Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] windows anytime upgrade on volume license windows home to pro???

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] windows anytime upgrade on volume license windows home to pro??? within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all I have been wanting to upgrade my laptop from win7 home to pro for a while and now


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2011, 11:59 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 847
OS: Windows 10

My System


Hi all I have been wanting to upgrade my laptop from win7 home to pro for a while and now final going to get it done,
The product key which I am planning to use is from MSDN Academic Alliance Software Centre see link: AUT SCMS Microsoft Product Key Distribution Centre
Can I use Windows anytime upgrade with this key...I don't want it falling,
It's most likely a volume license and I know enterprise won't work with WAU and they are also volume licenses


Many Thanks


James
james137 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 12:53 AM   #2
CEM
TSF Enthusiast
 
CEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida / USA
Posts: 660
OS: win7 Professional x64


Send a message via MSN to CEM Send a message via Skype™ to CEM

Do you have serial number for WIN 7 Pro also did you download and burn to your cd as an ISO file. I mean is it ready for installation.?

I had XP and i download same website win7 pro and i am using 3 computer very fine.
__________________
Trust God and walk in His WAY
CEM is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 207
OS: Win 7 Pro x64



It's not a VLK but unless you used an MSDN key for your Win 7 Home, then you'll have to do a fresh install.
PinoyIT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 02:00 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 847
OS: Windows 10

My System


windows 7 home is from when i bought the laptop (so it would be retail edtion i guess) I have the DVD (burned it from uni server), can i boot it and choose upgrade option??

and yes i do have the key ready to go
james137 is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:31 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 847
OS: Windows 10

My System


I found a solution to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional - faster than clean install slower than windows anytime upgrade...i think.
I have tested this on virutal box and it worked fine. it was like updating from vista to windows 7 though
the solution is not the "correct" way but it is legal
What you must need: if you don't ALL of these. STOP and get them first
---windows 7 starter or home installed
---windows 7 Professional DVD from MSDNAA (burned from server/download)
---A vaild MSDNAA product key.
---Time about avgerage:1 hour max 4 depending how ssssllllloooowww your computer is
---access to an administrator account
IMPORTANT:: There is no easy turning back once done. If you don't have a vaild, never been used product key you need to clean recover your computer somehow…(clean install to windows 7 home)
Step 1: Backup – recommended but not a must
backup anything and everything that is important.
step 2:
start Registry Editor (RegEdit).
go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
change the following (write down anything you change, what it was and what it is now)
EditionID to "Professional"
ProductName to "Windows 7 Professional"

Step 3: put in the windows 7 Professional DVD
run setup.exe from DVD
wait….
Choose the option upgrade…
Press agree and next and you will see it upgrading
Step 4
after all them restarts change your product key to activate it…if it fails then it has already been used or you incorrectly entered it.

Done. windows 7 Professional installed.
james137 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 09:01 AM
Windows Expplorer /Dr Watson debugger crashes + BSOD
Hi A while ago I had a virus/malware problem which was then resolved. The problem caused by Windows explorer to crash and gave me a BSOD when I tried to log in https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/bsod-after-removing-virus-544372.html Then just a couple of hours ago I had google...
catdog7 Resolved HJT Threads 68 05-13-2011 10:04 AM
url redirects plus some other spurious behavior
Was unable to complete an Amazon transaction yesterday -- checkout pages wouldn't load without repeated attempts. Then found that search engine results were being redirected. Tried System Restore to several different known-clean restore points -- all failed. Have also noticed these intermittent...
tooleyweeds Resolved HJT Threads 14 04-13-2011 12:42 PM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 08:36 AM
Random popups and site redirecting virus
Hello, I'm new to the forum and my problem is that I'm being redirected to unwanted sites like Tazinga or Binkx. I'm running Windows XP and my laptop is about 7 years old. Any help would be great! Here are the Hijack specc UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED,...
Hexamus Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 01-11-2011 08:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts