Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Pixel Issues: Stubborn pixels on a black screen

This is a discussion on Pixel Issues: Stubborn pixels on a black screen within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey I have Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 and I am having the oddest issue ever with graphics. I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


Hey I have Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 and I am having the oddest issue ever with graphics.

I have determined on my own that is not my monitor, or graphics card, it is an issue with windows, because in print screens and any other screen shot, the problem still appears.

It happened I suppose coincidentally after i got a new 22" samsung LCD monitor 2253BW, running dual monitors with a compaq FS7600 CRT.

Samsung res: 1680x1050
Compaq res: 1280x1024

This happens on both monitors:
Sometimes, anywhere on a black portion of a screen, these single pink pixels pop up, in the middle. It is very odd. They are very annoying also. I have some screen shots attached of the problem. Can someone please help me with this? At first I thought it was a stuck pixel, but it happens on both monitors and in any given location. I have reinstalled graphics drivers for my GeForce 8600GT



Sorry nevermind I tried to save th screenshots as pictures and the pixel deformations were cut off.
So..

Also, i ran another monitor test, which allows me to show an all black screen or red or green or blue or white, etc. and it is not showing up at the moment. Most of the time it shows up after my computer has been on for a few days. I normally don't turn off my computer at night, it runs updates and backups and stuff at nigt. Next time I see it ill take another screenshot. In the meantime, does anyone have an idea of what is happening?
MusicMan374 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2009, 03:48 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7



Does it happen more often when the graphics card is under heavy load, or when it is hotter? I just had to have Dell come out and replace my laptop's graphics card because I would get similar dots all over my screen if I played a game for more than five minutes, causing the graphics card to get hot. But if I left the computer off overnight, the next morning there would be no dots until the computer got hot again.
abw1987 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


Yes it does happen mainly when it is hot.. Although I'm still confused as to why they are showing up on printscreens. It is strange. I've already had my graphics card replaced twice. If it happens again I'll call HP.
MusicMan374 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2009, 07:36 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,933
OS: win 10 Home



hi i think that is a very good idea get them to check out the card cables os basically everything as this is now round 3 i would try for a whole new comp your not likely to get it but it will let them see how unhappy you are
joeten is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7



Well when I had the same issue, the pixels and artifacts did show up on printscreens as well. The pictures at this link proved to Dell that I needed a replacement graphics card. Haven't had such symptoms since.
abw1987 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 263
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Ubuntu 9.10

My System


Huh, funny thing about that.
This computer IS a replacement PC to a defective compact i got in 06.
This would be my third replacement.
Thanks for the advice, I guess I'm not the first one with the issue after all.
MusicMan374 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts