Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Only 64 bit Internet Explorer works, nothing else works

This is a discussion on Only 64 bit Internet Explorer works, nothing else works within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The internet doesn't work on anything except for Internet Explorer 64-bit. I tried AIM, Internet Explorer, Firefox but they still


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2008, 09:08 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



The internet doesn't work on anything except for Internet Explorer 64-bit. I tried AIM, Internet Explorer, Firefox but they still show the computer as disconnected from the internet. When I open firefox, nothing loads and the screen is just white. I close it and the "Firefox has stopped working, Windows can check online for a solution to the problem." box pops up.
Thanks in Advance
Rastabot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2008, 03:24 AM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastabot View Post
The internet doesn't work on anything except for Internet Explorer 64-bit. I tried AIM, Internet Explorer, Firefox but they still show the computer as disconnected from the internet. When I open firefox, nothing loads and the screen is just white. I close it and the "Firefox has stopped working, Windows can check online for a solution to the problem." box pops up.
Thanks in Advance


Hi and Welcome to TSF.

Please clarify a few things for me -

1. Do you have two computers - a 32-bit and a 64-bit?
2. Exactly what is it that "shows the computer as disconnected from the Internet"?
3. Have you checked the Control Panel ==> Connect To screen to see if in fact you have Internet connectivity?
4. How long ago was it that you last connected to the Internet successfully?
5. What anti-virus product do you use?
6. When was the last anti-virus scan performed?
7. Did you find anything in the anti-virus scan logs?
8. Do you use Windows Firewall?
9. Do you use a third party firewall?
10. If #9 YES - which one?

Please provide the manufacturer and model number of your computer.

Regards. . .

jcgiff2

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 09:54 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



Sorry I should of clarified a few things.

1. I have my main computer (the one with the problems) thats a custom built vista x64 home edition, it has a IE 32 bit and a IE 64 bit. After I downloaded sp1 yesterday (3-18) firefox and IE 32 stopped working. Firefox just brings up a blank white screen, while IE 32 brings up the cannot connect screen, however IE 64 works fine (alas no flash support)
2. Only IE 32 says I'm disconnected the Internet, Firefox is blank.
3. In the control panel it says that I am connect to the Internet.
4. the Internet worked fine yesterday morning before the sp1 install.
5. I have Mcafee anti-virus
6. When was the last anti-virus scan performed? Not sure maybe last week.
7. What should I be looking for the log?
8. I do not use windows firewall
9. I do use Mcafee firewall, but it is turned off.
Rastabot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2008, 10:28 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



I guess I'm going to bump this
BUMP
Rastabot is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 10:27 PM   #5
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)





Hi Rastabot,

Apologies for the delay.

Do you know if Vista SP1 installed successfully?

You may want to roll your system back to pre-SP1 using system restore or by uninstalling SP1. Then trying the various now-failing programs to assure they work. Then re-install SP1, closely monotoring it.

As an alternative, I can only suggest that you download and install the latest release of Firefox v2.0.0.12 - found HERE. If there are is no improvement after installation, try executing Firefox - safemode by clicking START; type firefox in the Start Search box; you should see a selection for "Firefox (safe mode)"; left-click on same.

Please let me know how you make out.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 08:35 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



Thanks for all your help and time.
I could never get flash to work in my firefox x64 (minefield) browser, so I just did a system restore to before I installed sp1 and that fixed the problem with my 32 bit browsers and AIM
Rastabot is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 02:42 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 38
OS: Win XP



Hi!

I've just recovered from a truma like this one that you described. Vista's Ultimate Firewall saved me: when it started setting the red alarm showing that the Anti-Virus (NOD32) was not updated - and it was - I decided to reinstall NOD32. And then everything went fine.

During the turmoil I couldn't even post a message here as you did: IExplorer showed a blank page; Windows Live Mail, Winamp and mIRC complained about the lack of a socket.

Make a try reinstalling the anti-virus... Who knows?

Regards,

Peter
Peter Kent is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:48 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
OS:



yep, I had exactly the same problem. I guess it is not vista sp1 related, but rather due to a NOD32 update. I could be wrong though.

Anyway, uninstalling NOD32 helped, thanks a lot guys!
nf.Entropy is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 06:10 AM   #9
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



For info, ESET NOD32 did update recently. I use it on x64 & x86 Vista SP1 systems - and have no problems at all. I did see the previous version pop up a few times in BSODs, but updating to the most recent version was the fix for most.

This 7-month old thread is now closed.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts