Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Windows Vista reinstall other devices locked, no drivers cannot load drivers

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows Vista reinstall other devices locked, no drivers cannot load drivers within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I had to reinstall windows Vista Business on an Acer Aspire AX1200-U1640A 2GB install went well but when I tried


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2015, 05:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
OS: windows 8.1



I had to reinstall windows Vista Business on an Acer Aspire AX1200-U1640A 2GB install went well but when I tried to set up my internet, wireless did not show, I called my internet provider we tried to set it up as broadband but that didn't work either. It seems I do not have the drivers for the Ethernet Controller and other things listed under other devices see pictures in attached document. Since I do not have the internet on that computer, I downloaded the Ethernet driver from Acer to a jump drive but I cannot get it to work. Please advise for all "other devices" with the same problem. Oh, yes the Ethernet cord is plugged in and my laptop has wifi. Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: doc info for tech support forum A.doc (3.90 MB, 33 views)
File Type: doc info for tech support forum2.doc (3.19 MB, 23 views)
do what? is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2015, 05:40 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 12,934
OS: windows 10

My System


Hi go to acer support page and download and install the chipset driver then try the lan driver
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 06-04-2015, 10:29 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by do what? View Post
I downloaded the Ethernet driver from Acer to a jump drive but I cannot get it to work.
Microsoft basic drivers should allow internet access via the Ethernet cable, if it doesn't, then with the USB drive inserted, select the network device and then update drivers.
Choose Browse and navigate to the USB drive and select the appropriate driver.
Panther063 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2015, 07:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
OS: windows 8.1



I have downloaded the drivers onto my jump drive. Now my problem is what do I click on to install them? I am not seeing a setup.exe for every driver. As for the Chipset Driver I used the Setup Application174 KB and it seemed to install but that didn't help with internet. I am attaching two pictures. The first is the files in the Chipset zip folder, am I supposed to click on anything else to get it set up properly? The second is the WLAN folder I had tried to install the netr73.sys but that's where I did and still do get into the loop of open or cancel etc. That picture is in my previous post. Please advise. Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3872.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	175.5 KB
ID:	237666   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3873.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	237674  
do what? is offline  
Old 06-06-2015, 12:10 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


I'm not seeing a driver or application for the ethernet or wireless device.
Has the package been unzipped, and is it in Downloads?
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-06-2015, 07:13 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 12,934
OS: windows 10

My System


whats inside of the Ethernet folder? try running the setup application.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 06-06-2015, 10:20 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
OS: windows 8.1



Good Morning!
First pic is of the contents of the Ethernet folder, second the zip folders from Acer as well as two that I unzipped.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3933.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	237866   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3934.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	171.4 KB
ID:	237874  
do what? is offline  
Old 06-14-2015, 06:40 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
OS: windows 8.1



I went away for a few days and when I came back and turned on the computer it wanted to install updates which it did. The internet is now working thanks!
do what? is offline  
Old 06-14-2015, 09:14 AM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 12,934
OS: windows 10

My System


That's great
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 11:29 AM
FBI.Cybercrime lock-out
Hello and thank you in advance for helping me. I am locked out of my computer with a notice from "FBI.Cybercrime" to pay a fine or the FBI will be here to haul me off to prison. I received a suggestion that through Bleeping Computers I would find the instructions to follow for self help removal...
Cathy95820 Resolved HJT Threads 34 05-06-2013 04:49 AM
Help..xp bsod when i run virus scan.
Hi, this is Troy, i have windows xp with sp3 and i everytime i run a virus scan and have run multiple kinds from windows to maleware bytes...you name it. I get to a point in the scan where i get a blue screen and then computer shuts down. When i run it with out doing a scan the computer stays on....
sootherlol Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 02-18-2013 06:31 PM
Bad Image Errors
I'm trying to get rid of some bad image errors and rundll errors during start-up on my windows xp computer. I ran the HiJackThis program and here is the log. I don't know which ones to delete. Please help. How do I avoid this in the future? Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4 Scan...
Generalpork12 Resolved HJT Threads 15 02-16-2012 04:52 PM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 07:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts