Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Install Window XP with Vista

This is a discussion on Install Window XP with Vista within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys! I have purchased a new PC with Vista installed. I find it is not as fast as the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2008, 08:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Window Vista



Hi guys!

I have purchased a new PC with Vista installed.

I find it is not as fast as the XP. And I am running a Google Adwords Editor which is no vista version is available yet.

Therefore I would like to install XP into my PC and keep the Vista there.

How can I do that? Will the PC be stable if I partition the hard disk and install XP?

Do you have any experience and tips to share?

Cheers
Frank Lee
giantimpact is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2008, 09:30 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
MhzManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 86
OS: Win 7 32 Home Premium



No problems if you get a Vista compatable partition software and split the drive.
You could add a 2nd HD too and setup for dual boot.
MhzManiac is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 04:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 223
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by giantimpact View Post
Hi guys!

I have purchased a new PC with Vista installed.

I find it is not as fast as the XP. And I am running a Google Adwords Editor which is no vista version is available yet.

Therefore I would like to install XP into my PC and keep the Vista there.

How can I do that? Will the PC be stable if I partition the hard disk and install XP?

Do you have any experience and tips to share?

Cheers
Frank Lee
Lol, i dono what your talking about, because i pretty much run a Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit edition, and it works way faster then the vista, my computer can load more stuff, can handdle more pressure, and runs, boots any program way faster, and without any problems, and trust me, im a gamer, and it really is, and the diffrence can be seen.
Serenatous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2008, 07:17 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



Quote:
Originally Posted by giantimpact View Post
Hi guys!

I have purchased a new PC with Vista installed.

I find it is not as fast as the XP. And I am running a Google Adwords Editor which is no vista version is available yet.

Therefore I would like to install XP into my PC and keep the Vista there.

How can I do that? Will the PC be stable if I partition the hard disk and install XP?

Do you have any experience and tips to share?

Cheers
Frank Lee
You should have no problems dual booting. The problem will be finding the proper xp drivers for your system.

In addition you will have to purchase the full retail version of xp. You cannot use upgrade, oem, or xp that came with another computer.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 06:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
MhzManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 86
OS: Win 7 32 Home Premium



Well you should be able to use the upgrade disk if you have a qualifing full version of an earlier like 95, 98 or 2000. You only need the disk to verify and you can do a clean full install.
MhzManiac is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 05:30 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
OS:



I'd really like to lose Vista altogether and just have XP installed. Do I need to start from scratch? Will I lose all of my current data?
ELAINE_MILLER is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 06:00 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by ELAINE_MILLER View Post
I'd really like to lose Vista altogether and just have XP installed. Do I need to start from scratch? Will I lose all of my current data?
You will loose any data you do not back up.

Before you do anything else, check to be double dog sure you can find XP drivers for everything on the pc . . if you wait until after you install XP, you may be SOL.

The manufacturers support site will have the drivers
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 09:56 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Window Vista



Hi Guys!

Thanks for your advise!

Cheers
Frank Lee
giantimpact is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts