Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Activating Windows

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Activating Windows within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I had to get a new mobo / cpu due to my board finally failing on me. I used

Closed Thread

Old 04-30-2010, 04:24 PM   #1
Registered Member

So I had to get a new mobo / cpu due to my board finally failing on me. I used a windows 7 upgrade (30 bucks since I'm a student promo thing), but now after doing a clean install of 7 on a new HDD because I didn't want to format my old drive, I can't activate windows because I did a clean install versus upgrading it.

Is there a solution to getting it to activate?

Thanks for the help in advanced.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2010, 04:27 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

https://www.kodyaz.com/articles/how-t...windows-7.aspx
Old 04-30-2010, 04:28 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast

you cannot legally use an upgrade without the os that justifies the use of the upgrade installed.
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2010, 04:31 PM   #4
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by usasma View Post
Thanks for the reply, but I've tried doing that already it gives me an error message saying:

The Software Licensing Service determined that this specified product key can only be used for upgrading, not for clean installations.

I'm on a laptop at the moment, so I can't get a screenshot of it now. I'll try and get one up asap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
you cannot legally use an upgrade without the os that justifies the use of the upgrade installed.