Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Selected programs cant connect to the internet

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Selected programs cant connect to the internet within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, My internet connections all messed up. IE works fine, so does MSN and uTorrent, but I tried Firefox


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2008, 09:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



Hi guys,

My internet connections all messed up. IE works fine, so does MSN and uTorrent, but I tried Firefox but that couldnt establish a connection. The new version of uTorrent doesnt connect. Yahoo Messenger cant connect to the internet either. Neither can Winamp. Basically any new programs that I install cannot connect to the internet (Pokerstars,iTunes etc)

I thought it may be a problem with my modem/router (Linksys WAG200G) but my aunt came around the other day with her laptop and Yahoo Messenger connected just fine.

I read on a similar thread that uninstallin Norton will fix the problem, but I dont even have Norton on my laptop.

Can you guys tell me what the problem is? Its been annoying me for a while now.
moppy89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2008, 10:03 AM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

Welcome.

Are you updated with Vista SP1?

What anit-virus 3rd party firewalls are you running?

Boot into SAFEMODE w/Networking and try Internet connection there.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:24 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
Hi. . .

Welcome.

Are you updated with Vista SP1?

What anit-virus 3rd party firewalls are you running?

Boot into SAFEMODE w/Networking and try Internet connection there.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
Thanks for your reply.

Im not very computer literate so I dont actually know what service pack Im running and neither do I know how to boot into SAFEMODE w/Networking.

But I do know that Im not running any 3rd party firewalls (which probably isnt a good move). Ive tried turning Windows Firewall off but that doesnt help.
moppy89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2008, 10:33 AM   #4
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

Not a problem at all. We all have various levels of computer experience and understanding - just like any industry or occupation.

Let's check on the Service Pack 1st -
START | RUN | type cmd and hit enter. Then type ver into the black cmd prompt ("DOS") screen that appears - what is the information that shows?



JC

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]

Thanks again
moppy89 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



So should I update?
moppy89 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 03:18 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



Update: Installed SP1 but that made IE stop connecting to the internet as well, MSN and uTorrent still worked fine, but IE stopped.

So System Restored back to before SP1
moppy89 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 08:54 PM   #8
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

The update to Vista SP1 is an absolute necessity at this time.

Let's do some things first to hopefully provide a smoother transition to SP1.

Please click on the SysInternals Live AutoRuns link in my sig area, SAVE to desktop. Go to desktop, right-click on the icon and run as administrator. Let it gather info from registry for a minute or so, then save the file in the default ARN format - you will see the option when you go to save it., Zip it up and attach to your next post.

In the interim, please run the Vista System File Checker/repair utility. . .
START | type cmd.exe into the start search box | right-click on cmd.exe | select run as Administrator | the black command prompt ("DOS" ) screen will appear | type the following:

Code:


sfc /scannow

Let it run - there is no min/max time - may be 10 min, it may be an hour or two


Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 07:13 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



There we go. Running the sfc as we speak.

Also, this might be something to do with it, when I install this Windows Update, IE stops connecting to the internet, but MSN and uTorrent still works.

Quote:
Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 in Windows Vista (KB953838)

Download size: 7.6 MB

https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=122772

Edit: SFC came up with this.



Now that log is 43MB, so I cant upload it here...Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: zip AutoRuns.zip (186.8 KB, 15 views)
moppy89 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 02:49 PM   #10
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

SFC actually looks fine... the files it mentions not repairing s/b repaired upon re-boot.

I am downloading and looking at AutoRuns now.

JC

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 03:20 PM   #11
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

AutoRuns revealed Norton (Symantec) is lingering in your system and drivers for it are being loaded. Norton needs to vacate your system

Please click on the Norton removal tool link below in my sig area (Norton RT), download to your desktop, then go to desktop, right-click on the Norton RT icon and select Run as Administrator.

Let it run, then re-boot after completion. Then reset the Windows Firewall via the following:
START | type FirewallSettings.exe into the start search box | click on FirewallSettings.exe above | select the Advanced Tab | click on "Restore Defaults" | Click Apply (if hilighted) | Click OK

Regards. . .

JC

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 03:45 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



Thank you so very much for your help.

Running Norton RT worked. Mozilla Firefox is now connecting to the internet as is Winamp and Im sure Yahoo Messenger will too if I install it again.

Thanks a lot. If you have some kind of rep system on this site, I will be glad to rep you.
moppy89 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 04:02 PM   #13
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Great news!

You are very welcome. I am glad to hear that my suggestions worked for you.

Best regards to you. . .

JC

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts