Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Internet doesn't work on laptop! but works on desktop computer. Need Help!

This is a discussion on Internet doesn't work on laptop! but works on desktop computer. Need Help! within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a problem because all of a sudden my internet on my laptop doesn't work..it's very complicated, like it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



I have a problem because all of a sudden my internet on my laptop doesn't work..it's very complicated, like it works, it's on, the icon is on and normal, my msn works, but not when I go on the internet.. :/

But my desktop computer, everything works there..which is where I'm at right now.

I have no idea what's up..
can someone pls. help me out! How can I fix this.?
The internet box is working normal too and my wireless router as well.

-Thanks! :-)
Pink21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2010, 12:28 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Hi try cleaning out the history etc from tools in internet explorer,thats tools internet options and on the general page delete
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



Nope, doesn't work.
Pink21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2010, 12:40 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Ok in order that I don't have you trying anything you may have tried can you let me know what steps you have taken so far,ie have you scanned for viruses and malware,have you tried system restore to a point when it did work
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



I scanned for viruses and malware yesterday and the day before. Everything good and clean.
I did not do a system restore.
Also, my internet(Google Chrome) crashed..I don't know if that has anything to do with it..I also tried internet explorer which usually works fine and that didn't work either, no page would load. :/
I'm all up to date and everything as well.
Also, when I go to repair my internet connection it seems fine/there's no problems with it..so I have no idea why nothing will load when I go on my internet.

I'll try restarting. Maybe that will do something..
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:59 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



Oh it works now.. I restarted my laptop and it works, my internet is good now. So weird..but I'm def. uninstalling Google Chrome, because it keeps crashing and causing these problems.
Thanks!
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 01:01 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



wow..I just got this weird blue screen... it said something like beginning crash dump and then after a second it went away and my laptop restarted again..

I just hope it works good now.
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 01:47 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Hi well I'am glad the internet is back however the bsod is not so good please follow he instructions here https://www.techsupportforum.com/f217...ns-452654.html and we will try to see what caused it and how we can remedy it
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 06:53 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista




Everytime I try to fix my connection it keeps saying:
cannot connect with primary DNS server.

Does anyone know how I can fix this..
I already unplug all my cables and then plug them back in to my internet box..and that seems to work sometimes!
but then only for a little while until it goes off again.
Can somone pls. help me out!

How can I fix this.?

-Thanks a lot! :-)
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 10:47 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



So what happened was, I was running Google Chrome, and then it crashed on me, I was also getting some internet connection problems, whenever I would go on the internet none of the pages would load. But my msn would work, and my connection icon was good, did not show that I was disconnected or anything.
So then, I decided to restart my laptop and everything was good after, my internet connection was working again, but then I got this blue screen and it was only on for a couple seconds, all I remember seeing was it said something like"beginning crash dump.." and then after a second it went away and my laptop restarted again..by itself.

***

OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? = Windows Vista Home Edition.
x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? = 32-bit Operating System.
What was original installed OS on system? = I'm not sure..
Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? = Yes, it came pre-installed when I purchased my laptop.
Age of system (hardware) = I'm not sure..
Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? = No, I have not re-installed the OS.
CPU = I'm not sure..
Video Card = I'm not sure..
MotherBoard = I'm not sure..
Power Supply - brand & wattage = I'm not sure..
=Some stuff I'm not sure about, or where to find.. sorry! :/

BSOD_Windows7_Vista_v2.57_jcgriff2_.exe.zip

perfmon.zip


-Thanks! :-)
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 10:48 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



Ok, done! :) I hope I did it right..
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 12:25 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Hi I'am afraid there is no attachment with the info,when you want to attach to your post use the go advanced button, then use the paper clip icon to attach the folder,please keep in mind there is a 1.96mb size limit on a folder, and a two folder limit per post
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 12:47 PM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Hi Pink21 you have attached the wrong thing please go to C:\windows\minidump and copy it to a folder,name the folder then right click on it and choose send to zip option then use the go advanced button then the paperclip icon and use the browse button to locate where you saved the folder select it and upload to attach to your next post
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 01:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



Also, when I go on my computer I get this pop up:
Click image for larger version

Name:	windows conflict.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	70955
Pink21 is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 02:58 PM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,825
OS: win 10 Home



Pink21 please stop making new threads on the same issue it only leads to confusion please stick with your original thread
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 04:55 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 289
OS: Windows Vista



Minidump.zip
Pink21 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts