Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Internet Explorer and Google Chrome Error - Ultrasurf

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Internet Explorer and Google Chrome Error - Ultrasurf within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i am using win7 home premium, recently a problem occurred with my windows internet explorer and google chrome, it cannot


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2011, 08:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



i am using win7 home premium, recently a problem occurred with my windows internet explorer and google chrome, it cannot display the webpage, then i use windows network diagnostic and its stated that the problem is because of as the statement below:

The device or resource (web proxy) is not set up to accept connections on port "9666".

although i have uninstall the google chrome an re-install it, it still cant be use. mozilla firefox works fine. now i still cannot find the problem and i hope that this Tech Support Forum can find the solution.
faizelias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2011, 09:58 AM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 656
OS: Window 10 Pro, 64-bit.

My System


Hi faizelias. Welcome to TSF!

Are you using any kind of Firewall software or Ultrasurf?

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:50 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Sounds like something, probably a virus, has set your Internet Options>Connections>LAN Settings to use a proxy. I would suggest that you read the instructions in the New Instructions and post in this forum: Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help - Tech Support Forum
Daifne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2011, 06:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



yes i had use ultrasurf before..after that i got problems to use ie..i thought that if i delete/remove the software i recently use(that is ultrasurf) it will work like before but ie n google chrome still didnt work

FYI, recently, using windows update, i downloaded the ie9,
well it still not working
faizelias is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 08:14 AM   #5
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 656
OS: Window 10 Pro, 64-bit.

My System


I think Ultrasurf may be your problem. Even though you uninstalled it, something might be lingering in your registry. That message is given as a result of Ultrasurf. Ultrasurf uses that port to connect. The reason FireFox works is because Ultrasurf doesn't affect it unless you have the add-on for FireFox.

Here is a snippet from the manufacturer's website:

Quote:
Some companies block port 9666, which is used by Ultrasurf, how do I bypass it?
ANSWER: 9666 is local port. We will add an option to let users set the port.
I'm not sure how recent that post is though. You can read other information about it HERE at the company website. They don't seem to have an uninstaller utility from what I can see.

You could try somethink like Revo Uninstaller and see if that will help to remove any traces of Ultrasurf.

What you could also check is your Internet Explorer settings. Go to Control Panel>Internet Options>Connections>LAN Settings and deselect everything except the top box, which says "automatically detect settings."

After that, go to Control Panel>Network and Sharing Center and click on the link on the left side of that window that says "Change Adapter Settings". In there you'll see a Local Area Connection. Right-click on it and then click once on the Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) (don't deselect it), and then click on "Properties." Just check there to make sure you have "Obtain an IP address automatically" and "Obtain DNS server address automatically" selected.

Close all of those windows and restart IE and see if that helps. If not, I suggest you contact the support people at ULTRASURF and explain your problem. They should be able to get your IE working since it appears that their software jacked it up.

I hope that helps.

Good day!

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 09:39 AM   #6
Visiting BSOD Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
cluberti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 781
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Note that if you had ultrasurf installed and configured it as the proxy, removing it isn't guaranteed to remove the proxy settings from IE (and thus Chrome - Chrome on Windows re-uses wininet.dll from IE for network connectivity, meaning proxy issues in IE will affect Chrome as well - Firefox does not use wininet and is a winsock app, so IE settings won't affect Firefox, just fyi).

Given the error, this is what it sounds like is happening. You can go into Tools > Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN Settings button in IE to configure (or remove) proxy settings that may have been left behind.
__________________
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003
cluberti is offline  
Old 05-09-2011, 02:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



Michael_Larsen: i have installed the Revo Uninstaller but there is still no signed of ultrasurf 'leftovers', and i tried your order:

RE: Go to Control Panel>Internet Options>Connections>LAN Settings and deselect everything except the top box, which says "automatically detect settings."

After that, go to Control Panel>Network and Sharing Center and click on the link on the left side of that window that says "Change Adapter Settings". In there you'll see a Local Area Connection. Right-click on it and then click once on the Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) (don't deselect it), and then click on "Properties." Just check there to make sure you have "Obtain an IP address automatically" and "Obtain DNS server address automatically" selected.

and still not working though. i also had sent an email today to [email protected] and hope they can find me a solution soon as your recommendation to contact them.

cluberti:

RE:
Given the error, this is what it sounds like is happening. You can go into Tools > Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN Settings button in IE to configure (or remove) proxy settings that may have been left behind.

im sorry i did not find at LAN Setting button in IE to configure (or remove) proxy settings that may have been left behind..it maybe because i did not understand what is the meaning..can u explain it based on the interface that showed in the LAN setting? cuz i did not find any of it that says button in IE . . .
faizelias is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 08:39 AM   #8
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 656
OS: Window 10 Pro, 64-bit.

My System


Hi faizelias,

To check for any proxy settings, go to Control Panel>Internet Options>Connections>LAN Settings. When the window for Lan Settings opens, look at the lower half of that window. You'll see something called "proxy server". Just make sure that is not selected.

Good day!

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 07:18 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



yes its not selected
faizelias is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 07:49 PM   #10
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



See if IE reset helps - How to reset Internet Explorer settings
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 05:17 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



nothing happened, i still encountered with the same problem

Quote:
The device or resource (web proxy) is not set up to accept connections on port "9666"
should i just format my drive?
faizelias is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 05:34 PM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


There seems to be a lot of internet feeling that this is malware, and it sure seems to be acting like it and there are all kinds of suggestions to run Malwarebytes and other programs for removal. It might be worthwhile to post in the Malware Forum and let the pros look at this posting a DDS log that that forum suggests you do in a sticky to obtain help.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 09:26 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
OS: win7



Michael_Larsen: thank you for your recommendation to contact Ultrasurf. This problem was solve.

Quote:
Ultrareach Support replied my email..
This is what they said: This problem is caused by exiting Ultrasuf abnormally. You can start Ultrasurf again and exit normally, this problem should be fixed.

Thanks for using Ultrasurf and for your feedback.
So i installed ultrasurf back and run it and the internet explorer and google chrome start to work again.

Thanks to you guys i can use ie and g/chrome now.
faizelias is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 09:39 PM   #14
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Installing the program to make it work doesn't sound liuke a good solution to me, I thought the objective was to remove the program?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 07:47 AM   #15
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 656
OS: Window 10 Pro, 64-bit.

My System


I'm glad to hear things worked out for you, faizelias!! If we can be of any further service, don't hesitate to stop by!

Good day!

Mike
__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 02:20 PM
Problems with homepage overide
Hello there. I sent a previous thread entitle "Problem with homepage setting- conduit has taken over..." and a hijack this log report. The moderator who replied kindly told me that hijack this is no longer the preferred initial analysis tool in this forum and directed me to the new instruction. ...
Faith Resolved HJT Threads 16 05-11-2011 05:02 AM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM
Virus and Malware Removal
When opening programs or searching the internet, every activity always causes my memory usage to peak to 100%. It wouldn't bother me if it didn't slow things down. My computer used to perform better. I have a pentium 4, 1.8 ghz with 1gig of ram. Google maps is a particular problem, it uses so much...
NWAngler Resolved HJT Threads 9 03-14-2011 07:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts