User Tag List

RAM problems?

This is a discussion on RAM problems? within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i've had a few different issues lately and am wondering if it's all tied to an issue with my RAM.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2012, 10:31 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 548
OS: windows7



i've had a few different issues lately and am wondering if it's all tied to an issue with my RAM.
i'm running vista sp2
core 2 quad cpu 2.33 ghz
8gb RAM
64bit OS

the issues i've had lately:
computer turns off after being idle for a while. very random, but i think that it happens only if i have things running like chrome, for example.
when using utorrent sometimes it will take a while to flush to disk. never had this happen in the past.
when using dvd shrink i get the error "out of memory. not enough storage is available to process this command" about 60% through the rip. if i pause the program i can get through the whole rip. looking at my performance, though, the program is eating up memory like crazy.

any ideas? any tools i can use to test my RAM?
__________________
partisans...defending their party to their own detriment.
aptpupil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2012, 11:46 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,294
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
out of memory. not enough storage is available to process this command
DVD Shrink uses a temp folder (C\Users\[username]\appdata\roaming\DVD Shrink) to store the ripped DVD until it is burned. It should delete these temp files, but it may be leaving them and you need to clear out the temp file.
Due to forum rules, we cannot assist you on UTorrent or any P2P software or Torrents.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-29-2012, 04:59 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 548
OS: windows7



ok.
i don't think it has anything to do with the temp files. the hard disk has plenty of space. i've monitored my resources while running the dvd shrink and for some reason it seems to send the information to the RAM and the hard drive can't keep up with the buffer size on the RAM so it runs out of memory. if, however, i pause the operation and allow the hard drive to catch up, then the problem is solved.
in putting it this way it seems like either the RAM isn't outputting the data fast enough or the hard drive isn't writing fast enough....
__________________
partisans...defending their party to their own detriment.
aptpupil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2012, 05:21 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,294
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
the hard drive isn't writing fast enough
All CD/DVD and ripping software use a Temp directory for a buffer. If the Temp file is too full it may cause this problem. If your Virtual Memory is not System Managed.
If you feel there is a problem with the RAM, download the ISO image for Memtest in my signature, burn the Image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. Turn off the computer and remove all but one stick of RAM, Boot off of the newly created CD and run the tests on each stick of RAM separately.
You can also post your question to the DVD Shrink Forum for better results if you don't believe me.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-31-2012, 05:09 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 548
OS: windows7



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
All CD/DVD and ripping software use a Temp directory for a buffer. If the Temp file is too full it may cause this problem. If your Virtual Memory is not System Managed.
If you feel there is a problem with the RAM, download the ISO image for Memtest in my signature, burn the Image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. Turn off the computer and remove all but one stick of RAM, Boot off of the newly created CD and run the tests on each stick of RAM separately.
You can also post your question to the DVD Shrink Forum for better results if you don't believe me.
thanks, i'll try that.
the temp folder you referenced doesn't exist on my hd.
__________________
partisans...defending their party to their own detriment.
aptpupil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange PC problems - No bios / maybe power issue?
Ok well i moved from Manchester to leeds - before that my pc was idle for 2 weeks and my mum moved it to put my room back to normal after my stay over summer. When i got home i set it all up - and pressed power - no bios showing on 2 monitors (at all) - the light stayed on orange (friends laptop...
Jamiekeese Windows XP Support 11 10-20-2011 09:33 AM
Strange PC problems - Seems to be RAM related.
Note: Info regarding why the ram seems to be the issue is towards the bottom (as it took me some time to find out this happened when i changed ram) Ok well i moved from Manchester to leeds - before that my pc was idle for 2 weeks and my mum moved it to put my room back to normal after my stay...
Jamiekeese RAM and Power Supply Support 12 10-19-2011 11:16 AM
No Additional RAM and other Problems after installation!
I had a perfectly working computer with 3GB of RAM . It can be upgraded to 8GB . However, after installing "compatible" (as per manufacturer website) additional memory, at first the system would not turn on. After trying different combinations now I get 2GB only even though I have 4 memory slots. ...
hpnet RAM and Power Supply Support 14 09-04-2011 01:40 PM
ASUS M2N-MX board and ram questions
sorry about the old board, but ive yet to get a new pc. anywho ive got a question mainly concerning a few sets of ram ive looked at. i need to know if both sets im going to link or any of them would work with my motherboard. i have xp, so i know it won't support the full 4 gigs of ram, but i...
mindfray Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 07-31-2011 08:21 AM
Help, Installed new RAM on MSI mother board
I had 1gb of RAM on the motherboard in one slot. I have two slots and installed another. Giving me 2 gb of RAM total. My motherboard specs say i should support 2 gb according to the manual. With 2 gb of RAM (1 old, 1 new), I plugged the computer back in and turned the power switch on. The...
spitfire04 RAM and Power Supply Support 17 04-16-2011 01:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts