Win Complete PC Restore - no backup image (to my knowledge).
Win Memory Diagnostic Tool - no problems.
Command Prompt - I'm outta my league here.
Any other suggestions, or is it perhaps time to break out my recovery disks? I know this is pretty drastic, but is there another option? Thanks.
BR
benro is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 11:09 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,218
OS: .



benro, do you get this problem when you try to 'log off'? Can you log off from one user and login to another?

I am not sure if the error shown in your attached image 'Microsoft Security Client OOBE' is related to this issue, but you never know. When was the last time you update your anti-virus and run a scan? Same goes for a malware scan?
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 01:47 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bowles View Post
benro, do you get this problem when you try to 'log off'? Can you log off from one user and login to another?

I am not sure if the error shown in your attached image 'Microsoft Security Client OOBE' is related to this issue, but you never know. When was the last time you update your anti-virus and run a scan? Same goes for a malware scan?

I see where you are going with this Stephen Bowles. Perhaps a corrupted user profile?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 06-11-2013, 10:42 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,218
OS: .



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBauer_24 View Post
I see where you are going with this Stephen Bowles. Perhaps a corrupted user profile?
Indeed.
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 06-11-2013, 07:44 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bowles View Post
benro, do you get this problem when you try to 'log off'? Can you log off from one user and login to another?

I am not sure if the error shown in your attached image 'Microsoft Security Client OOBE' is related to this issue, but you never know. When was the last time you update your anti-virus and run a scan? Same goes for a malware scan?
Hi, Thanks for the reply. Yes, I get a black screen when I Log off as well, so no, I can’t log on to another user until I restart. I can see however, that the computer is still processing (by the activity light), just no screen. I’m attaching a couple event log screen shots (warning & critical) that correspond to the time of the event – hopefully this will be helpful…? Anti-virus (Webroot) is up to date, and performing an av scan was one of the remedies I tried when the issue first appeared. Thanks again.

BR
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	E1_6.11.13.png
Views:	165
Size:	192.0 KB
ID:	125883   Click image for larger version

Name:	E2_6.11.13.png
Views:	147
Size:	195.0 KB
ID:	125884   Click image for larger version

Name:	E3_6.11.13.png
Views:	144
Size:	171.1 KB
ID:	125885  

benro is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:05 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Hi guys. Any thoughts?
benro is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 10:41 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Have you used any registry cleaners, optimizers in the past?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 12:58 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,556
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


an Event 41 Kernel-Power is assigned when a computer receives a STOP error (BSOD) or the user manually presses the power button, when the computer hangs.
Are you getting a BSOD?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 01:07 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,218
OS: .



benro,

I realise you have tried a clean boot and in theory this should not be much different, but it would be nice to rule it out completely. Can you please boot in Safe Mode and see if you get this problem.

> To do this, whilst the machines boots (before the Windows Logo) press F8 repeatedly until you see a list of options, one of them should be Safe Mode.

Do you use multiple screens or just one?

When was the last time you update your graphics driver? Same goes for installing all the Windows updates? You may be able to update your graphics driver from 'optional' updates on Windows Update, or download from the manufacturers website.

This is probably not relevant if your system is a laptop... If you have a separate graphics card and on-board graphics, could you try plugging the monitor into the opposite one and see if that works. Also, try taking it out and putting it back in after you have clicked to switch/log off user.

If you need any help finding the right drivers for your system, please provide the make/model of your system.
Stephen Bowles is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 12:27 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBauer_24 View Post
Have you used any registry cleaners, optimizers in the past?
Norton Utilities 15
benro is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 12:31 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
an Event 41 Kernel-Power is assigned when a computer receives a STOP error (BSOD) or the user manually presses the power button, when the computer hangs.
Are you getting a BSOD?
Only when I 'Switch user' or 'Log off', and that would be the B(lack)SOD.
benro is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 12:38 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
benro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The ATX
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 Pro (SP 1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bowles View Post
benro,

I realise you have tried a clean boot and in theory this should not be much different, but it would be nice to rule it out completely. Can you please boot in Safe Mode and see if you get this problem.

> To do this, whilst the machines boots (before the Windows Logo) press F8 repeatedly until you see a list of options, one of them should be Safe Mode.

Do you use multiple screens or just one?

When was the last time you update your graphics driver? Same goes for installing all the Windows updates? You may be able to update your graphics driver from 'optional' updates on Windows Update, or download from the manufacturers website.

This is probably not relevant if your system is a laptop... If you have a separate graphics card and on-board graphics, could you try plugging the monitor into the opposite one and see if that works. Also, try taking it out and putting it back in after you have clicked to switch/log off user.

If you need any help finding the right drivers for your system, please provide the make/model of your system.
I'll try to answer 10-15 minutes from now...
benro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~*~Mixed Bag of Problems~*~
Hi, everyone! I have had a lot of problems with my computer lately and I'm hoping someone would be able to help me out. The most pressing issue right now is that my e-mail is sending out Spam links when I'm not even on my computer. The first time it happened, I changed my password, but tonight the...
TabbyCat725 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 156 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
Google nginx + Redirect + DDS stuck
Need help -- CANNOT get rid of redirect virus & cant run DDS Hello, everyone. Thank you for reading my post. A) My PC runs: - Windows XP Home Edition Version 5.1 (Build 2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.111025- 1629: Service Pack 3. - IE – Internet Explorer 8 – Version: 8.0.6001.18702 – Update Version:...
Learn-always Resolved HJT Threads 48 05-10-2012 06:04 PM
persistent Black screen of death
Hi I have the dreaded black screen of death. Here is a summary of what I have already tried with no success: 1. Turning the laptop off, disconnecting all power sources and taking out the battery, Wait 10 minutes and plug everything back in. 2. F8 on reboot nothing just black screen 3. F1,F2...
enigma007 Laptop Support 2 02-04-2012 05:34 AM
[SOLVED] My Toshiba is not working it just has a black screen and with codes and numb
I need help. My toshiba NB205 is not working properly. When I turn it on I just get a black screen and then it says For Realtek RTL8101E etc. PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM. This product is covered by one or more of the following patents, etc. and it says a bunch...
lala24 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 11-07-2011 12:13 PM
Computer won't turn on; freezes on black screen at startup (help needed ASAP)
Pretty much everything seems to have broken or failed on me this week and now the thing I need most, my computer, appears to have followed suit. When I turn it on it gives me the normal blue HP screen followed by the normal Windows XP startup screen and then...black. Nothing. No noise, no...
blackscreen Windows XP Support 5 07-22-2011 04:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts