User Tag List

HELP!

This is a discussion on HELP! within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My external backup hard drive died! Purchased new, larger, seagate hd. 1- Would not function until I re formatted it.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2013, 05:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



My external backup hard drive died! Purchased new, larger, seagate hd.
1- Would not function until I re formatted it. Then it loaded.
2- Have auto backup set weekly.
3- main Problem! Auto and/or manual backup fails with the 0x80070005 access denied message. Have been all over the internet looking for help.
All I find are license purchases for repair programs.
Sure hoping to solve this without deleting any more of my retirement income.
Thankx to anyone who can & will help.
G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2013, 06:28 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,072
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Does your new HD show up in "Computer". What software are you using for backup or are you using Microsoft built in backup?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 06:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



Yes, Backup drive "F" shows on My computor. Used windows backup/ format programs. P.S. I'm a computor User, not an expert. But I normally, with the help of younger grandsons, get resolutions. Not this time.
Thankx for responding
gmpagj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2013, 09:27 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


Can you do something simple, like manually copy a couple of files?
do you get the same type of message, Access Denied?
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 09:28 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,072
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Did you reformat as NTFS?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 05:50 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,558
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Try the Hotfix from Microsoft: You may receive an
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:43 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



I can copy & move files. Have not found which file is deneying access. Thank you for responding. G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 03:54 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



Spunk,
Ordered "hotfix" by e-mail. Will try this. Thankx for responding. G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:00 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



Corday; Don't know, Gave windows command to re format when it would not backup my files. Then it copyed the hard drive "C" contents. The (now) problem is the "auto" backup fails with the 0x80070005 message. Going to try "hotfix" next. G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:23 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



SPUNK;
Received Hotfix E-Mail With a warning and an http address that addresses windows xp. not vista hp. The warning stated "Hotfix" testing not completed yet. (Scared me off) Did save the Address though. May have to turn this over to Grandson, when he goes on spring break. Thankx again. G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:25 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Try the Hotfix from Microsoft: You may receive an
gmpagj is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:28 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,558
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


try this: back up failed: access denied 0x80070005 - Microsoft Community
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 04:36 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 8
OS: vista home premium serv.pack 1



Spunk;
Gonna take break! Goin Brain dead. G.J.
gmpagj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts