Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Have Vista OEM Disc. Use ACER Vista Product Key?

This is a discussion on Have Vista OEM Disc. Use ACER Vista Product Key? within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a purchased Vista Ultimate OEM x64 disc. I also have an Acer PC with Vista Home product key


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2009, 10:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


I have a purchased Vista Ultimate OEM x64 disc.

I also have an Acer PC with Vista Home product key that needs a reinstall. The recovery image is no longer available on the Acer.

Should I be able to use my Vista Ultimate OEM x64 disc to reinstall on the Acer and use the Acer Vista Home product key?

If not, can someone point me toward the steps to created a Vista disc that will work for this purpose.

TIA.
airtight_python is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



you cannot use the same keys, legally you cannot install the ultimate oem on your computer because it is OEM and it can only be legally installed on a newly built computer. You can never install OEM on a computer that already had another os installed on it.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


I CAN and HAVE installed the Vista Ultimate OEM x64 on my PC because it was a newly built PC and the only OS to over go on the PC. No legal problems there.

One way or another, I need to get Vista Home back on an Acer with it's provided product key. No recovery disc is provided by Acer and the image partition is gone.
airtight_python is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2009, 10:53 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



I did answer your question ...

you cannot use the Ultimate 64 disc on the acer computer, it is not even the same os since the acer came with home. You cannot even modify it. You will have to contact acer for a legal copy of your os to put on your acer.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 02:33 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 8,701
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


Sorry but we can't help with Illegal installations.
This thread is closed
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts