Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Cannot get internet connection working property with new computer!

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Cannot get internet connection working property with new computer! within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I purchased a new desktop computer installed with Vista Home Premium from Dell recently and it has some kind of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2009, 02:36 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



I purchased a new desktop computer installed with Vista Home Premium from Dell recently and it has some kind of internet connectivity problem out of the box. I have been in contact with Dell's "support" going on 3 weeks with no solutions. Today they wanted to charge $50.00 dollars to help me do a PC restore (which has already been done).

Okay the problem is that when I attempt to access websites the connectivity is very limited. Usually resulting in a time-out error or extremely slow connection time. In addition to working with Dell, I have contacted my ISP (Insight Broadband). They insured me that IP address and internet connection is fine. Their is no router, computer plugs directly into modem.

Internet connectivity is fine in safe mode. Dell technician had hard drive replaced which did not correct problem. After hard drive was replaced, Internet connection seem to be working good for short time until Windows auto updates were installed. When computer was restarted the internet connection problem returned. Attempted to restore computer to point prior to update installation, but when I restored computer to oldest restore point the connection problem persisted.

Myself and the Dell techs have attempted to disabling firewalls, unistalling Macifee Antivirus that came with system, ect. to no avail.

I'm trying unsuccessfully to convince Dell to provide skilled technician to look at computer but they haven't returned my messages.

If anyone has some suggestions or has seen similar problem please reply. Or if you have advise on dealing with Dell support please respond, it will be much appreciated.
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2009, 02:47 PM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,336
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

If Internet fine in safemode then most likely cause is anti-virus/3rd party firewall. But Dell took care of that. .. Do you have same problems with IE7 & FireFox?

Please follow THESE instructions. Post the resulting zip file(s) to your next post.

I would prefer you to run that batch file in normal Vista rather than safemode. You can download the 2 files in safemode, download, then re-boot into normal Vista and run it there.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:08 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



I not sure the program ran correctly. Your instructions said 5-8 mins runtime, it took maybe 3 minutes max. I posted results anyhow. Thanks

Also connections problems are present regardless of browser. Tried IE 7, Firefox, Google Earth.
Attached Files
File Type: zip TSF_Vista_Support.zip (513.4 KB, 55 views)
File Type: zip perfmon report.zip (498 Bytes, 49 views)
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, if you use programs and features to remove McAfee then do a registry scan you will still find McAfee everywhere. The only way to be rid of this nuisance is to run this utility:-
https://download.mcafee.com/products/...tches/MCPR.exe

No doubt McAfee is the the problem also make sure under control panel internet options "connections" then "Lan settings" No boxes are checked.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:29 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Ran Macifee cleanup utility per jenae's post but problem still persists.

Also made sure that no boxes were checked in "Lan Settings" options.

Thanks for the suggestions, keep them coming!
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 02:12 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi now we have the rubbish taken out time to clean the house. The TCP\IP stack in Vista is most likely corrupt. Go to start all programs accessories and right click on "command prompt' select run as administrator at the prompt type:-
Code:
netsh int ip reset 
   Press enter
Now remove power from the modem and reboot computer allow computer to reboot then re power the modem.. Let us know how you got on.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 04:57 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi now we have the rubbish taken out time to clean the house. The TCP\IP stack in Vista is most likely corrupt. Go to start all programs accessories and right click on "command prompt' select run as administrator at the prompt type:-
Code:
netsh int ip reset 
   Press enter
Now remove power from the modem and reboot computer allow computer to reboot then re power the modem.. Let us know how you got on.

Followed your instructions to the T no improvement.

When a website doesn't get time out error it will open the site but fail to load completely. For example if you were to visit youtube.com and click on a video to watch, I will get either a time out error or the video will open but the red status bar will only load appx 10%. Once the video exceed that amount the video will freeze or go black. Sometime the video will begin loading again but it sometimes takes several minutes. When in safemode, youtube videos can be loaded without problem and the red status bar will load normally. I even opened up about 5-6 video at same time to see if I could get a video to freeze like it does in normal mode but it didn't work.

This explanation is given in an attempt to help you visualize what is happening. Please keep the suggestions coming! Thanks for your help!
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 08:58 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, at this stage we need to see if "add on's" are the problem, click on start and in the search box type internet explorer the second from top will be IE without add ons run this let us know the outcome.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 04:02 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



I now have a good internet connection for the most part. When I went to try browser without add-ons Saturday morning the connection worked fine and continued to work all day!

The connection stopped working when I attempted to use internet for the first time today and I could only get it working again by doing a system restore. Don't know why it quit working as I made no changes that I can think of after last restart on Sat. If the problem continues to persist I will let you know.

Thanks for your help!
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 06:56 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, go to control panel programs and features (classic view) and locate Java . Uninstall all versions of Java that you find there. Now reboot. Open IE and download the latest Java. See how you go.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 03:59 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



I unistalled Java (there was version 6.7 and 6.11 installed) and reinstalled. Evertime I restart computer the internet connection quits working. The only solution is to do a system restore. Once restored I can access internet. Are the updates windows installs during restarts causing problem?

Also get a message periodically that say something like: Catalyst Control Center: Host Application has stopped working. Don't know if this is related.
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 06:01 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



hi i wonder if this may be of help https://www.online-tech-tips.com/comp...opped-working/ please post the info you find in the error logs as iam sure both jcgriff and jenae will be inerested in them and it may help them help you
joeten is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:53 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Thanks for the link! Checked the event log like those instructions suggested and it shows 1669 events, so for a functioning computer illerate such as myself the smart thing to do is to just wait for jenae and or jcgriff!
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:36 PM   #14
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,336
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hi -

I see from going through your system logs that you have had problems since the day you got this computer - January 12, 2008. Just 9 minutes into your initial boot of the new system -
Code:
Event[4854]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Microsoft-Windows-Dhcp-Client
  Date: 2009-01-12T13:44:01.000
  Event ID: 1002
  Description: 
The IP address lease 192.168.100.10 for the Network Card with network
 address 00219B0FA358 has been denied by the DHCP server 74.128.18.99
 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).
That was followed by Vista installing
Code:
Event[4850]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Microsoft-Windows-User-PnP
  Date: 2009-01-12T13:44:08.974
  Event ID: 20003
  Description: 
Driver Management has concluded the process to add Service tunnel for 
Device Instance ID ROOT\*6TO4MP\0000 with the following status: 0.
Then a host of entries by Net Diagnostics Framework:
Code:
Event[2263]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Networking
  Date: 2009-01-12T14:11:45.649
  Event ID: 4000
  Description: 
The Network Diagnostics Framework has completed the diagnosis phase of 
operation. The following repair option was offered:. 

Repair option: A problem with your network router or broadband modem 
might be preventing an Internet connection

If you are connected to a home network, turn off the modem and unplug
 the power cord. Wait at least 10 seconds, and then plug the power cord
 back in and turn on the modem. Make sure the modem is plugged into the
 cable or phone jack on the wall, and then try to connect to the network.

If you are connected to a workplace or school network, contact your 
network administrator.
 
RepairGuid: {9513CC1C-4A26-4CB8-BF89-0A82129BD105} 
Seconds required for repair: 63 

Event[2260]:
The Network Diagnostics Framework has completed the diagnosis phase of operation. The following repair option was offered:. 
Repair option: Reset the network adapter "Local Area Connection"
Resetting the adapter can sometimes resolve an intermittent problem. 

Event[2261]:
The Network Diagnostics Framework has completed the diagnosis phase of operation. The following repair option was offered:. 
Repair option: Reset the network adapter "Local Area Connection"
Resetting the adapter can sometimes resolve an intermittent problem. 

Event[2262]:
The Network Diagnostics Framework has completed the diagnosis phase of
 operation. The following repair option was offered:. 
Repair option: Automatically get new IP settings for the network
 adapter "Local Area Connection"
.

This interesting log entry appears within 2 hours of the initial boot-up - no signs in the logs of any one else logged on to your system nor did I find signs of any software installation of a suspect nature:
Code:
Event[1908]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Application Popup
  Date: 2009-01-12 T 15:37:20.000
  Event ID: 26
  Description: 
Application popup: Windows : Other people are logged on to 
this computer. Restarting Windows might cause them to lose data.

Do you want to continue restarting?
This was followed by the system re-booting 6 seconds later.


I think the problem may be with the initial IP configuration settings which appear to carry on to this day. I am not an expert in Networking so I will post your ipconfig report here and request that you run another so that we may see if these #'s are still the same and by then figure out what to change.

To run another ipconfig, please do this -
Bring up an elevated admin cmd/DOS prompt -
START | type cmd.exe into the start search box | right click on cmd.exe | select run as administrator | past the following in (right-click at top of DOS screen, select Edit, select Paste) -
Code:
ipconfig /allcompartments /all > %temp%\1.txt & start notepad %temp%\1.txt
Paste the results into your next post.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.



Code:
Windows IP Configuration
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Michael-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : 
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-0F-A3-58
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c121:84d7:866b:fe9c%11(Preferred) 
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 74.138.104.97(Preferred) 
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 22, 2009 5:24:55 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 27, 2009 5:24:55 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 74.138.96.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.18.99
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.17.114
                                       74.128.19.102
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{58D03DB7-2F17-4EA9-90EB-D15BCA2CE246}
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8a:6861::4a8a:6861(Preferred) 
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.17.114
                                       74.128.19.102
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 06:43 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Yes the computer was delivered on December 31. The problem was present starting at initial bootup. After wasting about 12 hour of my life on telephone with Dell's terrible customer service over the next week or so they decided to have the hard drive replaced. The January 12 date you referenced was initial boot with new hard drive that did not solve problem.


Here is the text from the ipconfig you requested, thanks for the help:

Code:
Windows IP Configuration


==============================================================================
Network Information for Compartment 1 (ACTIVE)
==============================================================================
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Michael-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : 
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-0F-A3-58
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c121:84d7:866b:fe9c%11(Preferred) 
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 74.138.104.97(Preferred) 
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 30, 2009 8:29:20 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 8:29:20 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 74.138.96.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.18.99
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.17.114
                                       74.128.19.102
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{58D03DB7-2F17-4EA9-90EB-D15BCA2CE246}
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:829:15c5:b575:979e(Preferred) 
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::829:15c5:b575:979e%10(Preferred) 
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4a8a:6861::4a8a:6861(Preferred) 
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.128.17.114
                                       74.128.19.102
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 08:59 PM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, reboot computer with no network connected (unplug it) go to start search and type devmgmt.msc double click the search result this will open device manager navigate to Network adapters right click select uninstall press enter reboot and let windows reinstall the drivers. See if this makes a difference I am leaning towards a failing NIC .
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:45 PM   #17
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Just posting a quick update for everyone who has helped me. My internet connection seems to be working fine now even after restarts. Haven't had to restore computer to previous restore point the last 3 weeks if I remember correctly. Thanks for the assistance and hopefully this post doesn't jinx me!
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:32 AM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



I have had the same problem with my laptopXPS. It worked out of the box in Dec 08, but sometime recently started dropping internet. I read all of replies. Exactly what advice did you follow to finally solve the problem. I suspected an update was the problem??
Venice is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:47 AM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
OS:



Had internet problem whn i installd kaspersky for the first time....
technotask is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:37 PM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Venice View Post
I have had the same problem with my laptopXPS. It worked out of the box in Dec 08, but sometime recently started dropping internet. I read all of replies. Exactly what advice did you follow to finally solve the problem. I suspected an update was the problem??

I believe what finally got the connection corrected was the "netsh int ip reset", see the sixth reply in this thread for details.
mgmgmg75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts