Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support

User Tag List

Fourth core unlocking

This is a discussion on Fourth core unlocking within the Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a question.I have an AMD Athlon II X3 440, and I know, that there is a chance to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2011, 02:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
OS: W7n



I have a question.I have an AMD Athlon II X3 440, and I know, that there is a chance to have a Phenom II X4 ( or something like that) after unlocking the 4th core.But mine BIOS hasn't got a function called ACC ( Automatic Clock Calibration) , motherboard is ASRock N68-GS ( not N68-GS UCC, which can unlock the fourth core) and I'm not able to write another ( different) BIOS, because as we all know, every BIOS is specially made for specific motherboard( not by hand I mean xD ).So, is it possible to install different BIOS, somehow to bypass this identification of the motherboard problem?
P.S. When I try to install different BIOS, appears an error "Error : ROM ID incorrect"
P.S.S. Sorry for my bad English
Djfragas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2011, 02:58 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


You can not install different bios.Bios is a chip on your motherboard. The only thing you can do is update bios which will not give you additional cores if your cpu does not have any.(like firmware). Your CPU is only triple core there is no hidden 4th.

Changing the CPU's features can be dangerous it can void the warranty also render the cpu useless (Break the cpu)

Learn more about Athlon II X3 440

ModelBrandAMDSeriesAthlon II X3ModelADX440WFGIBOXCPU Socket TypeCPU Socket TypeSocket AM3Tech SpecCoreRanaMulti-CoreTriple-CoreNameAthlon II X3 440Operating Frequency3.0GHzHyper Transports4000MHzL2 Cache3 x 512KBManufacturing Tech45 nm64 bit SupportYesHyper-Transport SupportYesVirtualization Technology SupportYesMultimedia InstructionMMX, 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4a, Advanced Bit Manipulation, AMD64 technology, AMD-V (virtualization) technology, Enhanced Virus ProtectionVoltage0.85V - 1.425VThermal Design Power95W
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:14 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,011
OS: Win7



Nvidia chiped board require a special feature to unlock the AMD cores, AMD/ATI board above the 710 chip can do so natively. Your board does not have the feature circuitry so no bios update will allow you to do so.

Athlon II x3's are usually an X4 with an actual defective core very rarely can you successfully unlock one.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2011, 03:42 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


I stand corrected lol.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:46 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,011
OS: Win7



AMD's way of selling what otherwise would be in the waste bin:)
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:49 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Liek Intel's Celeron's I have a POS Celeron D 3.2Ghz 775. 512 L2 Cache. 533 Bus lol. I hate it.
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:57 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,011
OS: Win7



In a way, the Celeron started as a way to sell chips with defective cache, then turned into being able to sell chips that won't perform correctly at the rated speed/FSB rating, so if dropping the FSB and speed makes them stable they're a Celeron:)
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Core Unlocking
I bought new Motherboard, RAM, and CPU that just arrived today and I was wondering if I can unlock my Phenom II x4 970 Black Edition on Asus M4N68T-M V2 mother board, I looked around in BIOS and it shows up to 6 cores. I did research about unlocking it, it seems that not all of these can be...
smiti363 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 09-18-2011 04:26 AM
Core Unlocking
Hi, I have Asus M4n68t-m-le-v2 MB with PHENOM x2 BE 555 CPU when I try to unlock the CPU, it is shutting down immediately after pressing the power button and after trying to switch the power button several times it is showing a message to restore the BIOS. If I not restored the BIOS it is...
prasad_asr1978 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 0 04-19-2011 04:24 PM
disconnecting websites/malware
help please browser disconnects from certain websites and gives warning message. site work fine as i checked it from different computer, ran malware antibytes, superanitspyware, avast anti virus, all clean now, but site still disconnects. ran rootkit unhooker and here is the report RkU Version:...
concreeter Inactive Malware Help Topics 6 03-23-2011 04:37 AM
CPU Fan Loud
I'm sorry if this is not the right place, but I have no idea where to put this. So, I've had this computer for about 2 years now, and recently the computer has been making some loud noises. Starting yesterday, the computer's been making very worrying buzzing noises. Through a variety of...
orionstar Overclocking 13 03-15-2011 05:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts