Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Security Alert Your current security settings do not allow this file to be downloaded

This is a discussion on Security Alert Your current security settings do not allow this file to be downloaded within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, so I recently re-installed windows (Windows 7 Home Prem. 64 bit, SP 1), had no issues with it before,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2012, 12:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, SP 1




Ok, so I recently re-installed windows (Windows 7 Home Prem. 64 bit, SP 1), had no issues with it before, Had this PC for year and a half, and today suddenly it gives me the above error when i try to download a file (Even windows updates) off of IE, It's also worth noting pictures do not show up either.


I have found a temporarly looparound by moving a Firefox copy onto this PC from my Labtop via flash drive, but its far from a fix. Still can't download anything, but I can see images and watch some youtube videos.

But theres another error as well when i try to download off of firefox:

I have tried changing my Internet Security settings, but they don't solve anything and they actually reset themselves back to the defualt (Your current security settings do not allow this file to be downloaded) after about 5-10 minuites.

Pretty confident it's a windows issue and not a Networking issue as everyone else can connect fine, and iits also causing issues like "File is corrupt" whenever trying to open files, and is breaking both Firefox and IE, But if mods think this thread is more appropiate somewhere else, Be my guest to move it where it would get awnsered better.

Tried so far:
Reinstalling windows (Yes i moved my games/files to flash drive(s) and formatted my disk when installing)

Changing Internet Security Settings





Thanks in advance.
Ethanp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2012, 02:59 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, welcome to the forums you say changed internet security settings go to start, search and (copy paste) inetcpl.cpl ,,2 Open custom and make sure a check in "enable" is set for "Downloads". If you have already done this (it is this way by default) what Anti Virus do you use, and firewall.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, SP 1



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, welcome to the forums you say changed internet security settings go to start, search and (copy paste) inetcpl.cpl ,,2 Open custom and make sure a check in "enable" is set for "Downloads". If you have already done this (it is this way by default) what Anti Virus do you use, and firewall.

Hi.

I did as you said, and i set it down to Meduim under default.

BUT, for some reason when i opened IE back up, and opened inetcpl.cpl, it opens back to what it was before (Yes i apply'd and saved it), It sets itself back to what it was before.

And i usually use AVG, but i havn't been able to download it yet due to this error.

I also scanned it with Defender Offline, no viruses.

any help?
Ethanp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2012, 01:36 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
MonkeyPirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MonkeyWorld
Posts: 210
OS: Win7/Win8



You could try to set IE to default settings: How to Restore Internet Explorer Default Settings | eHow.com

See if after this you can download again.
MonkeyPirate is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, SP 1



Tried this,also updated to IE 9 via windows update.

No luck.
Ethanp is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:39 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, well something is altering your settings, you say you you made a fresh install , then I assume you bought your backup files and folders back?

Possible that a virus is in your files the registry controls the security settings it is quite complicated and almost impossible to check remotely (too many entries) although the "TemplatePolicies" control, High, medium etc... there are two main areas one per user:-

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings

The other system wide:-

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings

I think you would be better served if you had your system checked for nasties, Post here:-

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...lp-305963.html
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 05:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, SP 1



Quote:
Originally Posted by jenae View Post
Hi, well something is altering your settings, you say you you made a fresh install , then I assume you bought your backup files and folders back?

Possible that a virus is in your files the registry controls the security settings it is quite complicated and almost impossible to check remotely (too many entries) although the "TemplatePolicies" control, High, medium etc... there are two main areas one per user:-

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings

The other system wide:-

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings

I think you would be better served if you had your system checked for nasties, Post here:-

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...lp-305963.html
I had defender offline check earlier, no nasties.
Ethanp is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 06:16 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,707
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, you need to have your system properly checked the tools used by our security experts are much more sophisticated and would likely find what defender missed, I strongly recommend you post there.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:08 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7, SP 1



Arlight,if you can move this to the malware section please.


using there scanner they posted now.
Ethanp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...my problem with IE7 may well be part of a bigger problem. However at the moment every time I try to connect with microsoft.com or other M/soft sites I get the message "Internet Explorer cannot display the web page". The same applies with any site resembling anti virus s/ware or other...
raringer Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 6 05-21-2012 11:27 AM
Suspected Malware In Neighbors Computer
I originally went to fix his printer but I think that is being affected by malware. The things I think are fishy is whitesmoke toolbar and something called yontoo. I ran his antivirus and cleaned up what it found. Windows install CD is a no for now, I have asked him if he has it and but he is...
kmssd Resolved HJT Threads 20 01-03-2012 07:44 PM
Redirect Virus
Hi, Since about a month I've noticed that whenever I run google search after clicking at link in results page I'm being redirected to some random pages. I've ignored it at first as I thought It's harmless, however after making some research I notice it's a serious problem and after failing...
Asator616 Resolved HJT Threads 17 11-17-2011 04:21 PM
Slow browsing
I've had somewhat slow browsing as of late. Here are my logs: . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_22 Run by marvin glick at 2:44:06 on 2011-11-02 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.1982.1173 . AV:...
sailor86 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-02-2011 12:53 AM
Can't access any google sites
I have WindowsXP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 3 IntelR Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz 3.19GHz, 0.99GB of RAM and can not access any google sites. I have a wireless router & modem and all other computers can access google (not networked). One other was networked previously and could access google,...
CarolBT Resolved HJT Threads 43 08-14-2011 09:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts