Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] WU keeps "Successfully" installing the same 2 updates.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] WU keeps "Successfully" installing the same 2 updates. within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. WU has "Successfully" installed these two updates about repeatedly since 14Feb2012 Security Update for Microsoft .NET Framework 4 on XP,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2013, 03:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



WU has "Successfully" installed these two updates about repeatedly since 14Feb2012

Security Update for Microsoft .NET Framework 4 on XP, Server 2003, Vista, Windows 7, Server 2008, Server 2008 R2 for x64 (KB2656351)

Update for Microsoft .NET Framework 4 on XP, Server 2003, Vista, Windows 7Server 2008, Server 2008 R2 for x64 (KB2600217)


Presumably not, or why would it keep on "Successfully?" downloading and installing them? It happens every 2 or 3 times I shut down the computer.
jo-briggs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2013, 04:03 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Repeated prompts for updates usually occur when Windows doesn't recognize their install and MS has some Fixits for problematic updates or .NET Framework updates that you could try.

Windows Update or Microsoft Update repeatedly offers the same update

Download .NET Framework Repair Tool from Official Microsoft Download Center

Installing updates for the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 can take longer than expected in some scenarios
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 04:38 PM   #3
Troubled
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 918
OS: Windows7



I had the same trouble. MS's "Fixit" didn't work.

I had to uninstall .net 4, then delete all \windows\softwaredistribution\ data, then reboot.

Then, start windows update .net 4 from the beginning.
The_Janitor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2013, 04:53 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15 View Post
Repeated prompts for updates usually occur when Windows doesn't recognize their install and MS has some Fixits for problematic updates or .NET Framework updates that you could try.

Windows Update or Microsoft Update repeatedly offers the same update

Download .NET Framework Repair Tool from Official Microsoft Download Center

Installing updates for the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 can take longer than expected in some scenarios
The first two options I had already treid without success. FixIt didn't seem to work with the 3rd option, but at the bottom of the page was:

On a computer that is running a 64-bit Windows operating system

%windir%\microsoft.net\framework\v4.0.30319\ngen.exe update /force /queue

%windir%\microsoft.net\framework64\v4.0.30319\ngen.exe update /force /queue


So I did that and allowed the updates to then install. I'll wait and see if they pop up again over the next couple of days then report back.
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:10 AM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 918
OS: Windows7



You can visit Microsoft Updates manually and find out right away.
The_Janitor is offline  
Old 04-14-2013, 01:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Janitor View Post
You can visit Microsoft Updates manually and find out right away.
As I said, it always said that they had installed successfully...
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-14-2013, 02:39 PM   #7
Troubled
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 918
OS: Windows7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jo-briggs View Post
As I said, it always said that they had installed successfully...
Right, and then you immediately reload the page at Windows Update and see if it tries to reinstall them again. There is no need to wait.
The_Janitor is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 03:55 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Janitor View Post
Right, and then you immediately reload the page at Windows Update and see if it tries to reinstall them again. There is no need to wait.
You seem to not be understanding what I said - It has been "Successfully" installing for 3 months. Checking installed updates shows that, every time, the installation was successful, then maybe 2 or 3 days later, there it is again wanting to be installed - If it doesn't re-appear over the next week or so, I may consider the problem solved.
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 04:15 AM   #9
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,043
OS: win 10 Home



Did you ever just use hide updates
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 04:16 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Nope - They're back again...

Can I remove Net Framework from Programmes and reinstall it from somewhere?
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 04:19 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,043
OS: win 10 Home



Yes windows update and the download centre Download Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile (Standalone Installer) from Official Microsoft Download Centre that is 4 if you need them you can get others
Download .NET Framework 4.5 from Official Microsoft Download Centre
Download .NET Framework 3.5 from Official Microsoft Download Centre
are just a few
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 05:14 AM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,688
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, one of the improvements in windows 8 is the ability to repair this sort of problem, MS included the Dism cmd util in 7, supposed to revert pending actions, so far I have had little success with it, lets see if you are the lucky one (will do no harm).

Go to start search and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt copy paste:-

Code:
dism.exe /image:C:\ /cleanup-image /revertpendingactions
(press enter)

Next at the cmd prompt type each line pressing enter after each:-

Code:
Net stop wuauserv
cd %systemroot%  
Ren SoftwareDistribution SoftwareDistribution.old
Net start wuauserv
Restart computer, let us know how you get on.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 07:59 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Tried that, got this:

jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 08:50 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Right, I deleted the contents of \windows\softwaredistribution\DataStore after which Windows Update told me I had never downloaded any updates! I then uninstalled Net Framework 4 and Net Framework 4 Client Profile; I downloaded and installed both the Net Framework programs; we'll see how we go.
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 10:20 AM   #15
Troubled
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 918
OS: Windows7



Sounds like my path. I reinstalled the whole .net 4 suite from scratch, manually, and the problem went away and didn't come back. I deleted the whole \softwaredistribution\ folder though, if that makes a difference.
The_Janitor is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 01:50 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



So far so good. I have opened WU a couple of times, it still wants to download Bing, even though I've hidden it a couple of times.
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 04:22 PM   #17
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,688
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, you did not run the cmd as admin as per my post #12, that's why it didn't work. It is probably not needed now, you have manually renamed software distribution. If it comes back follow the instructions and do it again.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 06:43 PM   #18
Troubled
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 918
OS: Windows7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jo-briggs View Post
So far so good. I have opened WU a couple of times, it still wants to download Bing, even though I've hidden it a couple of times.
I had the same problem. Windows Search, Windows Live and other garbage would not stay hidden.
The_Janitor is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 01:29 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 491
OS: Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, you did not run the cmd as admin as per my post #12, that's why it didn't work. It is probably not needed now, you have manually renamed software distribution. If it comes back follow the instructions and do it again.
I am Admin, so I was not offered that choice after I typed cmd.exe, what you see is what I got.

So far so good!
jo-briggs is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 02:13 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



You need to right click on cmd to select Run as administrator and it will show as Administrator in the top bar otherwise it's just run as Users, which is why you got the Access denied - but the cmd prompt would usually tell you that The requested operation requires elevation when attempting cmds as Users when elevation is required.
Tomken15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi My Computer Doesnt Shut Down While Installing Updates
Hi newbie here. Hope someone can help me. When I shut down my Windows 7 laptop I get the message, "1 of 1 updates installing, do not turn off your computer", but it goes on and on and doesn't shut down. I have to manually hold the power button to off it. Thanks
Remy_Lebeau Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 12 03-21-2013 10:59 AM
[SOLVED] Windows Vista Won't Install Updates
Usually when I have a problem I am able to Google the problem and try different solutions seen that have worked for others. I have not had luck with my current issue on a separate computer. Laptop Windows Vista Home Premium Acer Aspire 5720Z Intel Pentium Dual CPU @ 1.46GHz 1.47GHz 1 GB RAM...
RazorRay Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 03-12-2013 06:43 PM
HELP! Update's have stopped installing!
Just getting loads of windows update errors. I have 2 updates that haven't installed for about 3 months, and now there's 6. It just keeps building up! What can I do? I'm really worried. here's some screen shots
megadieftw Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 10-02-2011 12:57 AM
virus...
Hello, Recentlly I got a problem with a evil virus. It start to delete .dll files , don't alow me to enable antivirus or any program that affect it (close those automaticlly when they...scan the virus), it open some certain .exe files that slow down my internet acces at the limit where i can't...
iully25 Resolved HJT Threads 47 09-25-2011 02:48 PM
[SOLVED] Windows Security Essential updates
I have a windows 7 home premium desktop with Windows Security Essentials. The updates for WSE so not take place automatically. I have to open the "action center", click on "windows update". I'd like to have these updates take place automatically as other important updates do. I have the settings...
Bluesman43 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 11 08-20-2011 06:41 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts