Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Strange pop up from MSE appearing several times a day

This is a discussion on Strange pop up from MSE appearing several times a day within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. There's this pop up I'v been seeing everytime I minimize my internet browser(chrome) and I see this pop up on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2014, 05:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



There's this pop up I'v been seeing everytime I minimize my internet browser(chrome) and I see this pop up on my desktop and I don't know what to do about it..how can I make it go away? I tried clicking on send, and even don't send..and I'm still getting it the exact same one several times a day to the point where it becomes slightly annoying.
Can anyone help me out..what's this about and how can I get rid of this pop up for good?


-Thanks :)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0009.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	193521  
Green972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2014, 05:44 PM   #2
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



A website you visited may have had something on it that was flagged as suspicious by MSE. You might try clearing your Chrome browser cache.
MPR is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 05:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



Ok, I'll try that and see if I still get it.
Green972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2014, 09:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



nope, still getting it.
Green972 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 10:08 PM   #5
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



You might wish to go over to the anti-malware section and post a query there. MSE isn't outright saying that you have malware but it doesn't catch everything either.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...lp-305963.html
MPR is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 01:45 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 8.1



just delete MSE...it's a waste!
LogicGoIT is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:25 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
NoelDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N Wales
Posts: 1,200
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


MSE is a perfectly good AV - not the best, but on the other hand it doesn't have the drawbacks that most others do.

The box here is appearing because MSE has detected something questionable but unknown - and wants to send the data back to MS for further analysis.

Do you just dismiss the box, or do you actually send the data.

I think running an MBAM scan would be a good idea...

Please download and install Malwarebytes Anti-malware (free version) from https://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free/ - UNtick 'Enable free trial of MBAM Premium' at the end of the installation - and update it, then run a full scan in your main account, and Quick scans in any other user accounts.

Delete everything it finds
__________________
Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
NoelDP is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:26 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



Yup that's exactly what I did, I have malwarebytes anti-malware and last night I scanned with everything I have, MSE, Spybot and malwarebytes there was a trojan virus detected but it was quarantined and deleted, so maybe that was it what was causing the pop up, but since then I'v been monitoring my computer and haven't seen the pop up again, thank goodness..but I'll keep checking.
Green972 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:37 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 8.1



I disagree with NoelDP, it's been shown that MSE is less than par for detecting infections. In 2006 MSE was the best, but times have changed and MSE hasn't caught up.
LogicGoIT is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:40 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



Hmm..I'm not sure what I should use then, I don't know what's the best out there, I asked this forum once and people recommended MSE.
Right now the programs I have are MSE, Spybot and Malwarebytes anti malware.
If MSE isn't good enough for viruses etc..is there another program I can use? (for free)
:/
/ is Spybot still good to use?
Green972 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:10 AM   #11
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,016
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


MSE is fine. With Spybot, disengage Tea Timer.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:26 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 8.1



CK007, MSE is Microsoft, so naturally a Microsoft Tech Team member would push it. Let's use a non-biased opinion: Goodbye Microsoft Security Essentials: Microsoft Now Recommends You Use a Third-Party Antivirus

I use avast! free av for clients that don't want to pay for it. AVG is also good. For my own systems, I use Webroot and Malwarebytes Premium.
I highly recommend Malwarebytes.
LogicGoIT is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:29 AM   #13
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,016
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


FYI. TSF staff are not employees nor do we have any direct connection with MS except some have achieved MVP status. We're all volunteers.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:30 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 8.1



Thank you for the clarification.
LogicGoIT is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:51 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



ok, gone is MSE, I just installed Avast, it's asking me if I want to try Internet Security for free..do I click on that or click on "stay with basic protection"?
Green972 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:57 AM   #16
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


The 'Goodbye MSE' article is over a year old. Much has changed since then, but I'd still go with Avast over MSE, however much MSE has improved recently.

The "stay with basic protection" option is all you need for now.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:03 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada, ON
Posts: 420
OS: Windows 10



Thank you/ and yet somehow a trojan virus got through :/ not sure how that happened. I'll try Avast I have used it in the past most people say it's good, will try it again.

Other than that I also have spybot, malwarebytes anti-malware and winpatrol, all good I assume? is that everything I need?
Green972 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:11 PM   #18
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Yes, you're pretty much covered with those programs. If you're using the free version of Malwarebytes, it's worth paying for the full version which gives real-time protection instead of just manual scans.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD few times, every single day :(
OS - Windows 7 ? x64 ? Windows 7 Not sure i think retail 2/3 years Re-installation 2 weeks ago CPU Amd athlon 5000+ Video Card - Intergrated MotherBoard - NVIDIA GeForce 8200 mGPU
tanveerahmed2k BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 13 02-18-2012 12:10 AM
Internet disconnect almost 7-8 times a day ? please help, details below .
Hello i have some problem with my network. Modem : Shaw internet Router : Dlink DIR 655 Ist switch : Netgear GS108 2nd switch : Netgear prosafe 8 port gigabit smart switch GS108T My network connections on all computers disconnect almost 7-8 times a day. i have to take the power cord for my...
bindudhindsa Networking Support 23 10-18-2011 07:51 PM
Random crashes multiple times a day
I have been struggling with this for months now. I built a new computer last December and put Windows 7 on it. It worked great for a few months and then one day I was surfing the internet and my monitor goes out. My computer is still running but I can't do anything. My keyboard lights up but I...
zendor0001 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 12 09-20-2011 11:49 PM
Monitor turns black & PC stops responding a few times a day.....
Ok, :4-dontkno if I'm even correct to assume that my video card is to blame for this issue so if I mistakenly posted in the wrong area plz feel free to move it=) I'm kind of confused about this issue I've been having as it seemingly happens while doing simpler things such as watching a video (on...
AngelinaSkye Video Card Support 19 05-20-2011 02:03 PM
Browser crashes multiple times during day, must restart.
Hi, I'm not sure what is causing this problem, but the browser just crashes and will display : "Unable to access the network" along with Error 138 (net!!ERR_NETWORK_ACCESS_DENIED) It does this out of the blue quite a few times during the day and I have to restart the computer to get the internet...
tonlliwi Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 9 05-20-2011 08:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts