Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Widnows Update Fails

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Widnows Update Fails within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I bought a new laptop recently and I have windows vista home premium on it. First time vista user so


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2009, 07:07 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
OS:



I bought a new laptop recently and I have windows vista home premium on it. First time vista user so I'm not fully familiar yet. I haven't done much yet except remove some bloatware and installed a couple programs. But my windows update keep failing now, it installed some updates sucessfully but now I got 8 more left and everytime I run it it says they were installed sucessfully and then i have to restart. When I restart it opens windows and says configuring before I get to the login screen and it sits at 0% for a long time then says it wasn't configured correctly and reverts changes. When I look in the update history it says the error code is 800719E4 for all of the failed updates. What is happening why won't they succeed? Anyone know how to fix this?

BTW I have tried installing the oldest update alone and it still failed. Also I disabled norton internet security that came free with the comp and it still failed (I kinda regret ever installing that but thats neither here nor there).
Knives412 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2009, 07:39 PM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,339
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Welcome.

0x800719e4 = 6628 ERROR_LOG_FULL

Many logs in Windows; not sure which one

Check the cbs log \windows\logs\cbs\cbs.log - what is its size?
Check Windows Update log - \windows\windowsupdate.log - size?

What is Hard drive size?
What is space remaining?
Check space w/ Disk management -
START | type diskmgmt.msc

RE: NIS - let's get rid of it - certainly not helping here.
Download the Norton Removal Tool; save to desktop. Then go to desktop, RIGHT-click on the NRT icon and select Run as Administrator. When complete - re-boot.

NRT - ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/englis...moval_Tool.exe

Reset the Windows Firewall to its default settings -
START | type FirewallSettings.exe into the start search box | click on FirewallSettings.exe above | select the Advanced Tab | click on "Restore Defaults" | Click Apply, OK

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-12-2009, 08:23 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
OS:



Alright I got it to work, I removed NIS and then tried to install the oldest update by itself and it succeeded now I'm going through each update by date and they seem to be working, halfway done now. Thanks for the help.
Knives412 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2009, 02:51 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 103
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Knives412 View Post
I bought a new laptop recently and I have windows vista home premium on it. First time vista user so I'm not fully familiar yet. I haven't done much yet except remove some bloatware and installed a couple programs. But my windows update keep failing now, it installed some updates sucessfully but now I got 8 more left and everytime I run it it says they were installed sucessfully and then i have to restart. When I restart it opens windows and says configuring before I get to the login screen and it sits at 0% for a long time then says it wasn't configured correctly and reverts changes. When I look in the update history it says the error code is 800719E4 for all of the failed updates. What is happening why won't they succeed? Anyone know how to fix this?

BTW I have tried installing the oldest update alone and it still failed. Also I disabled norton internet security that came free with the comp and it still failed (I kinda regret ever installing that but thats neither here nor there).

Solution: 1. Stop the Automatic Updates service:

Start > Run > (type in) services.msc > [OK]
Double-click Automatic Updates > Click on Stop
(Stopping the service will take a moment)


2. Delete the contents of the Download folder:


Start > Run > (type in) %windir%\SoftwareDistribution > [OK]
Open the Download folder and delete its contents
Close the window.


3. Start the Automatic Updates service:

Start > Run > (type in) services.msc > [OK]
Double-click Automatic Updates > Click on Start
(Starting the service will take a moment)


4: Restart the computer.
samanderson is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:32 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Knives412 View Post
I bought a new laptop recently and I have windows vista home premium on it. First time vista user so I'm not fully familiar yet. I haven't done much yet except remove some bloatware and installed a couple programs. But my windows update keep failing now, it installed some updates sucessfully but now I got 8 more left and everytime I run it it says they were installed sucessfully and then i have to restart. When I restart it opens windows and says configuring before I get to the login screen and it sits at 0% for a long time then says it wasn't configured correctly and reverts changes. When I look in the update history it says the error code is 800719E4 for all of the failed updates. What is happening why won't they succeed? Anyone know how to fix this?

BTW I have tried installing the oldest update alone and it still failed. Also I disabled norton internet security that came free with the comp and it still failed (I kinda regret ever installing that but thats neither here nor there).
Hi Knives412, I'm Louis and I work with Symantec. Sorry to hear that you were having issues getting Windows updates. Based on some of the information in the thread above, the problem may not have been caused by Norton Internet Security and could have been caused by your Windows firewall settings. Could I get you to give Norton Internet Security 2009 another try? It's won numerous Editor's Choice Awards for being light and fast.
Louis_AREdelman is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:49 PM   #6
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,339
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis_AREdelman View Post
Hi Knives412, I'm Louis and I work with Symantec. Sorry to hear that you were having issues getting Windows updates. Based on some of the information in the thread above, the problem may not have been caused by Norton Internet Security and could have been caused by your Windows firewall settings. Could I get you to give Norton Internet Security 2009 another try? It's won numerous Editor's Choice Awards for being light and fast.

Hi -

Working with Symantec you should know that NIS knocks out both the Windows Firewall and Windows Defender.

Why not offer Symantec Endpoint to those w/ NIS? I am testing Endpoint and have had relatively few problems by it under Vista SP1 & Windows 7. Certainly no where near the problems caused by NIS 2009 or Norton 360.

I do not advise a re-install of NIS 2009 under any circumstances.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 04:39 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 243
OS:



Louis_AREdelman, There aren't a whole lot of settings in Win Firewall short of turning it off. Norton (Symantec) had a highly respected name for a long time and needs to adjust their product for the times. Vista's been out for to long now to have not seen a change in your application. Win7 is here. But on the other hand I imagine computer repair shops would lose a lot of revenue if you corrected it. Statistics do not lie. You seriously didn't think Microsoft would create a new operating system compatible to NIS & Norton 360. You guys need to bring your engineers back from layoffs.
Zappaboss is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 07:55 AM   #8
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,339
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



I have no issues with Symantec anti-virus itself... so why not offer a 1-on-1 trade-up and give Knives412 a 1 year "trial" of Symantec anti-virus?

I think that would be a fair trade.

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts