Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] cant install services pack2-unspecified error

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] cant install services pack2-unspecified error within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i reinstalled vista and all the drivers. i tried to open up control panel, windows update, Microsoft games, networking and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2010, 03:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


i reinstalled vista and all the drivers. i tried to open up control panel, windows update, Microsoft games, networking and sharing center, ETC. and they wont open. after searching this online i found out that i had to install SP2 but as i said above i cant start windows update. so i had to do it manually. every time i start it it gives me an unspecified error. then it closes. what am i supposed to do??? BTW i have dell inspiron 1721. post if you need more info.
that70sdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2010, 04:01 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



If you just reinstalled and are having those problems, I would suspect the hard drive.

ou can run diagnostics on the hard drive

https://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

See this for how to make a bootable cd
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 04:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


that sounds like a good idea but im not sure who made my hard drive. i ran this scanner for the specs on my computer and it showed that i have this: WDC WD1600BEVT-22ZCT0 [Hard drive] (160.04 GB). so im not really not sure who made that type of hard drive.
that70sdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2010, 04:31 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Nuclear_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 202
OS: Vista Home Premium 64 bit SP2

My System


WDC: Western Digital Caviar / WD: Western Digital
Nuclear_Bob is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


ok so i downloaded and ran the data lifegaurd thing. i choose the extended test and after an hour it says that the hard drive passed. so it must be something else??
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 06:20 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Probably worth testing your memory . . click on the link to Memtest in my signature . . let it run on one stick at a time overnite or until it starts reporting errors

How to burn an ISO file: https://www.techsupportforum.com/f149...le-341778.html
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:07 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


I did the memory test and came up with no errors. i doubt this is a hardware problem. to be honest i just want to start all the windows default programs like ones i listed in the first post. if there is another way than installing this service pack, I will do it. but anyway i started the SP2 file again to no avail.
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 09:18 PM   #8
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Please run msinfo32 and save as NFO file (default file extension) -
START | type msinfo32

I'd like to take quick look at some items.

Zip up the NFO file and attach to next post.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 11:50 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


alright here you go. oh btw i started programs and features and then clicked the control panel in the adders bar and it says " this file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action". i dont know if that helps but it should give you at least a clue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip System Info.zip (53.1 KB, 16 views)
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 02:56 AM   #10
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Microsoft had a hotfix for this, but was rolled up into Vista SP1 -

https://support.microsoft.com/kb/936686

It is not common to find a version number on a SP -
Code:

Version	6.0.6001 Service Pack 1, v.165 Build 6001
Validate your Vista OS --> www.microsoft.com/genuine

If all OK at WGA site, wipe the HDD with KillDisk, then use your Vista DVD to reinstall Vista again.

KillDisk --> https://jcgriff2.com/killdisk_imgburn.html

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 12:32 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


ok so i got vaildated. i wiped my hard drive before because of this problem and reinstalled vista but didn't help. anyway about the hotfix, I'm on the that page(https://support.microsoft.com/kb/929637/)right now and i dont see any download link for the hotfix.
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 02:44 PM   #12
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



The hotfix noted in Microsoft kb 929627 was rolled up into Vista SP1.

Are you installing a full retail version of Vista or OEM version (came pre-installed on system)?

Does the version of Vista you are installing include SP1?

Are all Windows Updates in (besides SP2)?

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 03:45 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


well at first i was using OEM but then i installed the ultimate edtion

yes it does because when i tryed to install SP1, it said that i already have it.

im not sure, i installed some updates but i dont think ALL of them.
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 01:14 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
OS: vista sp2

My System


Nevermind on this whole thread. i upgraded to windows 7 and that solved my problem. so thanks to all the people who helped me, i appreciated it.
that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 01:36 PM   #15
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Glad to hear of Windows 7.

Be sure all Windows Updates in for Windows 7 - a few dozen of them now.

www.update.microsoft.com

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts