Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Help with Vista recovery console cmd

This is a discussion on Help with Vista recovery console cmd within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. After fuddling with my computer's system files, I discovered that I was unable to start Explorer.exe in Windows because shell32.dll


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2008, 12:07 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



After fuddling with my computer's system files, I discovered that I was unable to start Explorer.exe in Windows because shell32.dll was accidentally renamed shell32.old. With not a single system restore point, I attempted to use the cmd recovery console on the Vista install DVD to fix it. Being not a very experienced user, I thought I'd change the directory to the system32 folder first, since it is originally at "X:\Sources". However, whenever I typed in "cd c:\windows\system32" and pressed Enter, nothing would happen and the next line would still start with "X:\Sources".

So my question is, how can I get into system32 so I can name the file back to its original name using "ren"? I can't do anything while being stuck at "X:\Sources" or whatever... Any help would be greatly appreciated!
shimo1989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2008, 12:54 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



open cmd box from
programs/accessories
by right clicking on it and selecting to run as admin
then run
sfc /scannow



dai is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 05:32 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,688
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, probably won't have any luck with sfc here, won't hurt to give it a try . Why "x sources" ask MS, for you, simply type C: press enter... brings you to the C prompt, from here it's plain sailing.
jenae is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2008, 07:23 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Thanks for the responses, but explorer.exe can't start because of the missing shell32.exe. Everything I do has to be from the Vista install DVD.
shimo1989 is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 08:42 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,688
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi , you may have misread my post to get out of "x sources" This is copied from another post:-
Hi, if you have your vista dvd then boot from it (may have to set first boot device cdrom in bios) Let it run and agree to the language you use then select the repair option. From here select "command prompt" at the "X sources" prompt type c: press enter
C:>
C:> cd windows press enter
C: windows>
C: windows>cd system32 press enter
C: windows\system32
jenae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts