Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Operating partition full without files

This is a discussion on Operating partition full without files within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, Hope that somebody has an answer for this one: couple of days ago noticed that my operating partition


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2015, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7


Pin

Hi there,

Hope that somebody has an answer for this one: couple of days ago noticed that my operating partition (C:) have filled up - runed disk cleanup, defrag, cccleaner, checked temp, disabled hibernation and all the normal procedures to free up some space. Next day noticed the same issue again; this time I have updated partition space from 40Gb to 50Gb - until next day was filled up until 48 Gb without installing enything else.

If I am selecting all files from C: (including hidden files) it shows me a 31 Gb of files which should be the correct size of files considering that the drive was defragmented. I've double checked with Windows Directory Statistics and shows allmost the same - the issue remains that windows is showing an extra 18Gb of used space which are not covered by any files.

I consider myself a "know how" to run basic debugs butt this is something I can't solve. Any help would be apriciated. If this topic was already solved, sorry for the spam.

And just another thing - in this case I just can't format partition and reinstall windows coz it's a remote PC at 150Km :D

thanks
DamageTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 12:56 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Download and install Tree Size Free. Run as Administrator and it should show you where the space is being used.
JAM Software - Windows Freeware
JMPC is offline  
Old 01-30-2015, 01:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Thanks !

The Jam Software have a more realistic view of the situation - it shows actually the size which is occupied on disk (visible from My Computer).
Seems that situation is:
Total Windows Size 49.1Gb (on Right Click/Proprieties is only 22)
System32 : 29.7 (on Right Click/Proprieties is only 2.95)
and WinSys 13.4(on Right Click/Proprieties is only 13.3)

Soo the route cause would be the System 32 folder.

Scrubbing down into folders I have a 26.5Gb into:
System32/Config/Systemprofile/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/Content.IE5 - which would be 26.5Gb devided into "random" name folders.

I am assuming that I can just delete these .?. What would be the reason behind this? It's just that 10 Gb of temporary internet files can not stack during one day considering that I was accesing the PC 1-2 hour as database.
DamageTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 01:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



And what I did not understood (sorry for beeing a noob) - why "those" files were not counted with Right Click/Proprieties.
DamageTech is offline  
Old 01-30-2015, 03:25 PM   #5
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Strange Windows 7 would have this path
System32/Config/Systemprofile/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/Content.IE5

Perhaps you restored old garbage after you installed Win7? Been awhile since IE5. Disk cleanup would not know about these files.

The difference between 29.5 and 29.7 and again with 13.4 vs 13.3 would be "slack"

Slack is the difference between actual file size and the space it occupies on disk.
Lets say you have a 9kb file. You have 4kb clusters. This means the file is only 9kb but it occupies three clusters for a total of 12kb. That 3kb of the 4kb cluster can't be written to for other files hence why its called slack.

Now multiple that with 1000s of files and you get the idea
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 01-31-2015, 07:51 PM   #6
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 Professional



Careful on the deletions. Generally speaking the larger the data, the safer it is to remove. Also note WHERE the data is. Bad idea to delete data from the \Windows directory without being absolutely certain you won't cause any problems.
Shelly_Johnson is offline  
Old 01-31-2015, 07:53 PM   #7
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7 Professional



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
Strange Windows 7 would have this path
System32/Config/Systemprofile/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/Content.IE5
I bet he manually copied an XP hard drive onto a new Win7 hard drive and (or something like that) and what he's looking at is the ancient WinXP data, thinking it might be current Win7 data.
Shelly_Johnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'File/ directory is corrupted and unreadable'
Good evening. When I start up I get a box that states 'the file or directory is corrupted and unreadable' of what looks like Windows Updater. So I followed the instructions and have posted two scripts to this message. However.. I was not successful in using DSS and GMER so I instead used RSIT...
whale_eyes Resolved HJT Threads 16 11-12-2014 05:01 AM
Advertising Virus?
Hi, I have some kind of virus that creates text links on all websites I visit. When I hover over the link it shows a pic, and when I click it it send me to some affiliate url. PIC: https://i50.tinypic.com/2r26s8k.jpg Before coming here I tried to removed it myself with: AVG virus scan,...
pietpatat Resolved HJT Threads 48 05-06-2013 04:52 PM
Selection Links
Hi, I've ended up with Selection Links attached to Google Chrome. I've tried to remove it in the usual, low-tech savvie ways and it's not worked. It is not listed in the Programs and Features/Uninstall a Program section of the Control Tab. Under Chrome Extensions, it is listed but...
mthwrd Resolved HJT Threads 42 04-05-2013 06:36 PM
Trojan horse hider.mpr
Hey, I am bit of a novice with computers and only have this one for home study so i'm kinda reliant on it so any help would be greatly appreciated. A while back i had some problems with Kaspersky and ended up replacing it with AVG and it gave me premium on a free trial, and it seems when the...
CaraMac Resolved HJT Threads 20 07-22-2012 03:57 PM
Problem with windows live movie maker -the system cannot find path specified
Typical, I updated my spybot, spyware blaster and ad-adware. I ran them and since i did i found a few problems. My keyboard switched to US style. I fixed that but when I tried to run windows movie maker i found the problem "the system cannot find the path specified". there may be more...
paul2louise Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 05-16-2012 06:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts