Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

how do i switch to dhcp

This is a discussion on how do i switch to dhcp within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. im on pppoe and my local network is fine but it wont let me access the internet. i called my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2008, 09:45 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



im on pppoe and my local network is fine but it wont let me access the internet. i called my internet provider and they said i needed to switch to dhcp. i asked him how but he didnt know. help plz?
raidensnake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2008, 09:58 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 115
OS: Win Vista x64 Ultimate; Mac OSX 10.6; Win7 x86



What is your ISP, and router/modem model, and brand?
Linkfan551 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:23 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



isp: shaw cable
modem:motorolla sb5101surfboard
router:belkin 2.4ghrtz 802.11g wireless with high speed mode 125 hsm
raidensnake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2008, 10:27 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 115
OS: Win Vista x64 Ultimate; Mac OSX 10.6; Win7 x86



So are the modem and router seperate (the router is getting internet from the modem) or is it a AIO (allinone) thing? I am not completely sure on what you are connected to.
Linkfan551 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:38 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



seperate. its a motorolla modem and a belkin router
raidensnake is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 115
OS: Win Vista x64 Ultimate; Mac OSX 10.6; Win7 x86



Okay. Most times (if the router or ISP allows it) you type in your IP address of the router in the website bar (most likely something like 192.168.0.1). It may prompt you for a username and password. If not changed by the ISP or you, then it may be blank OR username: admin
PW: password
Switching to DHCP should be like in advanced internet options or something of the sort. (DHCP settings or DHCP/PPPoE) Sorry I cannot be of more help, I have not had experience with that router.
Linkfan551 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:57 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



all in all its still up for debate if thats even the problem. i couldent switch it but if anyone else knows how i connect to the internet plz post. dont tell me to reset the modem and router though. like i said i have local network connection and no internet. ive tried to diagnose and it told me to get an ip. i clicked on the auto get ip solution and after it takes a minute to load it says the same thing again. ive tried to create a conection but it says failed to connect to broadband connection. halp plz
raidensnake is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:06 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,694
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, you can assist us by going to a command prompt right clicking and select "run as administrator" at the prompt type ipconfig /all press enter post the results here.
jenae is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:16 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\jorey>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jorey-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-45-AE-D3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::54e:49ee:8919:62ec%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::54e:49ee:8919:62ec%8
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.1%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::54e:49ee:8919:62ec%8
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
raidensnake is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:16 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,694
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, have you disabled windows firewall and do you have a third party firewall?
jenae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts