Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

"No Speakers or Headphones are plugged in" - Sony/ Realtek HD Audio

This is a discussion on "No Speakers or Headphones are plugged in" - Sony/ Realtek HD Audio within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Vaio F series Notebook (VPCF12AFM), Window 7 Problem : No sound, The audio thing in the bottom


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2011, 08:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



I have a Vaio F series Notebook (VPCF12AFM), Window 7

Problem : No sound, The audio thing in the bottom right has a red cross and says "No speakers or Headphones are plugged in." I believe it should be a problem with my "Realtek HD Audio(currently vers. 6.0.1.6045 <-- installed from Manufacturer web)" but i cannot confirm this.

~ Cannot Restore - there was no restore point made before the problem came
~ Reinstalled Driver - Manually downloaded driver from Vaio site. And also tried, uninstall then let windows automatically find and install driver.
~ Tried : Disable -> Enable Driver
~ Checked Driver Update
~ Checked Bios - no setting about Audio
~ Checked Windows update
~ Speaker has been enabled, but i cannot Configure, Test, or Disable speakers
~ Troubleshoot says "Audio Device has been disabled"
~ Tried Microsoft FixIt

Nothing is working!! Can someone please help me?? i've been stuck with no audio for several days now and still haven't gotten it fixed.... it's really stressful ;(

Thanks in advance.
rangi36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Try vR2.58 HD audio drivers directly from Realtek - 2 March 2011 - https://218.210.127.131/downloads/
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 10:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



I've just installed vR2.58, and the problem still exists

I've also Disable -> Enabled the driver, still not fixed
rangi36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2011, 09:47 AM   #4
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Go into Device Manager & uninstall ALL audio devices the reboot -
START | type devmgmt.msc

Have you disable any system services whether they appear audio related or not?
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 12:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



I've just uninstalled all audio device and rebooted like u said....
and windows automatically searched and installed the drivers again....
Nothing seems to have changed.

I'm pretty sure i haven't disabled any system services.
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 01:44 AM   #6
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



What does Device Manager say -- any red/ yellow flags?

Click on "view" tab; enable hidden devices
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 02:05 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



Everything in the Device manager is fine, no red/yellow flags even after i "enable hidden device".
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 02:23 AM   #8
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



So, Device Manager is showing audio devices (under sound...)?

Check Windows Audio in Control Panel - make sure default = internal audio
START | type audio

Check Realtek Audio Control Panel as well.

Have you tried external speakers or headphones?
Or are you just using internal laptop speakers?
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 02:45 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



There's nothing under audio, but i'm guessing u meant the same thing as Sound - Playback Devices. My default is Speaker/HP is most likely my internal Audio. and like i said in the beginning, i am unable to Configure, test, or disable the devices.

I don't have Realtek Audio Control Panel. I've never had it before.

I've tried it with headphones and HDMI cabel. None works.
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 04:43 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



oh... and..
yea, audio devices are shown under Sound, video and game controllers
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 05:43 PM   #11
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Hardware failure may be the problem.

I'm moving this thread to Hardware Support.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-21-2011, 02:39 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



kk
thanks for your help
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 06:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



Hello?
"Bump Please" (or does that only apply for Virus and Malware section ._.?)
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:12 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



Can someone please reply??
it's really tough without sound, i hold back from watching videos and playing games whilst I'm eagerly waiting for my sound to return ;(
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 11:45 PM   #15
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



You should have Windows Audio (top pics) + Realtek CP -



Windows audio -
START | type audio | select audio

Realtek CP should be in the Windows CP - make sure you select "small icons" - top-right Windows CP = "View by"
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 12:31 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



My Windows Audio is messed up, so i'm guessing it's the driver problem?
and Realtek isn't there...

rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 12:47 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



Below is a screenshot of my Device Manager
https://i1192.photobucket.com/albums/...iceManager.png

My Realtek HD Audio is
Vers. 6.0.1.6045
and windows say it's "up to date"
rangi36 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:23 AM   #18
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



What is the actual Realtek driver name ?

What is the date on it?

Check via Device Manager.

If Windows 7 x64, it should be - http://sysnative.com/0x1/DriverReference.html#RTKVHD64.sys

Realtek HD Audio driver downloads
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:30 AM   #19
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by rangi36 View Post
I have a Vaio F series Notebook (VPCF12AFM), Window 7

...a problem with my "Realtek HD Audio(currently vers. 6.0.1.6045 <-- installed from Manufacturer web)" ....
Sony system specs show audio -
Code:
 
Audio
Sound System: Intel® High Definition Audio w/ Dolby®
Home Theather® v3
I don't see Realtek mentioned in specs - https://www.docs.sony.com/release/spe...2AFMH_mksp.pdf

Was Realtek an upgrade/ option?

Do I have the correct system? - https://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...?mdl=VPCF12AFM

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`

EDIT: - Apologies. . .Realtek is in fact listed under audio - https://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...?mdl=VPCF12AFM

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 03:24 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
OS: Window 7 SP1



I'm unsure on exact location in the Device Manager to find the "actual realtek driver name"

Driver Date : 2/9/2010

Yes, that is the correct system.
rangi36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[System] Slows down to 13%-20% semi randomly.
Hello this is my first time posting on this forum. Problem: I'll run a program such as Stress Tests or CS:S and roughly within 15 minutes (give or take) I start to stutter and soon as I close the program CS:S I'll look at my processes and notice that system nt kernel is saying anywhere from...
X Myth BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 40 03-28-2011 01:53 AM
Missing video drivers
Right my friend was playing Sims 3 this morning and it said there was an update, so he updated and then everything just went weird, seems like the graphics card driver was uninstalled and he could play sims 3 before but after the update it said he couldn't. I tried to find the graphics card name...
Nekoh Driver Support 10 03-26-2011 04:44 PM
Slow/Not responsive
My pc has lately as expected gone very slow and not as responsive. At the start-up especially. I have to wait a good 2mins before touching anything or things start to 'Not respond' and such. I was wondering if you guys could recommend me ANYTHING that I could do to speed up my pc significantly....
bhstr99 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 18 03-26-2011 03:38 PM
SVCHOST
Since I got this computer on Christmas I have been experiencing lag spike while using anything that uses internet. Skype, video games, servers, web browsers. I play games on a more competative level and its becoming more and more annoying. The issue is that I would lag for about 1-3 seconds...
damndionic360 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 03-23-2011 06:09 AM
CoD Black Ops problem
Hi guys, i am new to this forum. 2 days ago i installed CoD Black Ops. Installation went correctly, and as i run game and start new game it shows intro and as soon as intro has to end it shows following error : https://img432.imageshack.us/img432/923/errore0hc.png I was trying to fix this...
gonz0. PC Gaming Support 3 01-25-2011 10:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts