Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

No "clean install" in "Upgrade" version of Vista

This is a discussion on No "clean install" in "Upgrade" version of Vista within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Can you clean install to a different partition (I got XP on C and planing putting Vista on D) with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2007, 02:55 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 96
OS:



Can you clean install to a different partition (I got XP on C and planing putting Vista on D) with the "Upgrade" version of vista or no you cant.

Based on this:
https://support.microsoft.com/default...b/930985/en-us
Its not.
:(
akskiller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2007, 04:49 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Ether you have to format your hd or put it over xp
P.S you need xp product coad if you clean install the hd
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 183
OS: Windows XP Home Edition SP3, Windows Vista Ultimate, Windows 7 Build 6956


Method 1
Start the installation from a compliant version of Windows, such as Windows Vista, Microsoft Windows XP, or Microsoft Windows 2000. After you have started the installation, you can select Custom at the installation choice screen to perform a clean installation.

I think they are just saying that you must start the installation of vista in XP or 2000 and click custom to perform a clean install.
WDSnav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2007, 04:52 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

Grin

i just bought without anything on my hd (none upgrade version)
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:54 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
OS:



I dont know if this helps but I ran into a similar problem. I didnt look into vista carefully enough and just bought the upgrade because someone just said select clean install and everything will be ok. Well, it wasn't, after i performed the clean install, by bypassing entering the activation key even though it says you may ruin the key and have to purchase another one, i tried to activate and i got an error message saying this key cannot be used for a clean install and only for an upgrade. Solution: loaded up the vista dvd and performed an upgrade over the original vista install and it let me activate it. I'm more of a novice at this so I am not too positive of any negative consequences, such as ruining the product key for future installs, but as of right now everything seems to be working fine. I'd appreciate some feedback on this matter for future reference. Also if I'm way off base with consideration to your immediate problem..my apologies.
akalateralus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts