User Tag List

Login Problem

This is a discussion on Login Problem within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just purchased an HP desktop. After setup, I kept getting dropped out to the login as soon as the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2012, 09:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



I just purchased an HP desktop. After setup, I kept getting dropped out to the login as soon as the computer was idle. I was told this was a registry problem and to go to safe mode and run SFC. That did not resolve the problem. Then I was advised to simply disable the login by going to RUN, keying in control userpasswords2 and unchecking the password requirement. I did that. It continues to drop back to the login screen as soon as its idle. (Btw, I tried this on my Sony laptop and it worked fine). Now the login gives an icon with my name and Underneath it says locked> switch user. I hit this and I get my name and the msg I'm already logged in. When I hit this, the desktop finally displays.I tired going back and checking and unchecking the password requirement and either way I get the same login notice. I tried running an MS registry fix as well as putting the computer into safe mode and choosing a repair. I also went to user accounts in the control panel and took my password out there. It seems to be recognizing two users from the login but there is only one established account. I tried going back to a password for administrator just to test it but I cannot. I don't have that option. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I can use it but its frustrating. Thx in advance.
Rainbowdayz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-22-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Go to Control Panel>Power Options on the left select "Require a password on wakeup"

toward the bottom select "Don't require a password"

How long does it take to ask for your password when not using your pc?

Also since you have a desktop in the Power Options change your power plan to something else like high performance.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBauer_24 View Post
Go to Control Panel>Power Options on the left select "Require a password on wakeup"

toward the bottom select "Don't require a password"

How long does it take to ask for your password when not using your pc?

Also since you have a desktop in the Power Options change your power plan to something else like high performance.
Thx! I'll try that when I get home and see if makes a difference. To answer your question, it only takes a minute for the display to disappear. It no longer asks for a password. Instead I get the msg that its locked / switch users. I hit enter and it says I'm logged in and when I hit that the display screen appears. I don't have to enter a password now but I have to tap the login twice to get by the msgs. Also, I've tried numerous power plans. I did that when it was asking for a password each time it was idle. Very frustrating. It usually takes windows a few days to screw up. This is a record for me! Someone told me it was really a registry problem.
Rainbowdayz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


It has to be the screensaver. Right click on your desktop select "Personalize" Then select screensaver. Uncheck "On Resume Display long on screen" then click on "Apply". Also adjust the time interval for your screensaver or select blank in the drop down menu, then click on "OK"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	117753  
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-23-2012, 03:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBauer_24 View Post
It has to be the screensaver. Right click on your desktop select "Personalize" Then select screensaver. Uncheck "On Resume Display long on screen" then click on "Apply". Also adjust the time interval for your screensaver or select blank in the drop down menu, then click on "OK"
OMG! It worked, Jack Bauer!! Ur my hero. Thx SO much!
Rainbowdayz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Successful login redirects back to login page after satellite upgrade
I sure hope someone here can help me. I'm getting desperate! I have a website account with fatcow. I created the website with Dreamweaver software and uploaded it to fatcow via port 21. My internet connection was via xplornet and I had no access problems. I upgraded to xplornet's new g4...
myras Protocols and Routing 25 05-03-2012 11:25 AM
[SOLVED] Facebook login problem
Hi All, am facin problem if I try to login in my facebook account asking for username and password then it redirect me again to the login screen again and again. if anyone have the solution please help me am able to login from other desktop , just the problem exist on my laptop few days...
rawahi793 Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 5 10-02-2011 06:47 AM
BSOD Help
I'm a bit of a noob, so I hope I did the correctly. I'm running windows 7. 64 bit. This computer has always had Windows7 on it, and it came with the computer. The computer is 1.5 years old and has always done this. Intel(r) Core(tm)2 Quad CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz 2.67GHz Video Card: Nvidia...
sasarai1987 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 06-15-2011 11:46 PM
Network connection problem when login is required
Hi, when I try to connect to a network where is required a login in the first webpage I cannot have internet access, but only local access. I mean: even for free internet connection, sometimes they require you to connect to their network, then open the browser that is automatically direct to...
einger Networking Support 1 06-15-2011 03:47 PM
Halo 2 Won't install i hate it...
Hey, I just bought halo 2 at the store and i tought hmm fun game but then when i wanted to install the game it says Microsoft directx has stopped working and then i can't install the game... because i need to close the installation. I already have DX. 11 And got HD Readen 4770, AMD...
Takehofstra Game Installation Support 1 02-26-2011 07:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts