Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Get computer is updating everytime I shut down computer

This is a discussion on Get computer is updating everytime I shut down computer within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I don't know if this is malware or so something gone wrong but everytime I shut down the computer I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



I don't know if this is malware or so something gone wrong but everytime I shut down the computer I get a message that my computer is installing an update. Often it is installing two updates and it takes at a while to shut down; which is a problem late at night when I am waiting to go to bed.
Even when I have not been connected to this internet while using the computer I get the same message with some hard drive activity.
I have tried to turn off the auto update option but I still get this message.

Anyhelp in stopping this would be very welcome thanks.
Briannz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2012, 07:10 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Hello,

Open Windows Update and select View update history

Maybe we can find what update is trying to install or failing.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Hi Maninu1der2

I took a look at the update history as you suggested.
There were 4 failured but three of them are dated 29th July and the other one was 27th nov.
I did notice that it has been repeating installing two file updates with a status of Success but these filess keep being installed so somehow it is not updating itself as to what files it has successfully installed.
The two files are KB2656351 and KB2600217
Both these files are security updates for the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 on XP, server 2003, Vista, Windows 7, server 2008, Server 2008 R2 for x64.
Briannz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2012, 05:27 AM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Try removing .NET and reinstalling.

Take a look at the below thread and this should assist you with doing so.

Forever Stuck at These Two Updates, KB265651 & KB2600217 - Microsoft Community
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for your help.

I took a look at the link you included in your last message but it seems to be an ocn going forum where the person with the problem is not completely happy.

Do you know of any success with this procedure for other people who have tried it.
Are there any ricks such as having o reinstall my operating system again?

One thing that might cause problems is that I have several operating systems on my computer but I mainly boot into the Windows 7 64 bit operating system.
The other operating systems are older such as Vista and Window XP.
Briannz is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 02:40 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 67,844
OS: win 10 Home



Try downloading the updates to your desktop then install do not use windows update go instead to the kb in your update history and google it you should get the MS update to download
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 08:18 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, Ms were aware of some problems with updates so they included the Dism util in seven (sp1) it is supposed to revert pending actions:-

go to start search and type:- cmd, right click on the returned cmd.exe and select "run as administrator" at the prompt (copy paste)

Code:
dism.exe /image:C:\ /cleanup-image /revertpendingactions
press enter

Restart and try windows updates.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 11:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Thanks Jean.

I tried what you suggested but I get the message "Error 87 the DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\logs\dism\dism.log

When I go to this directory and try again I get the same error message.
Briannz is offline  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:54 AM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, open a cmd prompt as admin (as shown) and type:-(copy paste)

fsutil resource setautoreset true %systemdrive%\ (press enter)
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 03:41 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Thanks Jenae.

That is different from what you first told me to type in.
Can you please give me information.
What happens when I type in your latest suggestion.
Briannz is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 04:42 AM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
jenae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,675
OS: XP, Vista, Seven, & a whole host you would never have heard of.Windows Ten 64 bit Pro



Hi, both Dism and Fsutil are Ms utils. Dism is new to Seven and appears not to work that well, the Fsutil cmd is from earlier OS and still works on seven, neither will do any harm.
__________________
jenae is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 08:34 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 14
OS: windows 7



If its doing updates persistently every time you shutdown , its maybe because the update has failed first time a round or has been cancelled either way it has not been installed, therefore it will continue to do update each time until it has installed them successfully.. :)
chris283 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:36 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by chris283 View Post
If its doing updates persistently every time you shutdown , its maybe because the update has failed first time a round or has been cancelled either way it has not been installed, therefore it will continue to do update each time until it has installed them successfully.. :)
In the log file it is saying successful on the updates that it keeps repeatly installing.
Briannz is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:48 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Have you tried uninstalling them via Installed updates and then run Windows Updates again after the reboot to see how that pans out ?
Tomken15 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 08:09 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 163
OS: Windows 7



Not yet.
I'll get that in mind thanks.
Briannz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer shut down/ now vista won't start
I am operating an Acer vista laptop. I normally use firefox but on occasion use IE when certain sites aren't compatible with firefox. Several months ago my computer started to turn off for no reason. Then it stopped and I didn't worry about it anymore. Well it dstarte doing it again. I would...
dnvllamas08 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 10-21-2012 01:51 PM
BSOD after computer shut down?
This is starting to happen more frequently now! It first happened when I put the computer on stand-by. Then when I turned it on, the monitor didn't turn on, the mouse, keyboard etc didn't work, but the computer seemed to be on. So I turned it off (by holding the power button). When I turned it...
Apex_crisis_ BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 03-11-2011 01:08 PM
Brother's computer had a rootkit, was reformatted, and now it isn't working properly
I did not know whether to post this Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help or in Windows XP Support. I apologize if this is in the wrong place. This is not a problem with my own computer, but with my brother's. He and his family are staying with us for a while and I guess their computer got a rootkit. They...
Piper Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-31-2011 03:09 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts